We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel Stay”
Review of Hotel Germania

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Germania
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel Stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stopped here after a weekend camping and partying at Nature One.
Good bar downstairs where you could just relax with a beer and watch football that was show on the TV's. We stopped on a sunday which was a quiet night, had it been over the weekend im sure this place is the liveliest place in the town.
Honesty bar and free coffee & tea facilities upstairs which is a nice touch.
Good breakfast, continental style serving cold meats and cheese........ And a random single boiled egg!
Highly recommend the hotel to stay, mainly for younger people or for people like me who carnt stand boring and plain hotels!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Hotel has large, very comfortable family rooms with lounge area and writing table. Bathroom had a large bath & seperate shower; perfect for reading or defrosting after a cold day. Breakfast selection was extensive, incl many fresh options, local produce. Teenagers loved the bar / sports area with fussball, games, etc. No noise from bar in room! Free Internet is offered on a pc for visitors! Coffee and tea-making facilities incl variety of teas, coffee and hot chocolate, free of charge.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We stayed only one night here, but liked it very much. The family room we got for 5 people was huge and beautifully refinished -- it felt more like a loft apartment and had an enormous bathroom with a double sink and separate bath and shower. Lots of nice extras like complimentary bottles of spring water, tea, and coffee; an honor bar with beer and soft drinks in the hall; even room service from the bar on offer. Breakfast was very nice and we even got a bottle of sparkling wine as a parting gift. Reception was very friendly and helpful. We had no trouble with noise (it was midweek). I think they must have renovated because I didn't find it at all shabby as the previous reviewer said, and our room was first-rate. Rudesheim is touristy but a convenient place to stop along the Rhine. All in all, a very pleasant experience and a good value for a great room.

  • Liked — The huge, clean, comfortable and well-stocked family room!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael0569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerbusch, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We found this hotel through the local tourist office, who said that it was the only place they could find with two rooms available. The hotel is shabby and has seen much better days - there are two spindles missing on the stairwell banister leading to the first floor, creating a whole easily large enough for either my toddler or preschooler to fall through! The carpeting looks terrible, and the rooms seem battered. In the "sports" room with a foosball table, a destroyed couch (literally in pieces) lay in the corner.

We paid almost 200 euros for two nights in our quad room. The hotel faces the Rhein, as well as the two sets of train tracks. Honestly, I was grateful for the constant droning of the trains on our Saturday night, as there was a band playing in the club in the basement of the hotel and it was LOUD. We could hear it well into the early hours of the morning, then all the loud guests came up to their rooms.

Breakfast was fine, although certainly not as nice as similar breakfasts we've had in Germany in other 3-star properties. The staff were pleasant. I suppose the hotel would appeal to the 20-something traveler with money to blow who is merely looking for a place to stay, but I wish the tourist office had found us somewhere else to stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, dirty atmosphere, need for repairs
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosierabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

The hotel Germania is situated on the main road which has a train track running along it but the windows cut out all of the daytime noise. The rooms are clean and spacious with views of either the Rhine or the local vineyards. Located centrally for the pedestrianised area which comprises a plethora of restaurants. The breakfast buffet is served on the ground floor in Hajo's, a pleasant bar also run by the hotel staff. Friendly reception and highly recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, RI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2004

Hotel Germania is a good deal in touristy Rudesheim. The rooms are clean, large and comfortable and the bathroms are recently redone and excellent. We had a great view of the Rhine from our windows and balcony. The breakfast was very good. The only drawback was the train tracks are across the street and there was a lot of traffic on the line. However, I am a light sleeper and I managed to get a decent night's sleep. If you come by boat or train it is very convenient.

Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingAmigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2003

Excellent hotel. Reasonable rates, very clean rooms, extensive breakfast buffet, central location.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dragonannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruedesheim am Rhein
0.0 km away
Rheinhotel Lamm
Rheinhotel Lamm
#4 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
169 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel-Cafe Post
Hotel-Cafe Post
#21 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
27 reviews
0.1 km away
Krone Assmannshausen
Krone Assmannshausen
#20 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Alte Bauernschaenke
Alte Bauernschaenke
#12 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
145 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Schoen
Hotel Schoen
#1 of 4 in Assmannshausen
36 reviews
4.1 km away
Hajo's Hotel Germania
Hajo's Hotel Germania
#15 of 30 in Ruedesheim am Rhein
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Germania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Germania

Property: Hotel Germania
Address: Rheinuferstr. 6, 65385 Ruedesheim am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Ruedesheim am Rhein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Ruedesheim am Rhein
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hotel Germania Germany/Ruedesheim Am Rhein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing