We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, clean, spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altstadt Hotel Zur Post
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stralsund
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This was a perfectly acceptable hotel, clean and functional and felt a bit corporate with a big buffet breakfast that was outrageously expensive (but it was hard to find good breakfasts in nearby bars while we were there over a festival weekend). Central with parking in the main square and also some parking below hotel ground that you pay a day rate for.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zazu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

This hotel also manages apartments in the city. There was no evidence in the foyer or outside the hotel of any official star rating. The photos of the hotel on Booking.com do not represent the reality. It is one of the few buildings in the city which needs external painting! This is most noticeable in a city which is all spruced up and looking really beautiful. Stralsund is out to impress and to please, which it does, but not this hotel. I had apartment NeuMarkt, ground floor. It is a 19th Century former military hospital. I stayed for a pre-paid twelve days in July-August 2017. I would not recommend this apartment. The bathroom was basic in the extreme. The hotel did not provide any information re provision of any service: e.g. for emptying trash, and no system to change towels in that 12 day period. I was provided with one body, one hand towel and one small bathroom floor towel and one very flat pillow. I was, however, given two more towels and two more pillows on my request when I arrived. Guests should not have to do this on arrival. Meanness is not hospitality. All three women I had experience with at the Reception Desk were lacking basic skills necessary for professional hospitality. A smile costs nothing, and evidence that the person actually wants to help goes a long way. Begrudging service is no service. Mr Philipp Binz, on the other hand, was most friendly and professional; unfortunately, he was not there all the time. It was July-August and the apartment faced the afternoon sun, consequently it was hot. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, most of the linen was cotton and comfortable too and there was fast and consistent WIFi. Given the gloomy nature of the furnishings, the old velvet curtains on old rods and the tiny 1970's bathroom and shower, it was a relief to leave. Stralsund, though, should not be missed. It is a lovely city, and 99% of the buildings have been refurbished, and I found everyone in the restaurants and cafes as well as the museums to be friendly-professional and hospitable. And every hotel and apartment is well situated in the Altstadt.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Larrylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

I had room for one person number 206. Came on saturday and wanted to relax but it was so loud inside whole building (all the time was some machine on duty that i couldn't sleep at all and on someone does clean rooms afternoon. I couldn't rest at all. Not good choice.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank sebastian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Very tired hotel, not the best food, and absolutly no wi-fi in our room, as promised in their announcement. The staff was not interested in doing anything with this. We found a dark corner in the same floor, where we got connection, but that is not acceptable. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated at Neue Markt. The locations is very good. Around 5 minutes away from the Alte Markt. The hotel did not meet my expectations. There are strange smell in it and it really needs refurbishment. Service was not good. No cleaning the second day. One reason for using it is the location and the price.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

A very nice, quiet hotel, right in the heart of the Altstadt. We paid €66 for our room (336) which was big, well appointed and clean. The only grumble, and it was a small one, was that there was no WiFi in the hotel (very surprising these days!) -- although we discovered that there is free WiFi outside on the square.

There is a parking garage, but there is also ample parking in the square.

All in all, a very good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BaselLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Perfectly situated in Stralsunds Altstadt it is perfect exploring this unique historic Unesco city. Very friendly and helpful staff. Garage under hotel makes parking easy. A bit worn and outdated interior but if you liked Miami Vice this is it! Spacious Rooms.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Svedjemarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stralsund hotels
4.7 km away
VCH Hotel Stralsund
VCH Hotel Stralsund
#22 of 24 in Stralsund
87 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Hiddenseer am Ozeaneum
0.8 km away
arcona Hotel Baltic
arcona Hotel Baltic
#4 of 24 in Stralsund
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Schweriner Hof Hotel
Schweriner Hof Hotel
#15 of 24 in Stralsund
39 reviews
2.9 km away
Wyndham Stralsund HanseDom
Wyndham Stralsund HanseDom
#2 of 24 in Stralsund
993 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel Stralsund
Royal Hotel Stralsund
#16 of 24 in Stralsund
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel Zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel Zur Post

Address: Tribseer Str. 22 | Am Neuen Markt, 18439 Stralsund, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Stralsund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Stralsund
Price Range: $74 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altstadt Hotel Zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Altstadt Hotel Zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Post Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing