We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem..”
Review of Norddeutscher Hof

Norddeutscher Hof
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norddeutscher Hof
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Stralsund
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Perhaps not the most fancy place (as you can see by the rates), but genuinely warm, authentic and welcome place to stay. Stayed for a week, great spot all around, very cozy. Restaurant is great too with a range of typical German dishes. Just wait till you see these platters, you'll be surprised. My colleges ate at the bistro across the road and one evening I brought them here. Too bad it was our last night in town, they would have come back every day.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aleksey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2016

Ideally located in the heart of the 'Altstadt' (old town centre) in this historic city, it's a pleasure to check in when on a holiday for a few days.
Nothing, really, to object about. Room good, accessibility to the room, if upstairs, a wee bit demanding on one's legs if entering from the back of the building, i.e., its free
parking spots. (A age 81, I had no trouble with that, though).

Most enjoyable was the amiable way of the staff. It's not a faceless entity but coming 'home' from a day on one's legs, there's a friendly 'hallo' and one's given attention in a chat with a genuinely friendly smile etc.
Well worth a stay if the memory needs positive enrichment !

Room Tip: You can ask to see the room before checking in. Ours was great, spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomadicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here while visiting Stralsund on the way to Rugen island. It's a nice little hotel, very quiet with lovely hosts. Breakfast is excellent and was included in the room rate.

The room we received was very, very small. Probably due to the walk-in booking. It was also pretty expensive (Euro95) for the room.

Huge bonus is the private parking area around the back of the hotel.

Given more time for planning I probably wouldn't choose to stay here again, but it was a good stop that provided a decent sleep.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JustHappilyWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A very quiet room in spite of being on the street side of the hotel, probably due to double glazing. It is opposite the church and right in the centre of town next to the market place. The room was large and very clean. Other hotels in the area did not have parking. This had a private lot right at the back of the hotel. Proximity to things to see and do. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The staff were very friendly. Our German was non existent but they were able to give us lots of advice on what to do in this lovely medieval town. Our room for 3 was very spacious. The breakfasts were great and we ate every night in their restaurant as the food was well priced and delicious. Try the fish. Great location in the old town and only about a 10 minute walk fro the station.

Room Tip: triple room very spacious actually 2 rooms combined
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MST52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Norddeutscherhof is a wonderful traditional old style German hotel. The decor and fine woodwork in the lobby and adjacent restaurant areas have an ambiance that I remember fondly from traveling in Germany long, long ago. We had a great dinner in their restaurant - try their fish specialty for two. Their was a small private party going on in the adjacent cozy function room that we enjoyed glimpsing.

The location was great - just off the town square. Our room was large and clean and had a view of the cathedral. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The private parking lot behind the hotel was a bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnscasler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ulrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stralsund hotels
3 km away
Wyndham Stralsund HanseDom
0.8 km away
Hotel Hiddenseer am Ozeaneum
0.1 km away
Schweriner Hof Hotel
Schweriner Hof Hotel
#15 of 24 in Stralsund
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Altstadt Hotel Peiss
Altstadt Hotel Peiss
#13 of 24 in Stralsund
36 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Kontorhaus
Hotel Kontorhaus
#8 of 24 in Stralsund
56 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel am Jungfernstieg
Hotel am Jungfernstieg
#6 of 24 in Stralsund
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norddeutscher Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norddeutscher Hof

Address: Neuer Markt 22, 18439 Stralsund, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania, Germany
Region: Germany > Mecklenburg-West Pomerania > Stralsund
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Stralsund
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norddeutscher Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing