We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated boutique hotel at the edge of old town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antik Hotel Bristol
Ranked #120 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed 11 December 2015

This is a small boutique hotel at the northwest of the old town, close to Media Park. It is around 5 minutes walk to the one of the old city gates, and very close to the subway (U-bahn, stop: Christopstr) and 15 min-walk to the train (S-bahn, stop: Hansaring) (Google maps says 10min - but with luggage and traffic lights around 15min.)

The location is not the greatest for a tourist, but as Koln is a small city it's within walking distance to the city centre (15-20 min - or get a multi-ticket from the convenience store around the corner and take the U-bahn on a cold/bad weather day).

The decoration is an "antique" style which is the main charm of the hotel. The suite is very nicely decorated and spacious, with a balcony for the smokers and a small but functional bathroom. Toilet is separate at the front. However as it's an old building I suspect each room layout maybe different. Despite it's an old building there is a (small) lift so you don't have to carry your luggage up the stairs.

Agree with other reviews that lack of air-conditioning and squeaky bed could be a problem. As I stayed during winter it's not much of an issue.

The breakfast, though simple, has some great variety and the produces are high quality. From cold (cereal, yogurt, etc) to hot (bacon, scrambled eggs), to continental bread and spreads (different handmade jams, nutella etc).

Room Tip: The suite with 19th century decoration was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank austrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Great location on the edge of the Belgian quarter and the old town, and right next to transport links. The staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming. The outside of the hotel and the reception is unassuming but the breakfast room and bedrooms are fabulous. The antique furniture is gorgeous. Our room had a 19th century four poster bed and a cupboard like something from The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe! It was spacious, as was the bathroom. Very clean and comfortable. So different, it was a breath of fresh air. Breakfast was excellent. I always harp on about breakfasts in hotels. There was fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, dried fruit and nuts, cereals, breads, eggs, bacon, sausages, meats and cheeses, jams, honey, juices and really good coffee. The only thing missing was maybe a few more pastries/cakes but that's me being spoilt. It maybe that the hotel is rated three stars because it doesn't have some facilities like a gym, business centre, bar, etc. But re the bar for instance, you are surrounded by places to eat and drink so that's not a worry. Just great, well done.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank superpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Positives: The decor - loved the antique feeling, great breakfast, the beds were so comfortable, and staff being kind.

Negatives: We would have preferred a double bed rather than a twin room. And the walls were a bit thin, we could hear next door chatting.

Room Tip: To get to the 6th floor you need to go up a flight of stairs so if you have accessibility issues let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenPM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I stayed at this hotel with my brother and parents for one night. The hotel is very nicely designed and the staff are a credit the hotel. Breakfast was brilliant and my parents had a Junior Suite which was very memorable. The only problem was a slightly uncomfortable night due to a squeaky bed and a lack of air conditioning. This didn't overshadow a nice stay though.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dec1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Very nice, cheap hotel in excellent location.
On a plus side:
- nice interiors
- tasty breakfests
- excellent location as I've already mentioned
- price
But:
- small rooms
- can't say it is luxurious
Rest is just ok

Room Tip: Hotel has rooms for smokers, if you are not one, it's worth to ask for non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank szefuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Hotel with non standard furniture in every room, including the dining room. Good service, good breakfast, friendly personnel.
Location is good for tourism: very close to the U-bahn station, but walking to the city and altstad is also very well possible.

Room Tip: If you can walk up two stairs, try room 67. It has a balcony with view on the Dom. The elevator goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We were in Cologne in early December and had the good fortune to stay in this fantastic hotel. Our daughter had stayed there, on business, and couldn't say enough good things about it. It was our first trip to Germany and my husband and myself were just thrilled with the service, the old world charm and the ease in walking to Cologne Cathedral and the beautiful Christmas Market there. I know that if we ever go to Cologne again, we will be booked in at the Antik Hotel Bristol.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Rheinblick
#84 of 263 in Cologne
61 reviews
Hotel Im Wasserturm
#23 of 263 in Cologne
596 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 263 in Cologne
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savoy Hotel
#24 of 263 in Cologne
470 reviews
Hotel Merlin Garni
#112 of 263 in Cologne
23 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antik Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antik Hotel Bristol

Address: Kaiser-Wilhelm-Ring 48, 50672 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $172 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Antik Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antik Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing