We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel: 100 mtrs from Cologne Train Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel am Dom
Ranked #213 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Bombay
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel: 100 mtrs from Cologne Train Station”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Not a very fancy hotel, but the location is very convenient. Rooms are very small and if you open 1 suitcase, then the Room is full and no space to walk around.

This is one of the inexpensive Hotels and Rates during Dusseldorf trade fares can be EUR 125 approx. Proximity of places is as follows:

The hotel's surroundings
City/town center 0.0 km
Trade fair complex Köln Messe 0.9 km
Central train station Köln 0.1 km
Airport Köln Wahn 15.0 km
Taxi rank 0.1 km
Subway, suburban railway 0.1 km
Bus/streetcar 0.1 km
Public parking garage 0.1 km
Highway exit Zentrum 3.0 km
Conference center Köln Messe 0.9 km
Casino 40.0 km

Very conveniently located. Cologne cathedral, which is a world heritage site, is just 100 mtrs away.

Room Tip: Any Room you choose, the elevator halts in the middle and you have to lift your luggage either up or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bombaybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    67
    113
    54
    50
See reviews for
36
77
49
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The last times I came to Cologne I stayed in this hotel. It is conveniently located (just a few steps away from the central station and the cathedral), but in spite of the hustle and bustle out on the street it is safe and the rooms I had (both with a view to the backyard) were quiet. The breakfast is great for a hotel in this category, I have seen equal or worse in four-star hotels. Coffee and tea maker is availabe (which is not standard in German hotels). Staff is very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part are ok, but the ones in the renovated part are really chic and feature modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engelslocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carcavelos
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

On a 3 minute walk away from the central railway station and 2 minutes from Cologne's Dom, this hotel is very well located for visiting the centre of the city. The room we had was relatively spartan and smallish, but the beds were comfortable and everything was spic and span clean. Breakfast was simple but good with just enough choice. Good price/quality relationship.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flightwithadutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

My husband and I went to Cologne for the weekend to visit the Christmas Markets and stayed at the Central Hotel am Dom for two nights. The location of the hotel is excellent, especially if you're travelling by train, as the hotel is right next to the station. It's also right next to the Cathedral and the main Christmas Market. Unfortunately that is pretty much the only good thing about the hotel. The bedroom was ok in terms of cleaning but everything else was below average. The room and the bathroom were extremely basic, more like a hostel than a hotel. The walls are paper thin and we could hear the guests in the hall coming and going, plus we heard furniture moving several times during the night. The bed was comfortable enough but breakfast was also very poor and you'd better off getting something to eat at the markets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsNinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2011

They rent rooms while renovating parts of the Hotel. Noisy, dirty, and full of smoking people(I mean smoking in their Rooms and thru the ventilators the cigarette's smoke goes to the next... rooms... as well). Don't they have tourist authorities to check Hotels in Germany ?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEXIS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Leicester, England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The hotel is well located which is its best feature but beyond that then the rest of the hotel doesn't come above average. My room was on the small side, water temperature in the shower was inconsistent (as was flow) but it was clean.

I won't be rushing back to stay here again, there are better options but if everywhere is booked up then its acceptable but only if the rate is no more than €80 per night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The only thing this hotel has going for it is location, it is a few mins walk from the Cathedral (and you can hear it- hourly bell tolls) Staff were brusque and offhand; when I checked in was assigned a single room even though my reservation was for a double room! After trekking to the room and finding this, I complained and they gave me a double but it was tiny and in the smoking section of the hotel, so complained again and they moved me again to larger room but still smoking. Toiletries are lacking, only two sachets for shampoo/shower and they will not provide any extra. The worst thing was finding 5 DEAD ANTS in my kettle on wanting to make a cup of tea on the second night as well as getting a sore throat/cough combo from the air quality in the room. Travelled here for business; the only reason I stayed here was because the quality hotels like the Marriott and Hilton were fully booked and ended up paying a premium > 150 Euros per night for this basic hotel as it was booked relatively late with a lot of conferences in the area. AVOID at all costs

Room Tip: Ensure you check at Reception what room they have assigned you; I had booked a double room and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ar_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#73 of 260 in Cologne
191 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
#168 of 260 in Cologne
80 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 260 in Cologne
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel am Dom

Property: Central Hotel am Dom
Address: An den Dominikanern 3 | corner of Marzellenstrasse, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing