We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had potential ... but disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Ranked #40 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Had potential ... but disappointing”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I selected this hotel based on the reviews on this site. The hotel was great, it was clean, the staff were pleasant and its location is perfect. However its the little things that make a difference that were missing. The hotels location whilst being a benefit is also one of its downfalls. on arrival we found that there is no passenger or bag dropoff parking. I was fully aware that carparking was offsite and was subsidised (it wasn't included in the tariff) so I found a public carpark and parked the car so that I could unload the bags and my passenger. We walked back to the hotel, bags in toe and checked in. I questioned the receptionist about the carparking and was promptly told there was none. I mentioned that I knew it was offsite and subsidised to €8 per day. I was told "Sorry but there is none left". There was no offer to make alternative arrangements, no suggestions and no offer to subsidise the carpark that we actually parked in. The carpark cost over double what we were expecting. Remember their website states that there is ample parking and bookings are not necessary. Not a great start. Ok, so up to the room we go, there is no tea/coffee making facilities, no extra pillows (trust me you will need them) and no Television channels in English. Actually there was one, but it didn't work. The room was clean and the bed comfortable but it was missing the small things that make a place memorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbug61u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    222
    73
    22
    15
See reviews for
44
128
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

in walking distance to central train station,dom cathedral,old town,chacolate museum,rhein riverside and main shopping area and so cologn nice bridge.hotel is very clean with best view of dom from its windows,staff are very kind .there are many beer garden around hotel, i think its location is perfect for a family trip especially with train.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel looked good on the net when we found it, and it matched up to our expectations. Clean room, awesome location; just a quick walk from the Dom - we could see the Dom from our window! The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparksau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Great location: Short walk from station, close to cathedral, close to two of the main Cologne Christmas Markets and a short walk away from the Rhein. Very friendly staff. Nice modern, clean and comfortable room albeit a bit on the small size. Good typical German breakfast in a relaxed environment. Stopped for 3 nights

The Christmas Markets were great with lots of entertainment, food and quality goods. The trip up the cathedral tower is over 500 steps but well worth it. The cathedral guided tour in english was also very good and allowed one to get closer to the shrine of the magi than is otherwise possible. Do walk over the river via the railway bridge and see the padlocks, I estimated that there were 150,000! Brauhaus Sion just around the corner is good for typical German eating and drinking. Cologne is a great city to walk around.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one on the back. Limited view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PairfromThornbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Friendly staff at check-in.
Very clean hotel and room.
Location is very good. About a 2 minute walk from the big shopping street, 2 minutes walk to the Christmas market “Am Dom”. 2 minutes walk from the River, not even 5 minute walk to the main train station.
I went to a concert in the Laxness arena it is about 20-25 minute walk- easy to find as there are signs to follow. I was walking back on my own and felt safe on my way back from the concert.
Parking is about 5 minutes away – I parked at “Parkhaus Philharmonie” (15 EUR for 24 hours.)
Breakfast was good with large choice of various things.
The only thing I can complain about it that the room was small and for 90 EUR a night (breakfast included) it feels a bit expensive. However I doubt I could have got a better room/ equally quality for less at the same location. Last time I was in Cologne, I stayed at another hotel, I paid about the same but the quality was not as good, compared to that I think I got a good deal this time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olchju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Hotel was choosen as of its location, near by the Koln central railway station (3 minutes walking distance) and the city main shopping area (just out of the lobby and you are there)
which indeed was perfect, enabling easy tour & shopping at the city center by walking distance, as of solo transit at Koln after business trip ordered single room - the room had the usuall facilities incl. minibar, however quite basic and definately too small even for single person - in view of rate paid (room only without breakfast) VFMoney ratio is questionable..
it could have been better - there are planty of hotels near by, so overnight stay only could (and should) have been cheaper !

Room Tip: backside rooms are definately less noisy than front one's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zevik61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Our first time in Koln, not staying on a river boat cruise tour, our third trip to Koln overall. They graciously checked us in at 10am, being we had to be off the boat by 9am, asked the clerk if the room had a view, wow, wow, is all I can say what a great view of the Cathedral. If you are visiting for the Christmas market season as we were you are litterally across the street from the main market near the cathedral and only a block or so from the main downtown shopping district and a short walk to the train station, a few blocks to the river area. The staff and service were excellent, attentative bar staff and good food both off the bar menu in the evening as well as the included breakfast, super nice common lobby area, with window seats with such a great view. We had to catch a train early the last morning for Frankfurt and when checking out at 5am, the clerk insisted on making us sandwiches for the trip being we were leaving before breakfast was served, can you imagine that in the USA, Cannot wait to go back. The rooms are very clean, very modern, not plush, but then again in a city like this how much time to you really spend in your room.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Dom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donrltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Residence am Dom
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel am Museum
Hotel am Museum
#29 of 260 in Cologne
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#41 of 260 in Cologne
304 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 260 in Cologne
849 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
CityClass Hotel Caprice am Dom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom

Property: CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom
Address: Am Hof 38 - 46, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Europa am Dom ****Wake up and see I'm in Cologne! From a view of the Cologne Cathedral everyone dreams - you enjoy this exclusive look at us!Located in the heart of Cologne, in the immediate vicinity of the Cologne cathedral, the extensively renovated 4-star Hotel Europa am Dom in 81 rooms, understated elegance, modern comforts (air conditioning, flatscreen TV, wireless) and attentive service.For small break in between loads the open round-the-Clock Bar lounge of the hotel up on a wide selection of drinks and snacks and separate smoking lounge.Whether you come to explore in and around the cathedral city or for a business visit to Cologne, select the Europa Am Dom as the focal point for your activities: main station, fairground and shopping are within walking distance to the airport, the train leaves in 15 minutes.Cologne City GuideWhether as a refuge for a city tour, as a convenient "obvious" place to stay after a concert or theater, or as a "home away from home" for business activities - the three CityClass hotels in the heart of Cologne for every occasion, the ideal choice.Gladly we reserve a table for you in the most beautiful old town restaurants or hearty beer halls or book tickets for the currently trendy musicals and plays. Our professional staff can help you in choosing your shopping or at the "Route Planning" for your excursions into the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your CityClass Hotel Europa am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityclass Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing