We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
119
208
140
41
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
208
140
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel two sinks no air con the main train station four star hotel restaurant next door minute walk rooms are large shopping street tea and coffee making facilities high street reception area good size buffet breakfast signal iduna park marble tanks
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 534 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

The room was very big and had more than enought place for the 2 of us.
The bathroom was also big and comfortable.
The location was great with 10-15 min walk to the central station, right on the main street and 30 min walk to the signal iduna park.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ניב ב
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

I found the hotel interesting even from the very moment I entered into the extravagant lobby with its floor-to-wall burgundy marble. (Someone told me that the hotel had quite a history, but there was no time for the to elaborate on it.)
It is quite big, with a lot of rooms. My room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable.
WIFI is free.
The breakfast buffet was ample with delicious warm and cold fare on offer.
The best part was its location, with the start of a pedestrian shopping area right across the street, the modern train station just one block away, and great snack bars and restaurants very close by—even next door.
There’s a fabulous jazz club just 3 blocks away.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank ZANDVELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is possibly the poshest place I have ever stayed! The lobby is all marble and gold with big chandeliers and a sweeping staircase. There are also some amazing fish tanks to look at. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the cheaper excelsior rooms-still very nice and extremely clean. Had everything we needed. Pillows were a bit rubbish but what can you expect for such a cheap room in an amazing hotel! We didn't have the available breakfast as it was quite expensive. The hotel is right opposite the high street going towards the shopping centre, perhaps 20 min drive from the airport and 5 min walk from the train station. Only minor issue was they said they had international newspapers in the guide in the room, but when asked at reception they didn't. Not a big problem. Also free wifi was very good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank N9601XVelizabethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

On first impressions, the hotel looks grand, with its imposing grand staircase and chandelier hanging in the reception area, but looks can be deceiving!
Check in was quick, but I did get charged €6:50 and I don't know what it was for!

My room was on the 4th floor, keyless entry. The lights were slow to click on in the corridors, they are on movement switches.

Into the room, you have to put your room card into a socket for the power to come on, the trouble is, the power switches straight off when you remove the room card, so instant darkness!

The room itself has loads of cupboard space and drawers. The double bed is two single beds pushed together. Tea and coffee but no milk.
Bottle of water will cost you €4, no other snacks or refreshments.

The bathroom had two sinks but only towels for 1 person, 1 sink had a big crack in it.

A bottle of cheap smelling soap/shampoo between the two sinks with some makeup pads and cotton buds, another bottle of soap in the shower. The cupboard doors in the bathroom have seen better days, rotting at the bottom of all the doors.

There was no heating in the room, no air conditioning, no trouser press, no iron, in fact it's almost a bare room with a bed. Very much 3 stars!

If I travel to Dortmund again, I'll stay somewhere else. The decor is very grand but it is all a facade.

I had dinner in the restaurant next door, which was typical German and OK.

I missed breakfast as I was still full from the beers and meal the night before.

Check out was quick as it was all pre paid.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We arrived very late. Check in was efficient. Location is quite convenient to the Hauptbahnhof - about 10-15 minute walk.
Rooms are OK, mine was definitely big enough which was actually a surprise.
No a/c is a problem. Would never stay here in summer.
Windows open but room is right on the street so lots of street noise.
On 2nd day it was "cold" by German standards (about 7C) so the staff kindly turned my room into a sauna by opening all the heaters to maximum. Very uncomfortable and unfriendly.
No coffee shop or bar in lobby. We wanted to have a coffee during a short meeting there and it was not possible.
Breakfast is OK, but charged extra EUR14.
No gym.
Overall the place is quite clean.
Basically this is a 1-2 star hotel. Not sure how they get a 4 star rating because no gym, no pool, no restaurant or coffee shop or bar, and no a/c.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the road and will be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j889814672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews