We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
121
198
84
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
198
84
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main railway station dortmund city smack bang good size hotel entrance big advantage would stay here again long weekend recommend this hotel breakfast room great breakfast buffet restaurants and bars wi fi excellent location on foot minute walk clean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 442 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018

I could spend only one night at this hotel but if I travel to Dortmund again I will choose it.
The bed was first class comfortable. There is enought place in the room, big TV, free internet connection with normal speed.
There is air condition in the room, not centralized - necessary as at open windows your room can be a bit noisy.
Early breakfast, I could have a breakfast already at 6am - big advantage.
The hotel is really in the city centre, 3 minutes walking from the train station, 2 minutes from the tube.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank szelkakas1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureDortmundCity, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Dortmund City, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear szelkakas1979,

thank you very much for staying at our hotel during your travel to Dortmund.
We appreciate that you are sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community.
It is great to receive such positive feedback and I will be happy to share it with my team .

We hope to have as our guest again on your next trip to Dortmund, until then, I and my team wish you save travels.

Mercure Dortmund City & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a 3 night stay for my birthday. Room had a very comfortable bed and nice bath with inclusive toiletries. Sadly the room was very hot and we had to open the windows, unfortunately 2 mornings coincided with a Nazi march and a local derby football match so Polizei helicopters were circling from very early on. We also thought paper cups for hot drinks was a bit naff. Location was great, 10 minutes walk from the hbf and a u Bahn stop was right outside the hotel entrance so we were able to escape the previously mentioned event and take a day trip to the lovely city of Münster. An enjoyable trip and a great location, but sleep was regularly disturbed on this occasion. Also bear in mind the shops are closed on Sundays so you’ll need to make other plans.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edwardc278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureDortmundCity, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Dortmund City, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Dear Edward c,

thank you for staying with us at our hotel and for sharing your stay with the tripadvisor community.
I am sorry that there was a problem with some crazy guys running around in the streets during your stay, you just can´t stop people from being idiots, sorry for them and we offer our apology to you for the problems disturbed sleep.
For the future we wish you always a great travel, nice and good locations and we would appreciate to have you as our guests if you ever visit Dortmund again.

best regards
Mercure Dortmund City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

Just back from long weekend in Dortmund, stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Good location, underground station right outside , 5 minutes walk from main train & bus station. As with other reviewers, little bit odd that the hotel starts on the 3 floor of this building, but saying that it was nice and quite in the hotel, as away from street noise. When you pull up to front of building you need to look to the right where you will see the 2 lift shafts and a door with the purple mercury sign above it, see my photos. Once in the door you will come to the 2 Lifts. Check in was quick and easy, staff spoke good English and where very friendly & helpful. We had a room on 5th floor. They were a good size, very clean, bathroom had all the essentials in it. Very quite on the 5th floor. Hotel only does breakfast, can’t comment as didn’t have breakfast. Below the hotel is a big local cafe. Within 500m there is a Mac Donald’s KFC , subway and lots of restaurants. WI-FI was good. We walked to the football stadium it was a 40 minutes walk, there are lots of bars on the way. As we were in a party of 8, we got a cab from airport 28 euros, which was cheaper than getting the bus. I would stay here again

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank davidfX2110ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureDortmundCity, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Dortmund City, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2018

Dear david f,

thank you and your friends for staying at our hotel and for sharing your trip with the tripadvisor community in this great and informative review. If you ever plan to visit Dortmund again, for a soccer match or something, we would appreciate to have you as our guests again. Until then we hope you always have great travels with nice and save locations in the future.

Best regards
Mercure Dortmund City Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Very good location - few steps away from all main city attractions, sightseeing, shopping street, central station. Located on quiet street next to metro station.
Very professional and polite stuff at breakfast restaurant and front desk.
Vary bad FREE wifi reception in room and hotel. It drops all the time and takes ages to open pages or connect.
Can feel tobacco smell in the room and hotel. Not sure if there is smoking rooms, but it is not good.

Overall good hotel with very good location in the centre of the Dortmund.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BoWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureDortmundCity, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Dortmund City, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear BoWu,

thank you very much for staying at our hotel and sharing your stay with the Tripadvisor community.
Your feedback helps us to improve our services for you and all our future guests, it also serves as a motivation for me and my team.
We are sorry that you had problems concerning the free WiFi, we recommend to use the premium version in case of problem with the free one.
Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you a good and save travel in the future, great locations to stay and we hope to see you back again in our hotel if you visit Dortmund again.

Mercure Dortmund City & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

If you have your business in the city, this is a great place to stay. Nice, clean rooms, great breakfast buffet, friendly staff. The location is on walking distance from the city shopping area and nice restaurants.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank FransHeijmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureDortmundCity, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Hotel Dortmund City, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Geachte Frans Heijmans,

thank you very much for visiting our hotel and for the great review of our place and team.
We appreciate your feedback and it serves as a motivation for my team and me.
We hope you have great travels in the future, with nice places to stay and we hope to see you again at our Mercure Hotel Dortmund City.

Sebastian & the Mercure Dortmund City Team
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews