We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, good wine, not a great choice for dinner”
Review of Pelayo

Pelayo
Ranked #77 of 856 Restaurants in Essen
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Rüttenscheid
Reviewed October 30, 2017

The location, atmosphere is really nice, but the food is not as good as you expect from a spanish-style tapas bar. Almost everything that we ordered was canned. Roasted artichokes were taken out of a can? Olives are also from supermarket alike. Fish was ok.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barankis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

Very delicious food, baby octopuses were fantastic, I would return their one more time! Very nice service!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Client77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Dined here whilst visiting a friend who lives in Essen. We told the waiter to just bring us a selection of tapas & could not fault his choice or the plates. Had garlic shrimp (very tasty), sauteed chorizo, roasted mushrooms, potatoes. All were very tasty & allowed us to catch up whilst grazing away at the plates. Restaurant atmosphere is very casual so you can relax & not feel you are interrupting other diners if you get a bit loud with laughter!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisamM8757MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

The place we were planning on going was closed, so we are happy to find Pelayo a block away and we loved the menu and decor, so went in. The service was VERY slow and not attentive, but we had a wonderful evening talking and enjoying the nice weather in back patio and the food was decent - not memorable, but solid.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank DonovanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

Some restaurants that serve spectacular food believe their customers may want to savor the food and the experience. And sometimes that means a slow, relaxed tempo for enjoying a meal. It's a shame so many reviewers are in too much of a hurry to understand that.
We thoroughly enjoyed the flavors, atmosphere and pace of our dinner. Everything was well thought out and tasted wonderful. We will definitely be back and will recommend Pelayo to our friends.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelayo also viewed

Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Pelayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing