We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort on a budget close to the Altstadt ”
Review of Ibis Mainz City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Mainz City
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Mainz
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed two nights at the Ibis Mainz City, and felt that it was good value for money, clean and comfortable. They offer a very good breakfast for €11 per person. The shower room is small, but perfectly adequate and there's only one bath towel apiece, but you can ask for more. There is no tea/coffee or minibar in the rooms, but a bar downstairs offers reasonably priced drinks and snacks.

The location is great, close to the Mainz Romisches Theater S Bahn station. This has excellent connections to Frankfurt and its airport on the S8 line. A short journey (Kurzstrecke) costs €1.70 to Mainz Hauptbahnhof, which is one stop. From there, you have access to the Rhein and Mosel areas.

A five minute walk out of the rear entrance brings you to the heart of the Altstadt with great wine bars, cafés and restaurants. The Dom, with its market place and the Gutenberg Museum are all very close. The old city is rather lovely, and great for a short stopover. This hotel offers comfort and convenience without breaking the bank.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank _elainehindson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

It had very basic facilities, no fridge or tea making equipment in the room, and the beds were like sleeping on a concrete. I suffer from arthritis in my spine and the bed was so firm I could hardly get off it. I telephoned the reception who initially said there was nothing they could do, until they realised I really could move because of the pain, then they suggested I sleep on op of the quilt. When I burst into tears the manager offered me a foam under layer for the mattress, which in fairness did help but didn't fully solve the problem.
The breakfast buffet was good, but didn't vary at all. The location is great, right on the edge of the old city of Mainz, and across the road from a lovely little museum, there are plenty of places to eat out that aren't overly expensive. The staff on the whole were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the hotel, as teh front is directly on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

For the night, good hotel.
For romance, nice view you need another class and another price. This hotel is simply good quality/price. The lobby, breakfast are well, personnel is friendly and will help with any question you might have.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sjaak O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is well placed just below the Romaniche Theatre train station and 30 seconds from the river.
The rooms are clean and at the upper end of the Ibis experience. Breakfast is good and the hotel is well priced for the area.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank PaulRaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank chulp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The Ibis is a budget hotel. No frills. The room are small and basic. Our room faced the street but it was pretty quiet. Bathroom really small. They do not offer toiletries besides shower gel so bring your own. I knew this beforehand and even brought my own soap - just in case. Glad I did. The gel irritated my skin so I was thankful to have my own soap. The bed was fairly comfortable but after a couple of days, I found it a bit to firm. No fridge in the room. Bought water from the grocery store and would have been nice to keep it cold. No in room safe so keep that in mind.

The front desk staff was friendly and spoke English. They recommended restaurants when asked and also gave information on using the train.

The best thing about the Ibis is it's location. It's right outside of the Old City, a short walk to shops and restaurants. The Rhine river is a few blocks away. You can walk along the river and also see where the river cruises dock. I was able to walk to all the places I wanted to go to in Mainz. Train station is a couple of blocks away. Took a short 30 minute train ride to Wiesbaden which was very nice. If you rent a car - Heidleburg Germany is about 50 minutes away and Strasbourg France about a 2 hour drive.

I was really uneasy about staying in a budget hotel. However, at the time of my visit everything was booked up so didn't have a choice. My worries were unfounded. The hotel was fine. Loved the location and convenience and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CariibbeanQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

It is quote far walking from the main city centre (you better need car/bus to reach it), basic furnished, it seems more an ibis budget than ibis core one, but nevertheless a good ratio quality per night price

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aik75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mainz hotels
1.0 km away
Hilton Mainz
Hilton Mainz
#3 of 41 in Mainz
1,137 reviews
1.7 km away
IntercityHotel Mainz
IntercityHotel Mainz
#9 of 41 in Mainz
316 reviews
4.5 km away
Select Hotel Mainz
Select Hotel Mainz
#14 of 41 in Mainz
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Mainz City
Hilton Mainz City
#5 of 41 in Mainz
551 reviews
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Mainz
1.3 km away
Novotel Mainz
Novotel Mainz
#7 of 41 in Mainz
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Mainz City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Mainz City

Address: Holzhofstr. 2, 55116 Mainz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Mainz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mainz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mainz
#8 Business Hotel in Mainz
Price Range: $93 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Mainz City 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Mainz hotel is located in the city centre of Mainz, close to public transport, 300 m from the theatre district and 500 m from the Rheingoldhalle Exhibition Centre. Book one of our 144 airconditioned rooms including 78 non smoking rooms. Close to numerous restaurants, the hotel also features a bar serving snacks 24 hours, a terrace and 4 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. WiFi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Mainz City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Mainz Hotel Mainz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing