We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$109
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ante porta - Das Stadthotel(Trier)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Berghotel Kockelsberg(Trier)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stadtwald Hotel(Trier)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
12
28
20
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
28
20
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast buffetporta nigranice hotelon footold citytrain stationtvwifi
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 73 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We chose this hotel based on earlier reviews but were somewhat disappointed as we would class it as rather tired looking, especially our room, although we were fortunate in changing from a room overlooking the busy road to one at the back of the hotel - a big plus point on a very hot night. The Altstadt Hotel is next door to the Hotel Römischer Kaiser and is run by the same management company. We will stay there next time as for very little extra money the Römischer Kaiser is much 'fresher' looking and it has an excellent restaurant. The staff appeared to be more friendly as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2016

I chose this hotel based on the reviews, which were quite good, and its proximity to the Altstadt where there was a weekend-long street festival going on. The price was better than other nearby hotels. However, I was not impressed. The room was small, a bit shabby and hot and did not have ac, which is typical of hotels in Germany. The bathroom was very tiny. The one good thing to point out was the breakfast, which at least on the weekend included sparkling wine with which you could make a Mimosa. There is parking down the street in a private parking lot and it was free.

It is worth paying a few more Euros for better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank klovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is perfect for a visit to the old town Trier, next to Porta Nigra, the Roman gate. Unfortunately also next to a major street, which makes it rather noisy, especially on the lower floors. The room, again, was spacious and comfortable, even with a small balcony. Good bathroom, and all-in-all, this must have been four stars, at least some years back! The breakfast was very delicious, and even a glass of very nice Sekt was included. Good was: location, overall standard, private parking, and style. Not so good: the noise that went on till the midnight and after, the slow and unpredictable (!) elevator - one only. Still I am happy to recommend a stay in Altstadt Hotel.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2016

This is the sister hotel of the Romischer Kaiser across the road, but apparently the big sister is a lot nicer. Anyway, the Altstadt is well-located right by the Porta Nigra and hence a short walk into the beautiful old town of Trier. Our first floor room was not too small, but the two single beds were narrow and the pillows rather like large handkerchiefs, offering no head support at all. The room was very hot, there was no air-con and opening the windows let in a lot of street noise, as well as light. There was no mini bar nor hairdryer. The shower was quite effective and hot water easily available. Carpets were getting worn out. The staff were surly and disinterested, the receptionist barely able to make eye contact - when she was actually at the desk, that is. The maid service for cleaning the room was lazy and inefficient. Breakfast was very simple and lacking any imagination, and the pastries were stale. The selection of breads was rather nice and a good cappuccino was available for no extra cost. Orange juice was hideously acidic squash. All in all, a dreary, run down hotel making no effort at all to win new, or look after existing, customers.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank weltravelledofSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2016

I was traveling the Mosel valley alone and needed a clean, safe place to stay in Trier for a few days. The Altstadt suited this perfectly, offering a good value in wonderful location. I was able to walk to the hotel from the train station (lugging a carry on roller bag) and from there wander on foot everywhere I wanted to go in Trier. Granted, I like to walk (a LOT), but the hotel is very close to several main attractions, shopping, and restaurants.

If you're staying longer or like to hang out in your room more than I do, you might find this place a little spartan. For a clean, comfortable place to crash at night, it's great. I only ate breakfast there one morning, but it was tasty and filling enough to fuel me on a 9 mile walk around town and up to the Mariensaule. All the staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful. The wifi was pretty slow, but good enough to check email, research train schedules, upload some photos, and chat on WhatsApp.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews