We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel outside bustle of city centre.”
Review of Nells Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nells Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Trier
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good value hotel outside bustle of city centre.”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My wife and I, both 65 plus, stayed for two nights. Paid extra for room overlooking park. Well worth it!

Easy bus ride into town from other side of park. Roman remains in Trier fantastic.Easy town to walk around.

Hotel clean,breakfast excellent.Ate in hotel one evening. Good quality and service.

A good alternative to staying in a hotel in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasdavid44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    136
    52
    8
    2
See reviews for
38
172
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

The hotel is located a few minutes away from the middle of Trier....probably too far to walk for most people, but...that didn't bother us at all. The location borders on a nice park, which allowed me to take my morning walks. Very nice!!

Our room was nice and clean with a small balcony....no complaints. Breakfast was better than average....with several hot choices.

I'm not much for "hotel food", but I have to say that the restaurant at Nells Park Hotel did a good job. We ended up eating at the hotel restaurant several times.

A few minor complaints:

Parking is a mess....especially if larger parties are scheduled at the hotel. Email communication with the hotel is not very good, which....I don't understand. The front desk seemed very competent. Why should email be an issue....??

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans- Hertfordshire}
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Nice hotel, nice location. Good breakfast and helpful restaurant staff. The restaurant evening meal menu is vary limited so we only eat in there once. the rooms and general hotel areas were kept very clean and tidy. The bathroom in our room was a bit cramped. The shower was triangle shaped so no room to move at all so kept hitting the tap lever and turning off the shower( I am only quite small 33 waist). River boat trip recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
168 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We spent one night here on October 4 2010. The hotel is easy to find by car and free parking is available out front. Check in was easy and the room was nice, the decor if a little floral but it was very comfortable with a good bathroom.

The bus into Trier was very easy and leave from the other side of the park, reception gave us good instructions and a timetable.

We ate in the restaurant which was excellent with very good service. The restaurant also seems to attract a lot of locals which is a good sign.

The hotel is located about 2.5km from the Porta Nigra so is not in the throng of tourists. It is located on a quiet park in a very nice setting, a walk around the park before dinner was most enjoyable.

The hotel was overall very nice, no air conditioning and our room was on the street side so a little noisy with the windows open, but it was very quiet after about 10.30 pm. There are also no in room tea and coffee facilities. Internet is wireless and free, but we could not connect as the router for our part of the hotel was faulty.

Breakfast was very good with both hot and cold choices and a variety of eggs, boiled, scrambles plan or scrambled flavoured - both were good and I normally avoid scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

In the extremely touristic city of Trier, the Nells Park Hotel lies about 5 minutes by car or a 10 minutes bicycle ride from the famous Porta Nigra. The regular rooms are average in size, with a small balcony and a shower but no bath. On one side there is a park on the other there is a road and the hotel parking. Because the hotel also accomodates large sized groups that arrive by tour bus (about 40 passengers?) it can get very crowded at breakfast time. Other than for the breakfast buffet which was quite good, we did not use the restaurant or bar at the hotel.
Because the hotels is not in the centre of the city it is probably more quiet. You can take the car into the city where there are several public parking garages but it can be very busy with tourists everywhere so using a bicycle can be recommended. The hotel rents relatively new bicycles at a very reasonable price. Close by the hotel there is a nice path running along the Musel river which leads right into the city and a number of restaurants on the river where you can drink and eat outside with a view. The path is of course much quieter than the regular road.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfan1Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Nells Park Hotel is located a few minutes drive, or about 30 minutes walk, from central Trier.

We found it to be a perfectly adequate hotel, but without any outstanding features.

The restaurant was undoubtedly the best feature, serving very nice meals on the terrace overlooking the park.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This is a nice family hotel, but the websites forget to mention that it is situated in the industrial area in Trier. Ok, the hotel has a park, but that does not beat the noise and ongoing stream of vehicles just outside the hotels park... I would not recommend it to nature and peace and quiet lovers...
Staff was very friendly, food was very nice.
The rooms could do with a bit of updating. When we arrived there were construction workers busy and the hammer drill sounded through the walles of our room... Also we could not use our balcony because of the works... Pity....

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine31Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trier hotels
2.7 km away
Park Plaza Trier
Park Plaza Trier
#3 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Villa Hugel
Hotel Villa Hugel
#1 of 49 in Trier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Eurener Hof
Hotel Eurener Hof
#7 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
pentahotel Trier-Europahalle
2.9 km away
ibis Styles Trier
ibis Styles Trier
#2 of 49 in Trier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
3.1 km away
Blesius Garten
Blesius Garten
#8 of 49 in Trier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nells Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nells Park Hotel

Property: Nells Park Hotel
Address: Dasbachstr. 12, 54292 Trier, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Trier
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Trier
#7 Business Hotel in Trier
#8 Luxury Hotel in Trier
#9 Family Hotel in Trier
#11 Romantic Hotel in Trier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nells Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nells Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nells Park Trier
Hotel Nells Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing