We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$87
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$76
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Dresden Neustadt(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
INNSIDE by Melia Dresden(Dresden)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Budget Dresden City(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Garden Dresden(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bulow Palais(Dresden)
US$141
US$122
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
397
111
20
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
111
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi tubmarriott goldmarriott websiteindoor courtyardmeat eatersexquisite hotelold townjunior suitespastry shopselection of winescomplimentary bottleroom suitebeautifully decorated roomsfull buffetgreat weekendplatinum membermarble bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 540 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2018

Excellent service, nice and clean rooms and good restaurant for dinner. We travel with our three years old daughter weather was not nice that time, but she have fun anyway, especially in hotel spa pool.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YANIZZ j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLeisentritt, General Manager at Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear YANIZZ j,
Thank you for selecting Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection whilst staying in our beautiful city.
With much pleasure I have learned that you enjoyed your stay and that you were happy with the
hotel’s service, rooms and restaurant offering.
We are looking forward to your return visit in the near future.
Best regards,
Florian Leisentritt, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018

At first appearance, this is a very fancy, nice hotel. It's in a great location easy walking distance from all the sites to see in Dresden. It has a parking lot directly across the street so you don't need to pay an arm and a leg for valet parking like other hotels. They had a very nice breakfast buffet, very similar to every other German hotel we stayed at during our 8-day trip through Germany. They also have a very nice swimming pool in the basement.

My three main complaints with Gewandhaus were:
1. Terrible WiFi. We could not get WiFi signal in our room and had to go out into the hallway with a clearer line-of-sight to the lobby to get any signal at all.
2. Water temp fluctuations. Neither the sink faucets nor the showers did a very good job of mixing the incoming hot and cold water, so you had the strange sensation of feeling both scalding hot and freezing cold water at the same time, and the temperature of the water fluctuated while we were taking our showers.
3. Not connected to Marriott computer system? None of the room preferences we entered when making the reservation in the Marriott website were received at the hotel. We requested one room with a a king and one room with separate twin beds for my two sons, and we requested a feather-free room since my wife is allergic to down. They didn't get either of those requests. They were happy to oblige and quickly separated the beds in my sons' room and got foam pillows for my wife, but they said they were not aware of those requests before we arrived.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blunoz708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLeisentritt, General Manager at Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear blunoz708, My sincere apologies that your stay fell short of your expectation. Please contact me at your convenience. I would like to discuss this with you and find a way to rebuild your faith in us. Of course I shared your valued feedback with all responsible members of our team, as we are always willing to improve the service at our property at any time. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and fully enthuse you with our property. Best regards, Florian Leisentritt, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018

We found the Gewandhaus Dresden a very nice place to stay for our family of four. As SPG Gold members, we were unexpectedly upgraded to a spacious room on the 1st floor (floor 0 being the ground floor). The rooms were very nicely appointed, the location was super convenient to all of the historic parts of Dresden, and the staff were very friendly. The bathrooms were really luxurious and clean in our rooms. The breakfast in the morning was generous and quite good. All in all, we were very happy with this hotel choice in Dresden.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLeisentritt, General Manager at Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

Dear Russell L,
We believe that hospitality is personal and it all starts with a dedicated and caring team. Your feedback makes us proud and motivates us at the same time! Thank you.
Best regards,
Florian Leisentritt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Last week i just give them a 1 star rating due to the bad internet issue. But i have to be fair. i had stay here for the past 32 nights. From day one till now all the staff are super nice and helpful. They are attentive to my request. As i mention earlier on my review, they really need to improve on the internet connection.

Apart from that, everything is great!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garypey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLeisentritt, General Manager at Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear garypey, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Whether you were traveling to Dresden for business or pleasure, in today’s modern era, access to the internet helps us all stay connected to those who matter the most. There are countless reasons that reliable internet is expected and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience your difficulties connecting may have caused.
Providing the highest level of hospitality is always our number one priority and hearing we have fallen below that standard is something we will address immediately. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Sincerely, Florian Leisentritt, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

After a full day activities outside, we came back to the hotel and tried to take a bath at the jacuzzi only to discover that the jacuzzi was extremely dirty. As soon as I switched on the jacuzzi, there were a lot of black mud came out from every holes in the tub. The black dusts were everywhere in the water. It was disgusting. However, it was already very late so I decided to give up the jacuzzi and take shower instead. To my surprise, even the shower head was not working, no water came out! No shower! This time we had to inform the front desk - Even we really didn’t want to do that as It was 2am already! We were very tired. Unfortunately no one could fix the shower head. We were switched to another room which was bigger. But who cares, it was just a few hours of sleep before checking out the next day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeme1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLeisentritt, Geschäftsführer at Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear Jeme1211,

We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided.

Maintaining a fresh and clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority. On behalf of the entire team at Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection, I sincerely apologize for falling short of not only meeting your expectations, but ours as well. Rest assured, the feedback provided will be shared with the appropriate hotel team to ensure we consistently deliver upon guest expectations.

As a valued guest, thank you for choosing us to accommodate you during your travels. We hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you back to Dresden!

Best regards,

Florian Leisentritt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews