We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa, cramped room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

An old traditional hotel in a run down area of the new city. The walk into town was pleasant across the bridge.Terrific spa, adequate plus breakfast, wonderful treats always available in the lobby, mixed experience with staff.

Room Tip: Be sure to have a garden side room, othewise the noise will be continuous from a busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

Although a little worn, the hotel was nice, with lots of little local shops around, and quick access to the tram. We spent most of our time in the Altmarkt Christmas Market, so we didn't investigate this side of the river much, other than visiting the nearby Martin Luther church, and the Pfunds Molkerei (a famous milk store). Our room was on the top floor and was a bit small because of the sloped roof.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 140+ (top floor) might have a sloped roof/ceiling limiting the amount of room space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Nice quiet and spacious room in the back yard, excellent pool and sauna and best of all: The breakfast!!! Forget about dinner, save the appetite for this breakfast!

Free public car park available in short walking distance.

Absolutely a good recommendation for both, those who want to drink through the night in the Neustandt and those who want to sightsee!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lottbekkoppeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Large and comfortable room with view on a courtyard. Pool and steam rooms very nice. Huge breakfast selection. Helpful staff. Outside streets look sketchy, but not really a problem at all.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room--very pleasant and quiet.. Parking available on advance request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSS009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Neustadt area of Dresden is over-run with graffiti and looks a bit intimidating when you first arrive. The Hotel Rothenberger Hof is in the Neustadt, but a 15 minute walk to the Altstadt and right on the #13 trolley line. We loved the apartment, the pool is fantastic and the innards of the hotel are actually quite quiet and peaceful. The staff was terrific and free breakfast outstanding.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momuv3cuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed for five days and found the hotel perfect for our needs. The location is very close to trolley service which makes exploring inexpensive and convenient. There are little eatting places in the neighborhood . A street away seems to be an area where young people enjoy a drink or two at outdoor cafes, but they are not roudy and we felt perfectly safe. We had a quiet, modern room facing the courtyard in the back. The airconditioner wasn't as forceful as we are used to at home, but we found that to be true in stores, restaurants, etc. throughout Dresden. The breakfast is included in room cost and is outstanding. There is also a free snack area in the lobby with coffee, tea, cookies, cake and the like which is available all day. We would certainly stay here again and feel you too will find the accomodations to your liking.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rock37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

When we first arrived we got scared, because from the outside it looks like an apartment building rather than a luxurious hotel and we even had to carry our suitcase and baby carriage up a few stairs. However, the first looks were deceiving. The hotel was very cozy and comfortable and the service great. We asked for a little baby bed since our infant baby was coming with us and they gave us a two-room suite at no extra charge! It even had a little kitchenette!

The swimming pool was built next to the building, so you access it from the basement. It was much warmer than at most hotels, which added to its comfort. We also loved sitting at the smoke-free lounge in the afternoons, were sitting in old-style couches or arm chairs we could relax with cakes and coffee or tea. The breakfest buffet was also very good.

The only negative side was that at first it was hard to find restaurants in the area (although later we discovered a street a few streets away that had plenty) and that one night there were loud concerts and discos on the street. but that was nothing the hotel could have done about that.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rattvik90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#23 of 118 in Dresden
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maritim Hotel Dresden
#10 of 118 in Dresden
680 reviews
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothenburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothenburger Hof

Address: Rothenburger Str. 15 - 17, 01099 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: $96 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rothenburger Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional and family run hotel "Rothenburger Hof" is part of the government area of Dresden, called "Neustadt". It is about one kilometre to walk through the pedestrian precinct “Hauptstraße” to the historical city centre with the Semper Opera House, Hofkirche (Catholic Court Chapel) or Zwinger. Our newly renovated house contains 26 double rooms, which can also be used as single rooms. All rooms are very comfortable equipped with a bathroom en suite, flat screen television, radio, minibar and some with balcony. For longstayer and business-travellers we offer fourteen hotel-appartements of different sizes with kitchen.Guests have the possibility to relax in the spa area with sauna, steam bath, gym, indoor swimming pool and other facilities. Besides we have children’s playground. Enjoy saxonian beer, wine and dishes in hotel’s restaurant “Saxonian’s”.Close to the hotel trams start to all directions of Dresden and there are only a few stations to the historical and exhibition centre. For more information we ask you to check out our homepage. There you will find some more proposals what to do in Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rothenburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothenburger Hof Hotel
Rothenburger Hof Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing