We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Budget Dresden City(Dresden)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bulow Palais(Dresden)
US$137
US$126
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
US$75
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH Dresden Neustadt(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Dresden Bastei(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham Garden Dresden(Dresden)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
125
66
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
66
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscavalier housegreat propertythe riverwedding weekendfairy talebreakfast was amazingtram systemcommon areasfitness centerking bedair conditioningbreakfast buffetold towncastleelbewifihaus
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 223 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

The castle is very nice, the park surrounding is beautiful, the renovation is modern, linear and not luxurious, but the effect is great.
We slept in the dependence, the kavalier haus , surrounded by the trees of the park , recently refurbished in a modern and simple way, clean and efficient. You won't feel the atmosphere of the castle there, but you will enjoy it at breakfast or dinner, served in the castle's large and spacious dining room.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michele_The_Cix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of the Hotel Schloss Eckberg. We are delighted to hear, that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and particularly liked your restaurant and the castle park.

It would be our great pleasure welcoming you back once again as our guest.

With best regards
Hotel Schloss Eckberg

Your hosts
Thomas and Odett Gaier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

First of all: be sure your room is located in the castle, not in the other building, otherwise you don't have the entire experience of sleeping in a castle.
Yes, it costs twice the price, but if you want to travel on a budget you can pick other hotel. Also have breakfast at the castle, not cheap but unique.
The service is not good, at least we did not have a ride with the golf cars eventhough we had two big luggages and was raining at check in time. So we dragged our luggages for almost 1 kilometer, one of the wheels of my luggage broke so I had to lift around 30 kilos for half kilometer.
The staff at the castle only showed up to help carry the bags stairs up - to get the tips, probably - which we declined because we had all the trouble to ourselves so far and some steps would be a peace of cake.
The room 401 is great and has a view of the Elba River, but does not have wifi.
We complained about the lack of wifi and reception lady said we should surf the web from the common areas because in the room there will not be wifi signal.
Last but not least, they have a beautiful Mercedes with stickers of the hotel and the expression "shuttle car" but there is no driver for that service, but they called the cab for us.
Despite the issues narrated above we really enjoy and recommend the Eckberg Castle Hotel, but they must improve service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank g-cardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Dear Mr Cardozo,

Thank you very much for your review of the Hotel Schloss Eckberg. The feedback of our guests is always very important to us, because we are constantly striving to improve ourselves.

We are sorry to hear that you had to had to lift your luggage all the way up to our castle, because the wheels broke. Our staff at the restaurant is always happy to help with the luggage and if possible we try to shuttle our guests, who travel without a car, to the castle. However we cannot permanently offer this service depending on the amount of hotel staff we have to our disposal. We ask for your understanding regarding this matter. Rest assured our staff constantly has the best interest of our guests at heart and does not offer their services just to get tips.

Regarding the wifi we are already working on a better solution, however due to monumental protection reasons it will still require some work and time to improve the signal all over the hotel rooms.

The shuttle service can be used by all our guests. Herefore it is necessary to request the service well beforehand, because the driver is not availabe 24/7. Of course our staff at reception is always happy to assist and call a taxi for you if the shuttle is not available.

Dear Mr Cardozo, we are happy that, despite the stated issues, you still enjoyed your stay with us and it would be our pleasure welcoming you once again as our guest and show you a better side of us.

With best regards
Hotel Schloss Eckberg

Your hosts
Thomas and Odett Gaier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

The Schloß Eckberg is a beautiful facility. My room was in the Schloß itself - a large, comfy, spruce, modern room in a 19th century German chateau. The grounds are meticulously maintained, with beautiful gardens and walkways through the woods to the Elbe. The restaurant is sophisticated and relaxed, featuring local produce (last week, chanterelles then pumpkins). The small conference facility is light-filled and the service is exemplary.

Room Tip: The castle rooms are each unique and lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Dear Bill R.,

Thank you very much for your more than kind words. We are constantly striving to offer our guests the best service and comfort during their stay and therefore we are truly happy to read, that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments have already been forwarded to our entire hotel staff and it would be a great pleasure welcoming you back as our guest sometime soon.

With best regards
Hotel Schloss Eckberg

Your hosts
Thomas and Odett Gaier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

If you are looking to stay at a unique quiet place outside Dresden, then look no further. The tram no 11 takes about 15 mins into the centre of Dresden and runs frequently. Stops near to the hotel.

Breakfast is an extra 18 euros per person per night and is taken in the castle dining room. Lovely views of the river Elbe and Dresden from here. Breakfast could be improved with a wider selection of fresh fruit.

We stayed in the building near the gatehouse which was lovely. The room was modern and had a small balcony with two chairs overlooking the grounds. 5 mins walk to the castle for breakfast. The bathroom was small but well appointed with a good use of mirrors to give the illusion of more space. Some hand soap would have been nice. Lucky I had some with me. Tea/coffee in the room would be nice too. The beds were comfy. Two singles pushed together with individual duvet set. A bedspread and a couple of cushions would make the room look more finished, but maybe I'm just being picky.

Had an evening meal one night at the castle. Staff friendly, but service slow due to a wedding. Food very nice. Treated to a wonderful firework display courtesy of the wedding which was lovely.

There is ample free parking. Would recommend overall. An enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room with a small balcony
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dreaminofnextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSchlossEckberg, Geschäftsführer at Schloss Eckberg, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of the Hotel Schloss Eckberg. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Dresden and in our hotel. Your annotations regarding our breakfast buffet and the hotel rooms have been noted and will be taken into consideration in our next meetings.

We are pleased to hear you could benefit from the wedding celebrations that took place in our hotel, during your stay. A firework display while overlooking the Elbe river surely is something special.

It would be our honor, welcoming you once again as our guest. Until then we remain,

With best regards
Hotel Schloss Eckberg

Your hosts
Thomas and Odett Gaier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews