We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”
Review of cityherberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
cityherberge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Mixed review of this. The staff were rather brusque and not forthcoming, didn't even provide information about breakfast or wifi. In what seemed like it had to be a twisted parody of German stereotypes, we had to sit in the lobby for ten minutes waiting for official check-in time even though the room was obviously ready - then we were forgotten for an additional 20 minutes as other guests arrived and kept the staff busy.

Our room was clean and comfortable, though on the small side. Bathrooms were great, although it is bizarre (and gross) that hand soap isn't provided. Breakfast was good, but we were stuck eating at the same time as a large school group one day with a long wait and not enough seating.

It was cheap, but I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ylimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for one night and were impressed wth the location, cleanliness and breakfast. Location is great, easy walking distance from station, old town and trams. Room was comfortable, the toilets and showers a bit of a trek down the corridor but were v clean. V good stanard for a hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hostel must have a policy not to check guests in early even if the rooms are ready. We arrived about an hour prior to check in time and had to store our luggage.
The staff at the checkin desk were very clinical, just doing a job! No smiles, no information given regarding the hostel apart from breakfast times and check out times. We had to ask for internet password. No information given about use of kitchen.
When we arrived to our room, it smelt like animal urine. Luckily I carry my own antiseptic spray and once I sprayed the carpet, curtains and bedding it smelt ok. There was no air circulation unless one of the very large windows were opened and it opened inwards and in with it came flys and noise.
We had a communal bathroom just across the hall and I was horrified to see there was nothing supplied to wash hands with after using the toilet. I understand if liquid soap is supplied then it will be used for people to shower with, but what about some alcohol? There were lots of young adults there when we were there so it was very noisy.
The breakfast food was covered in flies every morning, disgusting!!
The location was good, just a short walk to the centre of Dresden and the local train network.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caramellokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

free wifi, very clean, extremely centrally located, abundant showers. only complaint is that the light in the hallway remain on all night and bathrooms are located far from the room, so if you need to use the loo in the middle of the night it is not the optimal conditions. also, there were flies in the room if the window was left open for even a few minutes. screens would solve that problem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJM1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed for 2 nights during Juli to visit Masonry Conference. The hostel is perfectly situated just a couple of minutes walk from the main square. There are numerous restaurants and bars nearby. The room wascomfortable and clean. Lovely, very clean bathroom and shower.The choice and quality of breakfast was perfect. All of the staff we experienced were polite, friendly and helpful.
Hostel was excellent and I would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights and the hotel is alright, it is located within walkable distance from Dresden Central Railway Station and to all tourist attractions in the inner city centre. The hotel was build in a former GDR company building, I believe in one of Robotron blocks, and still has East German massive windows that allow plenty of sunlight, the "hostel" rooms are quite spacious, some of them ensuite (in the morning I got into some empty rooms to see). I stayed in a room without bathroom, the room was alright, but smelled a bit old and I think it should be refurbished, it has enough space to fit a bathroom inside it. The bed quality was average and I could sleep properly. The commom bathroom was not busy at all, it was quiet weekend, it might be a problem if the hostel is full. The "hostel" rooms only have bed and some furniture, TV can be requested at the reception. The lobby of the hotel is modern and they have a "hotel" section, which I did not manage to see, but I believe the rooms should be good, but then you almost pay double price for them. Their website advertises Free Wireless Internet, it is true, is provided by a public access point full of advertisement, but it does not work in the rooms, I had to bring my laptop down to the ground floor to acces it. The breakfast offered by the hotel is quite good, it is served in the neighbouring building and I recommend. The staff is not very friendly, I arrived at about 14:00, the lady allowed me to check-in, but made me wait for the room key until 15:00 (check-in and check-out times are not advertised on their Website), the room was obviously ready when I arrived, so making someone waiting makes absolutely no sense. These companies should be customer focused, we (customers) pay their wages after all. I only recommend the hostel/hotel for up to 2 nights, since it does not have a home atmosphere. If you stay out all day and only make use of the room to sleep and do not mind sharing a bathroom, then the hostel is perfect for you. If you usually stay in the room for most of the time, then you better go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisboa100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The only good thing was the rooms were neat and clean...
The hotel or hostel was almost empty, yet the staff didnt accomodate us even whn we reached barely a hour early.. Plus they lied to us abt the check-in time..we had to drag our bags in some eerie room in the basement..
Also, the other day..we asked them to call a cab.. and they didnot do it fr half hour and later also wont apologise..and we had to run to catch our train...
It seems the staff was not fit fr this job, as being helpful or even giving infomation abt the city was not their practice.. They were very rude, racist and arrogant, tht it spoiled our day at such a friendly city.
I wld not even recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babesruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#25 of 118 in Dresden
475 reviews
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
864 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dresden Hotel
#16 of 118 in Dresden
2,055 reviews
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#17 of 118 in Dresden
1,625 reviews
Ibis Dresden Bastei
#32 of 118 in Dresden
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to cityherberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about cityherberge

Address: Lingnerallee 3, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Dresden
Price Range: $67 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — cityherberge 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your cityherberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Herberge Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing