We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel defines inhospitabilty..”
Review of cityherberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
cityherberge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The only good thing was the rooms were neat and clean...
The hotel or hostel was almost empty, yet the staff didnt accomodate us even whn we reached barely a hour early.. Plus they lied to us abt the check-in time..we had to drag our bags in some eerie room in the basement..
Also, the other day..we asked them to call a cab.. and they didnot do it fr half hour and later also wont apologise..and we had to run to catch our train...
It seems the staff was not fit fr this job, as being helpful or even giving infomation abt the city was not their practice.. They were very rude, racist and arrogant, tht it spoiled our day at such a friendly city.
I wld not even recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babesruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2009

I stayed at the hotel 2 days. 4 th floor: Internet WI-FI did not function in the room and I had to go downstairs every time I needed to connect. But even downstairs Internet worked only from time to time!
Gym was always closed!
When leaving their payment machine wouldn't function. I had to pay cash. To my great surprise, when coming back home, I discovered that my bank account had been charged!!! I waited for the reimbursment for more than 1 month. During this period, the hotel management reluctuntly replied to my emails. I had to go to my Bank and even to Police (in France) to get the hotel management moving.
I stronly DO NOT recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odigorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

When we booked at City Herberge Hotel,we expected a hotel however this is a youth hostel.The pictures on the website and the invoice both give the impression this is a modern hotel and its not.The hotel looks like it is undergoing some refurbishment from the 1st floor up and unfortunatly for us we were staying on the 4th floor which was badly in need of redecorating!.The heating didnt work and it was frrezing,our room looked like it had been an office complete with strip lighting and floor to ceiling wadrobes.We were right next to the lift and it was very noisy.The shared bathroom was very clean and close to our room.The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and this place is ideal in terms of location -about a 5 min walk from the old town.If you go knowing what to expect (Youth hostel standards) then this place is ok.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Very clean place with basic accommodation and services. Awesome breakfast!!!! You will not be hungry for a while. Great location near the center of this beautiful city. 5 min away from the old town. even though the bathroom was shared, it was super clean.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Gute Lage, grosses und sauberes Zimmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paaaaul2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveller_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
AZIMUT Hotel Dresden
#23 of 118 in Dresden
472 reviews
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#16 of 118 in Dresden
1,605 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dresden Neustadt
#12 of 118 in Dresden
854 reviews
Ibis Dresden Bastei
#33 of 118 in Dresden
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to cityherberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about cityherberge

Address: Lingnerallee 3, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Dresden
Price Range: $65 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — cityherberge 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your cityherberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Herberge Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing