We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$142
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
73
99
64
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
99
64
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground garagestayed for one nightthe rivershipsbalconytravemundefurnituresauna
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 266 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2015

We stayed on the 13th floor which provided a beautiful view of the beach. The rooms are well appointed complete with towelling robe and extra towels for use in the pool and gym.
The hotel is a 10 minute stroll along the promenade to the shops, cafes and ferry terminal. The opposite direction is along the beach to the railway station where it's possible to take a train into Lubeck.
The public areas are well-appointed and the staff ensure that everything is perfectly clean and tidy even to the extent of picking up wind blown paper at 7am. The restaurant on the 35th floor is worth a visit for the panoramic views and the food is good.
3 lifts serve the hotel and all were operational. The receptionists were expert on wifi. Background live music played by a drum and keyboard duo in the bar was ideal.
You need not look any further for a hotel in Travemunde.
Make sure you get an Otsee card from reception which amongst other things, allows free access to the beach.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben.
Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2015

Actually, this hotel is not in Lübeck - but Travemünde (about half an hour driving from Lübeck).

We had a big family room on the corner at 8th floor. We had one comfortable double bed and two extra fold out beds which were not very comfortable.

The atmosphere of the town, beach and ferries passing by on their way to and from Sweden, Latvia and Finland appealed a lot to me. I really managed to relax and enjoy my stay there. Accidentally we happened to be their through the opening weekend of "Travemünder Woche", and there were a lot of people and activity there; activites for children, outdoor disco, temporary market with merchants selling a lot of different things (not crap).

Even though there were an outside disco there, the hotel room was acceptable sound proof (but of course we had to sleep with windows closed).

The hotel room it self was too expensive compared to what we got. With breakfast we paid more than 250 Euro per night, which the room was not worth.

As I already mentioned, the atmosphere and the view was fantastic - but the room was very worn. I got a feeling of being inside the movie "A Clockwork Orange", with a deep dive into luxury of the 70s.

There is a big garage in the basement, going over 2 floors. The garage has it´s own elevator - which has too low capacity, so you have to expect some waiting for that elevator.

We ate dinner one night at the hotel´s restaurant. That was good.
Also, the breakfast is good - but with a high price tag.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing southeast, that will give you view both over the beach, the sea - and towards the city.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evlenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und auch dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, die konstruktive Bewertung mit dem freundlichen Hinweisen abzugeben.
Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

Worn carpets, muffled air in corridors, warm (not hot) food...... A long list of negatives for the price.
The hotel is old and in need of renovation. The staff however were friendly and helpful.
The view fron the balcony was wonderful, and the few meters to the beach another plus point.

Stayed: September 2014
1  Thank Bfpo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und auch dafür, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, die Bewertung abzugeben.
Wir bedauern es sehr, dass Ihr Eindruck von unserem Haus getrübt wurde und möchten Ihnen dazu gern mitteilen, dass in den letzten Jahren umfangreiche Renovierungsmaßnahmen durchgeführt wurden und auch weitere Erneuerungen geplant sind, so dass Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt mit einer Änderung rechnen können.
Sie recht bald wieder als in Gast in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen, würde uns sehr freuen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2015

I stayed for 2 days and one night with a small conference. I had never been to this part of Germany before - it is not easily accessible from the UK. but being with German colleagues made it easy.
Great hotel - very friendly staff and amazing location with views across the bay.
Nice promenade walking too - we were very lucky with the weather.

Room Tip: One with a balcony - not sure if they all have
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HJCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritim_Strandhotel, Manager at Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses möchten wir uns bedanken und freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben.

Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel spontaneously after deciding to drive longer than planned on our way back from Scandinavia. We first went to Timmendorfer Strand, but that place looked too snobby, so we moved on to Travemuende.

Here this hotel isn't hard to spot, because it is very tall (35 floors) and directly at the mouth of the river flowing into the sea. From an architecture point of view, the building is ugly, but it turned out work perfectly for us.

We arriving at about 6 pm and asked for a room for 3 (parents + child). They had about 6 rooms left and offered us a double room with extra bed for a good price. On top they asked us for our favorite drinks and had them delivered to our room which was a very nice gesture. So we went with the offer.

We got a room in the 10th floor overlooking the river mouth and the sea. This was perfect, because this is the ideal spot to watch the big ferries (TT line and Finline) to go by. It is an impressive sight and the low frequency noise of their huge motors is very impressive and in no way disturbing.

Interior wise, the room was fine as well. The bed were good. Internet also ok, but they only offered wired access (30 minutes for free).

We also ate at the ground floor restaurant. The food was very good and arriving on a Saturday, there was also an enormous buffet to choose from. At the same time they also offered a la cart. The specific dietary needs my wife needs were also attended to with all the flexibility that was needed.

Breakfast on the next morning was also at the same place and saying that it was plentiful is gross understatement. They had tons of things including a lot of fish, sausages, cheese, cerials, breads, fruits, hot stuff, tons of juices, sparking wine and so on. Being someone who tends to go for breakfast late, I often see the cleaned plates. But not here, they still had more than enough of everything and given it was a Sunday, you could stay there till noon.

What is also great is that the beach starts directly in front of the house. There is also a big playground nearby which allows the kids to get their needed outlet after hours of driving.

So all in all we had great value for our money. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is that I reserve those for really truly awesome places that blew me away.

Room Tip: From a view point of view, I highly recommend the river side of the hotel. Take a room there. Around the 10th floor is I think a good height, given it provides you with a great perspective on the ferries. Much higher up might be less impressive in that way.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ReviewInProgress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews