We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel With Seaview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We went to Maritim In Travemünde for the first time as a couple. The Hotel is well situated close to the Promenade. We had a room with view of the promenade, beach and sea. It also had a balcony with two chairs. The room we had was average size and the furniture is outdated. However, one had all amenities one would expect in a Maritim Hotel in this category.

The area is quiet although they are currently building high rise buildings beside the Maritim Strand Hotel.

There are two Restaurants, a Pub (Bierstube) and a full cocktail bar.

The personnel were professional and efficient from bierstube (Pub), Reception, bar and breakfast room.

The breakfast room overlooks the sea. The breakfast had both international and German cuisine. The breakfast was excellent. If one wanted sparkling wine was also available.

There is a large parking underground garage at a decent rate.

This hotel has a large indoor heated pool with daylight coming through the wall to wall windows out
Of glass. There are two saunas and a Spa.

We spent two nights at the Hotel and can only recommended. My only con is that the Hotel's rooms and bathrooms need to be renovated and decorated with modern furniture to make it an outstanding hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2016

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at this hotel
It is great value
Staff are very friendly and very helpful
Location is great . We stayed on the 11th floor and had water views . Just beautiful
Breakfast is great
Rooms are very clean and housekeeping daily

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank tessa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 November 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für die gute Bewertung, die Sie unserem Hotel gegeben haben.
Wir freuen uns, dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt bei uns gefallen hat und hoffen, Sie bald wieder in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

For a short stay the hotel is adequate. It has seen better times but is still well maintained and clean. The clients are generally from an older generation and are probably used to such standards. Breakfasts are good but the evening meals are just an average buffet, lacking taste and imagination.
The wellness and beauty area could be improved with the presence of a member of staff. The pool is large but needs a clean (bottom of the pool is full of debris).The treatments are done professionally and all reiki here can be recommend.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 October 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für die Bevorzugung unseres Hauses und dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre Bewertung mit dem freundlichen Hinweis abzugeben. Hilft uns doch die konstruktive Kritik eines Gastes, Schwachstellen in unserem Haus zu erkennen und abzustellen. Für alle Unannehmlichkeiten möchten wir uns bei Ihnen entschuldigen und Ihnen versichern, dass es nicht dem normalen Service unseres Hauses entspricht.
Wir würden uns freuen Sie wieder in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I'm sure this was one of the best places to be in 1976, but 40 years later without any major renovations, the hotel is just terrible compared to what they're charging per night.

The carpets are stained, the bathrooms are old and most other things are just depressing.

The only thing that's still good, is the views, if you get a room with a balcony facing the water.

It's sad really, because this could be a great place if they poured some money into renovating it.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Magnus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 September 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen. Auch wenn wir es bedauern, dass Sie keine besseren Erfahrungen bei uns gemacht haben, hilft uns Ihre Beurteilung dazu zu lernen und uns zu verbessern. Wir arbeiten daran, es unseren Gästen an nichts fehlen zu lassen. Wenn Sie uns die Chance geben, Ihr Vertrauen zurück zu gewinnen, garantieren wir Ihnen, unser Bestes zu geben, damit Sie genauso gute Erfahrungen mit uns machen können, wie andere Gäste.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

The whole ambiance feels luxurious and our room faced the water with a balcony. Room was really comfortable and large with a well appointed bathroom. The breakfast had everything - a variety of cereals, lovely bread, meat, cheeses, fruit and pastries.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fritzmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2016
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,
vielen Dank für die gute Bewertung, die Sie unserem Hotel gegeben haben.
Wir freuen uns, dass Ihnen der Aufenthalt bei uns gefallen hat und hoffen, Sie bald wieder in Travemünde begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Maritim Strandhotel und Kongresszentrum Lübeck-Travemünde
Direktion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We stayed one night at this beach-hotel. The service was great with an attentive staff.
The room was on the 9:th floor with a wonderful view and a private balcony, which we enjoyed both during the day and the evening...
The bed was a bit to hard for me but perfect for my husband.
The room was fresh but a bit outdated (with a "fat TV" and a bit of 80's decor).

We had two meals at the hotel; dinner at the Pub (at the very bottom of the hotel) and breakfast (breakfast buffé in the big diningroom). Both meals were very good!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari_E519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

This hotel is located right on the beach and estuary and therefore the location is great and the views from the rooms where you can watch the various ferries and boats going in and out are great.
However, there were quite a few issues:
1. Parking - the hotel charges 12 euros per night, but literally at the bottom of the hotel entrance is a public car park for 4 euros per 24 hours.
2. Interior - as other reviewers have mentioned the hotel was built in the 60s and it may not have been refurbished since! There is lots of wood panelling and old faded pictures on the wall
3. Tech - when was the last time you saw a 21 inch CRT TV (yes, one of those old big ones!) ? Well they're still here in every room! Surely, the hotel could afford some flat screen TVs with a decent screen size... Also, look out for the old radio which is built into the bedside table which belongs in a museum (even though ours didn't work!)
4. Breakfast - although there was plenty of choice, the scrambled eggs were revolting - like watery eggy jelly - my tip is order fried eggs or omelette instead which are slightly better. Also, watch out if it is busy, as they will open extra parts of the conference room and you will be a mile or two away from the buffet
5. Bars etc - as mentioned by other reviewers, the rooftop bar/restaurant doesn't seem to be often open so in 2 days we were never able to see the view. Also, when arriving back in at 9pm after dinner, there was not a single bar or cafe open in the hotel so nowhere to get a drink - I've never heard of this in a hotel of this size!
6. No tea of coffee facilities in the room and again often nowhere to get a hot drink anywhere else either.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
0.3 km away
Atlantic Grand Hotel Travemuende
0.4 km away
Hotel Strandschloesschen
Hotel Strandschloesschen
#27 of 56 in Lubeck
48 reviews
16.2 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Luebeck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Radisson Blu Senator Hotel
15.6 km away
Holiday Inn Luebeck
Holiday Inn Luebeck
#4 of 56 in Lubeck
393 reviews
0.6 km away
Landhaus Bode
Landhaus Bode
#33 of 56 in Lubeck
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde

Address: Trelleborgallee 2, 23570 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lubeck
#2 Family Hotel in Lubeck
#6 Business Hotel in Lubeck
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lubeck
Price Range: $181 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its prime oceanfront location right at the mouth of the Trave, this fabulous hotel affords guests unparalleled views over the Bay of Lübeck and Mecklenburg. The wide, sandy beach starts at the hotel and entices sunbathing, swimming and leisurely strolls. At 117 metres tall, the maritime illumination atop the hotel makes it one of Europe's highest lighthouses. Enjoy the breathtaking views over the ocean and watch the graceful cruise ships as they leave the Trave to enter the Baltic and vice versa. Speaking of graceful, the historical four-masted steel barque "Passat" is moored across from the hotel. The Baltic is a four season affair - as invigorating in winter as it is relaxing in summer. Business traveller or holidaymaker, its wondrous natural beauty and numerous cultural highlights ensure every stay is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritim Strandhotel Travemunde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Strandhotel lübeck
Maritim Strandhotel Hotel lübeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing