We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
3
1
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
1
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived at this hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood after touring the Wartburg. The room was large, comfortable and clean with updated bathroom. We enjoyed our meal in the charming restaurant and a delicious breakfast. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razreader2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We chose this small family guesthouse as we wanted to stay somewhere homely and German rather than large and institutional. We chose well. We had checked out the hotel website and had laughed at the Google translation of the pages that boasted ‘cheeky, frivolous orgies’ but decided this really meant that the guesthouse was also available for medieval style meals/banquets for groups.
The hotel is located in a quiet (silent) residential area of Eisenach, approx. 1km easy and interesting stroll from the centre of the town and the beginnings of the hikes. There is a supermarket at the end of the road. Car parking for guests is available at the hotel. The hotel is in a small narrow street where people spend time chatting over the garden fence and watching the world from their windows. Our room in the roof space was large, basic, comfortable and impeccably clean. The en-suite shower room was perfect and a better standard than most hotels I have experienced. The shower was VERY powerful. The only reason I have given 'sleep quality' 4 rather than 5 stars was because it was so hot during our stay that sleep quality anywhere could not manage 5 stars! Breakfasts were typically German – fresh rolls, cheese, cold meats, boiled egg, cereal, yogurt and fruit juice. Coffee was in endless supply and tea was plentiful on request. What made the hotel so successful for us was the restaurant. There is a Gastube (pub) on the ground floor of the guesthouse which is used by just a few locals but offers evening meals inside and outside on the sunny terrace. The meals were wholesome and hearty! They are typically German – lots of pork, schnitzel, mushrooms and potato – amongst other options. All hotel guests (and some locals) seemed to choose to eat here.
Staff were smiley, helpful and professional. It was perfect. My German has lain unused for many years and any English from the owners/staff was limited – but fine if talking about the menu.

All in all this was a perfect guesthouse – very German, good value, impeccably clean everywhere, quiet, professional and cheerful.

Room Tip: Tips – take a hairdryer and toiletries. Check the opening days of the restaurant. During our stay it was closed on the Sunday and the following week we noticed the sign changed to say it would also be closed on the Thursday after our departure. I suspect this would be when the hotel would have fewer/no guests, or perhaps when the dining room was booked for a medieval banquet!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bei der Zimmerwahl ist zu sagen, dass es egal ist ob vorne raus oder hinten, da hier nur wenig Fahrverkehr herrscht.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews