We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hospederia del Atalia
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We arrived prior to check in time which was no problem. Not only did we receive a room immediately but we were upgraded to their suite at no charge. This was such a treat at the end of a long trip around Spain. The staff was very nice but in some instances we had to rely on our Spanish as not everyone seemed to speak English. Not an issue for us but could be problematic if we spoke no Spanish. The room was very comfortable and the decor was incredibly charming. The only problem we ran into was the shower. The drain must have been partially clogged because it was draining very slowly and we had to keep turning off the water to keep it from overflowing. I'm sure that we could have asked the staff to fix it but since we were only staying one night it didn't seem worth the trouble. We had breakfast which was fine but very basic. Toast or croissant with yogurt and some average looking fruit. The coffee was a nice treat though. No safe in the room which was a little inconvenient. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel as it was a perfect location right by the Mezquita and the room was very relaxing and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netgrl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    130
    51
    12
    6
See reviews for
48
181
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wagga
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

the hotel is fine and it is in a great location, shower is small noisy and plastic

if it was about half to two thirds of the price (ie in line with every where else we stayed in andalucia) we would not have been unhappy

(in their defence it was a busy weekend, but the hotel is not as flash as it looks on the internet)

Room Tip: get a big discount our stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in the Hospedería del Atalia and we absolutely loved it. The rooms were beautifully decorated, contemporary and very clean. The showers in the rooms were amazing, the beds were extremely comfortable and each rooms had its own heating unit, which was great. The location was ideal, in the center of the Judería and within 2 minutes walking to the Mezquita. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and quick to deal with any problems. A pipe had burst in the lobby, but they were quick to reassure us the it would be taken care of, and it was fixed by the morning.
The only things that I would recommend to future visitors who are visiting for the weekend is to park outside of the Judería. Parking for the hotel is 15€ per day , which is quite expensive (during the week it´s a decent price), in addition to the fact that driving through the streets in the center is practically impossible. So, I´d recommend to find a parking space outside in the blue line area. You can pay for parking on the streets and save a lot of money. Also, the breakfast is 6€, which isn´t bad, but you can always go to a bar around Cordoba and spend around 3€ per person for a whole toast (mollete entero) and coffee. I know it´s not a big saving, but for those pinching pennies, it can be helpful.
Overall, we have zero complaints about the hotel. We would highly recommend it for anyone going to the beautiful city of Córdoba.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leodani21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

POSITIVES : location is good; peaceful but central. Comfortable. Pleasant room.
Near lots of good restaurants.
Good beds, and all very clean. The roof terrace looked very nice, but it was too cold in November to make use of.
We didn't have breakfast, so I can't comment on that.
IRRITATIONS : for 145 euros a night I would expect a hairdryer, safe, fridge, some drawers for underwear etc, a light on or above the desk, enough clothes hangers, and more than one all-purpose shampoo/shower gel and a mini-soap. A full-length mirror would also have been nice, as would one English language TV channel.
Of course it is perfectly possible to manage without all the above, but then the price should reflect what is provided, and what is not.
They appear to have spent a lot of money on fancy showers, and acres of white leather lobby furniture.
Our shower was horrible; ridiculously complicated with internal mirrors, lights and radio, temperamental settings, and made of a nasty white bouncy plastic.
The bathroom was big enough for a bath and walk in shower, so I'm not sure why they chose the tacky shower unit.
When we arrived 2 bedside lightbulbs were not working, and we had only a few mismatched rubbishy hangers. This was rectified quickly upon asking.
Another day we had no toilet paper (for some reason they were mean about topping it up)
and I had to wait for 15 minutes as one harassed-looking receptionist dealt with check-ins, check-outs and other issues, before I got a toilet roll.
They should understand that to look like a "boutique hotel" is not enough; they need to attend to the details before it is worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SylvieNeedleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Just finished a three night stay at Hospederia del Atalia with my mom and sister. The owners are very sweet and hard-working. The hotel is very clean and pleasant. The roof deck is a great place to relax and has a fabulous view of the Mezquita. The breakfast is nicely done - just croissant or toast with coffee and OJ but it was kind of perfect for what we wanted to start the day. They have parking if you just reserve it in advance.

The only reasons I didn't give this 5 stars:

1. Recently in Cordoba they have done a huge amount of roadwork and closed several streets. This made getting to the hotel the kind of nightmare that I can't even fully describe to you. I'm talking about a harrowing drive in circles through streets too narrow for Americans to navigate. in a BMW SUV. Seriously it sucked. However, I will say that the owners spent a long time with me on the phone trying to guide us to the hotel which is how we eventually got there. Once you check in, you won't need your car!

2. There were ants in the room. They were the tiny little ants that you can barely see, but they were there. I did mention it to the owners and I believe they sprayed but it didn't eliminate the problem during our stay and although not a huge deal, for someone else it could be a dealbreaker. They probably would've given us another room but I had already bought too much to move LOL.

A couple of other words to the wise - leather is cheaper here than in Seville (so far).

The Mezquita has a 9:30am mass on Fridays - no fee for admission and you can hear the priests sing the mass, accompanied by the enormous pipe organ. If you go, please be respectful and don't take photos during the very formal mass (about 40 minutes long).

The restaurant Rafae directly across from the hotel is yummy :)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We were impressed by how new the hotel looks and how cute it is. It's a mix of Andalusian-modern design and it is fully equipped with modern facilities. The room size is ok for a small town like Cordoba. The terrace has a fantastic view of the Mezquita at night (do tell the owner before going up to take a drink as the bar is not always opened), as the Mezquita is just about 5 minutes walk away.

The only thing we didn't like was how hard it was to get to this hotel but it's not the hotel's fault, the Cordoba city changed the directions of the streets in the old town. So if you are driving there and couldn't find it on your GPS, put in 'Calle Eduardo Dato' then head there. Once you get there, go along Calle Perez de Castro until Plaza Pineda. Then you will see a stop sign saying "only residents allowed" go straight through the street with the sign (ignore the sign). You will reach Calle Valladeores (?) and then Calle el Buen Pastor. On your left hand side is the black grills of the hotel's garage.

We were confused about the hotel giving us a twin bedroom though but since they couldn't upgrade us, we didn't mind and it was a good sleep for both of us.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pimientas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We only spent one night here but we were delighted with the personal service accorded to us. The owners really make every effort to ensure ones stay is a happy one and that the room meets every requirement. They treated us to a bottle of champagne (and chocs!) on the terrace on Sunday morning, went to gt trouble to show us how to get out of Cordoba and on to Seville road from the hotel garage, recommended places to visit and were utterly charming. I would have no hesitation in recommmending this hotel to anyone and we'd stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverreed2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
0.3 km away
Las Casas de La Juderia
0.3 km away
Hacienda Posada de Vallina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
NH Collection Amistad Cordoba
0.1 km away
Hotel La Llave de la Juderia
0.2 km away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#31 of 65 in Cordoba
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia del Atalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia del Atalia

Property: Hospederia del Atalia
Address: Calle Buen Pastor 19, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospederia del Atalia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular new hotel in the Cordoba´s Jewish Quarter, opened on May 1, 2010.Exquisite decoration and personal attention.Parking on request.The best terrace overlooking the Mosque of Cordoba, where you can dine or enjoy a drink. Mtb and road bike tours leaded and developed by the Giro d´Italia´s winner Pavel Tonkov.Iberian Ham Route in Los Pedroches´ Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hospederia del Atalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing