We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marisa
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Malaga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic but very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

We checked into the hotel on a Saturday morning, as we had to move from our other hotel "Lineros 38" (which was very bad and the bed was awful). The owner was at the desk and he had rooms free, The room looked right onto the Mezquita and was very simple but large. The staff were very friendly, nothing was a problem and we felt very welcome. The bathroom was large, and had a bath, and plenty of hot water. For 40Euros per night it was great value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanishfoodjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    49
    32
    13
    12
See reviews for
21
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So. Calif.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We also agree with Frommers, the Marisa is a great bargain. It's a very cute and old hotel right in the center of the tourist activities of the old part of Cordoba. Our air conditioning was adequate and we were there during a heat wave. It was basic, reasonably comfortable and clean. This is for those who want cute and a flavor of old Spain. If you want a five star hotel with all modern conveniences, you won't be happy here but we liked it.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nosehair777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Marisa, and overall felt it was good value for money, and would recommend it to others for a long weekend city break in this lovely city. The service was courteous and the staff were very helpful in providing an early breakfast for us on our day of departure and early morning wake-up calls. The location right next to the Mesquita and the restaurants and tapas bars was excellent. The rooms and hotel was attractively furnished and clean, with toiletries and towels provided, although no hairdryer or air conditioning (presumably too early in the season, although we would have appreciated air-con at night). The breakfast is very limited with coffee/oj and bread/pastries, but was sufficient as we were only there for 4 nights. The Mesquita bells start at about 7am, although we sort of got used to them, and they add to the atmosphere of the place! I recommend asking for a room facing the pretty patio at the back for a quieter room away from the street. Would recommend Bodegas Mesquita round the corner in Calle Cespedes (they have another restaurant on the southern side of the Mesquita) for tapas and supper - very good value for excellent food, and would also recommend the wonderful little Teteria Al Khayma (tea room) opposite for a lazy afternoon cup of tea.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashbee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

hotel was nothing special, basic eveything, little rooms, but the area was great right across from mezquita almost could reach out and touch it, lol, staff spoke no english and our spanish is very little, but it all worked out good.overall you pay for the location, great spot and not expensive

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaicaherewecome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2006

I stayed in a single room at the Hotel Marisa, paid only 47 euros without breakfast. The room is spartan, no extras whatsoever, but it is clean, a decent size, and the air conditioning worked while I was there. It was however extremely noisy at night, with people talking and laughing outside the window till 2 AM and delivery trucks starting up at 6 AM. I wasn't bothered by bells. But with it's fantastic location right next to the cathedral and all the restaurants, any hotel would suffer the same noise problems unless they put in double glazed windows. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cordoba hotels

Bristol, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Marisa on 29 and 30 September 2005.
After staying in the wonderful 2 star Hotel Amadeus in Seville, we were disappointed to find much lower standard in this hotel of the same grade. Admittedly the location is wonderful if you want to be in the middle of the historic district, as it is right opposite the Mesquita, but the downside is the noise. It is not so much pedestrian noise, as that quietens down after midnight, but the Spanish seem to think nothing of honking their horns or revving up at all hours of the night, and the rubbish collection obviously takes place every night at about 4am, with the attendant racket. We asked to be moved to a room at the back but were told there were none available thought the hotel didn't appear to be busy.

Almost as bad is the heat. We've been told that Cordoba is known as the frying pan of Spain, so we made sure there was a/c when we booked, but this just consisted of a vent high on the wall which seemed to be issuing slightly cooler air when you stood on a chair and held your hand against it, but you certainly couldn't feel it from the bed! We complained after the first night and they said they would turn the temperature down, and they did - about half a degree. What it must be like in August I dread to think.

The room was very basic with no hairdryer, safe, fridge or even any toiletries.

Cordoba is a wonderful city though, and the Mezquita is just amazing. One place we absolutely loved was the little Teteria Al Khayma(tea room) just round the corner in Calle Cespedes. You can laze on cushions and choose from an amazing range of teas and even have a go on a bubble pipe!

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2005

We stayed 3 nights here. Booked on internet. What a fantastic location right across the road from the Mosque. Friendly and helpful staff. They let us keep our car in the parking well after the time with no extra charge - it gave us an extra half day in this wonderful city The owner was a bit sharp but not in any way a problem). Has its own convenient (25 metres away)parking which is essential- 12 euros a day. Very basic breakfast. We had a front room which was a bit noisy in the evenings but no problem at all through the night. Beds not brilliant. Bathroom window looked over mosque, so I could see this famous building whilst washing my hair!! Unlike other reviewer we found the bells charming and they added to the experience. If you like to sleep late - take ear plugs! Also, go to the Flamenco show which is 3 minutes walk away. Superb.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordoba hotels
0.1 km away
Los Omeyas Hotel
Los Omeyas Hotel
#40 of 70 in Cordoba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Gonzalez
Hotel Gonzalez
#41 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Albucasis
Hotel Albucasis
#50 of 70 in Cordoba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Mezquita
Hotel Mezquita
#30 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Los Patios
Hotel Los Patios
#39 of 70 in Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Cordoba Carpe Diem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marisa

Property: Hotel Marisa
Address: Calle Cardenal Herrero 6, 14003 Cordoba, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marisa 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Marisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marisa Hotel córdoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing