We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed holiday destination”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Home from Home

Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
View from terrace
Samsung Smart TV, Android internet, Iphone docking station
Wifi
Dining Table can seat up to 6
Fully equipped kitchen washing machine, dishwasher, microwave
Kitchen
Kitchen
South facing terrace for all day sunbathing or great for entertaining
Terrace
Terrace
Terrace
View from terrace
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom ensuite master bedroom
Bathroom ensuite master bedroom
Bathroom ensuite master bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Second pool
The Second pool
The Second pool
The Second pool
The Second pool
The Second pool
The Second pool
Views from the balcony across the gardens and pool.
Street
Street
Street
Golf and Country club
Golf and Country club
Golf Course
La Resina golf club
Garden
Garden
Garden
Selwo residents
Laguna Village - great for restaurants and shopping complex close to La Resina.
Puro Beach at Laguna Village, great for day or night.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Estepona, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Happiness...
1 review
“Relaxed holiday destination”
Reviewed February 17, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The apartment was spacious and well furnished with all the items that we needed for a relaxed fortnight away in the sun. The patio was large enough for a dining table and relaxing settee and the views of the sea are wonder. Equally lovely is the view of the mountains from the front entrance to the apartment.

You do need a car, but the beaches, walks and restaurants are easily reached and Estepona with it's large hypermarket is only a few minutes away.

We would certainly book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it’s was a pleasure to have you stay and you are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and choosing to stay at Home from Home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dismaniri...
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant apartment; unco-operative owner”
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had stayed at a large villa in Puerto del Capitán for the first week, and downsized to this apartment after the departure of most of our family who came for a major celebration. The apartment complex was as depicted, but upon arrival, we were disappointed to find the apartment itself improperly cleaned. The first piece of equipment we tried to use was a vintage Zanussi vacuum cleaner, which had first to have accumulated hair, dust and fluff removed from the filter area (no HEPA filter was fitted). Despite this it had all the suction power of an anteater.

The vacuum cleaner was found in the water heater cabinet in the kitchen, where we found the power socket torn out of the wall, exposing live wires. This was reported immediately, but no repair was undertaken during our stay.

We had brought a full stock of groceries from our previous rental, which was as well, as very little in the way of a welcome pack was in the kitchen upon arrival.

Over the days that followed we made discovery after disappointing discovery. The parasol on the terrace was broken, and although the owner and property manager had known about it, it was not replaced prior to our arrival. This meant that the terrace was unusable for meals during the day, as the parasol would have been the only shade available. Many other apartments were equipped with awnings, but not this one. After ten days a replacement was brought by the property manager, but the stem did not fit the base and it proved to be much more effective as a kite than a parasol. After three recoveries from the gardens below, we decided to keep the thing furled.

Three power points in the living/dining room area were managed by a single wall switch, if the table lamps were off, so was your laptop charger. The ceiling lamp above the dining table was reported unserviceable on day one, and never fixed.

The coffee machine was unusable, and was not the espresso machine depicted in the website photographs. The dishwasher was unserviceable, as the upper rotor had been broken off and lay in the machine drawer. This was reported on the first day, and finally repaired after 12 days. We did not appreciate the additional chore of washing dishes and pans by hand for half our holiday. On the positive side, the fridge/freezer and hob and oven were both effective.

The master bedroom was equipped with a table fan, which was necessary, since the air-conditioning would only operate for periods of two hours at a time, after which one had to physically reset the timer in the entrance hall. As a good night’s sleep is usually 8 hours, this would mean getting up 2 times during the night to reset the timer. How ludicrous!

The bathrooms were in order, but the Valadares handbasin design meant they had to be wiped clean after every use, as they drained so poorly. Also unexpected, if unimportant, was the absence of toilet roll holders/dispensers.

The guest bathroom suffered from periodic sewage smells being vented through the floor drain. The owner assured us that this only happened in windy conditions!

The television and the WiFi did everything they were supposed to do, but the sofa set in the living room sags in the middle, and is covered with dust attracting woolly cushions. The shaggy pale brown "flokati" was impossible to clean with the supplied vacuum cleaner. We made use of the charcoal barbecue once, as no barbecue tools were available. The corkscrew provided was also broken, so we replaced it.

The owner "forgot" to inform us about the construction site in front of the apartment, but it fortunately operates relatively quietly. However, the contractors periodically blocked off the most direct access to the block, necessitating a longer diversion.

The car park in the basement garage is the last space on the left. Not the easiest manoeuvre, so best hire a very small car.

Having prepaid the rental several months prior to check-in we found the owner to be somewhat unhelpful and unresponsive to legitimate issues with the apartment which were identified on arrival.

The owner has to-date refused to return our deposit, claiming that the apartment has to be fumigated because we smoked inside. I would suggest the apartment has not been cleaned properly prior to our stay. She was also notified by us that we were smokers, and confirmed no objection to smoking on the terrace. She is relying on hearsay evidence and has not been to the apartment herself after we left it.

There are better value rentals out there. My brother rented the apartment two doors away at far lower cost per night. He and his wife found things exactly as advertised, and when they had to depart early, they even received a refund on their unused days, and a discount on any future stay. (They also smoked on the terrace).

Interestingly the property manager of my brother's rental apartment had previously worked for our owner. Therein may lie a tale.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
Following many years of renting our holiday home without problems these individuals have cast serious doubt on continuing.
We were contacted by neighbours of our apartment two days into the rental to complain that the guests (all four) were chain smoking both on the balcony and in the apartment. This together with soiled bed sheets (which had to be thrown away) has resulted in a cleaning bill of 230 euro. Our personal standards and previous renters reviews adequately demonstrate the calibre of these people. The "ladies" brother rented from a neighbour over the same period and complained so much they were asked to leave 3 days earlier. There is simply not enough space to respond appropriately and the greatest disappointment is that they received their deposit back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktgoodwoo...
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We recently had a 2 week family vacation and couldn't have asked for a better and more relaxing stay. The apartment was beautiful and there was everything we needed to enjoy our stay, includingvtoiletries, a well stocked kitchen and chilled water for our arrival. Both the owner Fiona and local Rep Maria were easily contactable and helpful. You do need a car if you want to get about but we normally hire a car for sightseeing anyway, and we were able to enjoy plenty of space, sun beds and relaxation by the pool which you wouldn't get in a more central location. However, as a base it's great for visiting most places in the area. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetc0ll...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Immaculate apartment in pretty, quiet location near the sea”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Great facilities. Very comfortable. Great views,
Gorgeous terrace
Great Kitchen
Simply lovely!
And we enjoyed our jogs around the neighbourhood, and our walks around the god course

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvette S
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a fabulous holiday”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Spent the last two weeks of June in this apartment, two adults and one teenager and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It took us about an hour from Malaga airport to get there and the directions were so good we found it first time (not the norm for us). It is set on the hillside in a quiet residential development about a ten minute drive from Estepona so a car is a must (underground secure car park kept your car cool).. The apartment is a good size and well equipped with everything you need for a great holiday. The gardens are well maintained and there are three pools, as it was quiet time we sometimes had the pool to ourselves but it was never over crowded.. The balcony is a really good size, with great views and has a barbecue so some nights we ate in. Love this area particularly Estepona, Marbella Old Quarter and Malaga. From start to finish this was a great holiday from the ease of corresponding with Fiona (the owner) before and after our stay, to Stacey meeting us when we arrived and showing us around.. Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large balcony
Liked least: the hedge trimmer happy gardeners
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review its always a chore after the event.
Glad you enjoyed your stay the area around the apartment has come on amazingly in the last two years with more facilities planned & you're more than welcome to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelbun...
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We received a warm greeting from English couple; Stacey and Mike. Firstly the apartment is lovely and well-maintained. It has an outdoor space (balcony) with is suitable for al fresco dining and barbecues. As part of a complex, there is also a great view and access to facilities including 3 swimming pools and gardens. The location is quiet and tranquil making it suitable for a variety of travellers - couples or families. It is remote so a car is a must. I would recommend a trip to Selwo safari park which is close by.
The things that could have been improved are the touches that make a stay that much more comfortable. It would have been handy to have basic amenities such as hand wash, washing powder, spare dishwasher tablets, additional loo roll etc. This is quite a lot to buy for a short trip meaning that we had to leave most of what we purchased behind.
We did not see a welcome guide and magazines that a previous reviewer had mentioned!
After arriving after 10pm with an 18 month old toddler, it would have been great to have basic supplies such as milk and bread. We had to drive around looking for food with an overtired child in an area that we were unfamiliar with. It would also have been nice if the cot was put up and ready for us too. Not major issues but just things that enhance overall hospitality.

We did enjoy our stay and would like to thank Fiona for the use of her apartment.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thank you leaving your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
With the apartment being self catering the standard practice adopted by the Management company is to supply one toilet roll per bathroom and a few dishwasher tablets to get you going, in addition to this there is a supply of hand wash soaps, etc In the spare bedroom.
All the guides and magazines had been placed in the drawers, we will leave them out in future.
I have been informed that the cot was not put up prior to your arrival as the management team were not sure which room you wanted it placed in, going forward this is something we will be asking as we hadn't thought about it.
Feedback is very important to us and enables us to make a stay at 'Home from home' a comfortable and relaxing holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing