We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“In the right place and does its job” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goartin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Goartin
Ranked #41 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“In the right place and does its job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

I flew into Malaga late one evening. Got the train into the city. Walked to the hotel (about 10 mins), which I'd booked in advance for 39 euros. Room was very clean but, unfortunately, smelled of cigarette smoke. Went for dinner - plenty of choice in the area, all seemingly very economical. In the morning I walked to the bus station (again, about 10 mins) and started my short holiday. Overall: perfect for what I needed, apart from the smokiness.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    51
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
42
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Very good location - close to bus and railway stations, not too far from the centre. Very helpful, smiling and friendly staff. Our room was with a terrace, very nice and comfortable. Clean room and bathroom with enough space. Very good price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

I decided to stay at this hotel because I needed somewhere to stay overnight as my flight came in late and my bus wasn´t till the next day and this hotel was perfect! You can easily get the bus from the airport to the bus station and walk to the hotel. It takes 5 to 10 min or a taxi costs around 5/6 euros. The room was clean and comfortable and there was free wifi. Only problem was that it was quite noisy at night so if you are a light sleeper ask for an interior room. The hotel is a 20 to 30 minute walk from all the main sights in Málaga but well worth the convenience of being near the bus station. The staff were very friendly and showed me where everything was and let me leave my luggage there whilst I explored Málaga.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polydora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilterns
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

Small modern very clean family hotel close to both bus and rail station. If using the train from the airport make sure you get off at Maria Zambrano as Malaga central has now re-opened. The old town is about 20/25 mintes walk through a busy commercial area but a taxi is about 5 euros. Front rooms may experience street noise so go for a double with a patio at 50 Euros. Hotel does not provide breakfast but there is an excellent cafe nearby- La Canasta at the junction of Clle Santa Teresa and Clle Aurora - speaking a bit of Spanish helps here. The hotel receptionist Irene was very helpful and spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HectorMacduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We only stayed one night - we flew into Malaga airport, caught the Cercanía train to the station María Zambrano (NOT the more central station in Malaga, which was closed anyway due to works) and walked maybe 10 - 15 mins to the Goartín. It´s in a fairly quiet oridinary-looking neighbourhood, with a few cafes and supermarkets nearby. We had a very friendly welcome and we liked our comfy double room, which was very clean and smart although it did smell of stale smoke - I don´t think the hotel has separate smoking rooms from what I could tell. There is no breakfast provided, but you don´t have to go far to find a bar for a coffee and tostada or whatever. We then walked back to the bus station (next to the rail station) and off we went to the Costa de la Luz (very nice). Overall it was a nice hotel and fairly good value - we paid 50 Euros via Booking.com - but bear in mind it is more convenient for the bus / rail stations than the city centre, which would be a longish walk or short bus ride. If you want somewhere in between the station and the city centre, the Ibis is a good budget option (also reviewed that), although less personal than the Goartín.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zochtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

the hotel is spotless the receptinists are very friendl and helpful although ther was only one who could speak english.The cafes and bars in the surrounding area were very friendly and the food was good and cheap .We did think you could do with a fridge and kettle in the room but you could heat anything you wanted in a microwave downstairs.sarah goodman

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moriepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed in two different rooms and both of them were spotless clean and comfortable. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel is in a quiet area not far away from a train station, it takes about 20 minutes walking to get to the historical city centre. Private car park is €9 per day, bear in mind that it's open 7 am till midnight.
Nothing to complain about and it's hard to find places (especially at this price) with such high standards and relaxed attitude at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SbAbA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Hotel Carlos V
#37 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Pedregalejo
Hotel Elcano
Hotel Elcano
#50 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Centro
Hotel Sur
Hotel Sur
#35 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Don Paco
#48 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Hotel Solymar
#65 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Centro
Zeus Hotel Malaga
Zeus Hotel Malaga
#52 of 90 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goartin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goartin

Property: Hotel Goartin
Address: Calle Gerona 32, 29006 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goartin 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goartin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing