We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small hotel nr bus/train”
Review of Hotel Goartin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Goartin
Ranked #44 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Friendly small hotel nr bus/train”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We only stayed one night - we flew into Malaga airport, caught the Cercanía train to the station María Zambrano (NOT the more central station in Malaga, which was closed anyway due to works) and walked maybe 10 - 15 mins to the Goartín. It´s in a fairly quiet oridinary-looking neighbourhood, with a few cafes and supermarkets nearby. We had a very friendly welcome and we liked our comfy double room, which was very clean and smart although it did smell of stale smoke - I don´t think the hotel has separate smoking rooms from what I could tell. There is no breakfast provided, but you don´t have to go far to find a bar for a coffee and tostada or whatever. We then walked back to the bus station (next to the rail station) and off we went to the Costa de la Luz (very nice). Overall it was a nice hotel and fairly good value - we paid 50 Euros via Booking.com - but bear in mind it is more convenient for the bus / rail stations than the city centre, which would be a longish walk or short bus ride. If you want somewhere in between the station and the city centre, the Ibis is a good budget option (also reviewed that), although less personal than the Goartín.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zochtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    55
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
51
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

the hotel is spotless the receptinists are very friendl and helpful although ther was only one who could speak english.The cafes and bars in the surrounding area were very friendly and the food was good and cheap .We did think you could do with a fridge and kettle in the room but you could heat anything you wanted in a microwave downstairs.sarah goodman

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moriepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed in two different rooms and both of them were spotless clean and comfortable. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel is in a quiet area not far away from a train station, it takes about 20 minutes walking to get to the historical city centre. Private car park is €9 per day, bear in mind that it's open 7 am till midnight.
Nothing to complain about and it's hard to find places (especially at this price) with such high standards and relaxed attitude at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SbAbA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

This is a newly built hotel, sparklingly clean throughout and tastefully furnished in a minimalist way, but it is located in a somewhat run down commercial area 5 minutes walk from the bus and train station. It does not offer breakfast but is a very pleasant place to stay at a very reasonable rate when booked with booking . com ( £42 per night). The location has very little parking which is a disadvantage but if you just want an overnight stay before taking the train or bus the next day then it is perfect. There are cafes and restaurants just down the street and I can recommend Maison los Geronios ( or something like that ) which is an unpretentious Spanish local restaurant serving good quality food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Togtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Zeus Hotel Malaga
Zeus Hotel Malaga
#53 of 88 in Malaga
124 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#36 of 88 in Malaga
279 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pedregalejo
Hotel Elcano
Hotel Elcano
#52 of 88 in Malaga
56 reviews
Don Paco
#45 of 88 in Malaga
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goartin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goartin

Property: Hotel Goartin
Address: Calle Gerona 32, 29006 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goartin 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Goartin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing