We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Trebol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Trebol
Ranked #4 of 39 Malaga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This hotel is very clean, quiet, safe and well-located. It's steps away from the indoor market and an easy walk to downtown, the seaside promenade, many restaurants and the tourist attractions. I came back a late afternoon siesta and after dinner but otherwise was out exploring for 2 days. I appreciated that the front desk was always staffed. If you are staying for more than a night or two, you will appreciate a balcony room rather than a tiny, courtyard one.
I would have appreciated being able to purchase water in the lobby - only beer and soft drinks were available.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

This was our third visit to the Hotel Trebol in 2 years, and in our estimation it was not as good as it was on the past two occasions. The guy who runs the place seemed more interested in telling us that it was non smoking hotel, than he was about welcoming us back. There was something lacking this time, I think it was the friendliness of the staff. Having said that it is still good value for money and very very clean. By the way many tour operators advertise the hotel has having a lounge/bar, it certainly does not and I do not think it ever will because they told us this on our first visit. Next time we go to Malaga we will be looking for somewhere else to stay.

A bar was definitely not the most important thing for us, but in my opinion they should not advertise having one when the do not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and request some chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maidmarian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Hotel Trebol was a short distance from the airport by Taxi. Hotel Staff were a great help when we arrived as we were only staying one night and needed somewhere to eat. Central Malaga was a short walk away, and we were able to locate the Cathedral and the main shopping and eating areas with the directions given. The room itself was comfortable and well equipped, which led to a comfortable nights sleep. We popped out for Breakfast in the morning and also visited the indoor market which was a short walk away, before returning to check out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0ffee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our recent trip to Malaga and it was fantastic. Right in the center of the city, you are minutes from all of the main attractions. Small, yes, but if you're planning to be out and about seeing the sights then what is the point of having a big fancy room?? The lobby is staffed 24/7 and entry is by being buzzed in, so we felt very safe. We stayed one night before traveling to Estepona and had a courtyard room, and the remaining nights after Estepona had a balcony. Definitely ask for a balcony room if you plan to spend more than one night; much more bright and airy and you have a fantastic view of the action, with the local market being only 1 block away. If you're looking to take in the sights on a budget, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Request a balcony room if staying for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownCatMountie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We only stayed for a night but will be back as great location, nice, friendly people and suited us down to the ground.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denis_McQuade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Although this hotel was considered to be a Budget hotel, it did not sacrifice quality.

The rooms are quite small, but perfect for 1 or 2 people. The bed and bathroom were super comfortable and very clean. We were quite impressed with this hotel. Not only was it very clean, but it was walking distance from the Cathedral, small quaint restaurants, the main pedestrian walkway, the waterfront and the Parque Paseo.

Although not all staff can speak English fluently, language was not much of a problem - the were always very helpful and always greeted us warmly.

For singles and couples travelling on a budget, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lagmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This is a typical European-style hotel with typical European-sized rooms (small but cozy). It doesn't have much in the way of "character" but the rooms are modern-feeling. There is wi-fi in the lobby, but the front desk will give you an Ethernet cable to directly connect your laptop to the Internet. The staff were efficient, if not overly friendly. Location was excellent, about a 5-10 minute walk from the city center.

As with every other hotel that we drove to in Spain, it was difficult to find this particular hotel. My advice would be to figure out from the hotel beforehand where exactly the parking garage is (it's a block away from the hotel) and park you car there, as it is virtually impossible to pull up in front of the hotel.

Overall, this was a nice place to stay. Nothing phenomenal, but solid.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,317 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#33 of 87 in Malaga
544 reviews
El Riad Andaluz
#6 of 39 in Malaga
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trebol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trebol

Address: Calle Moreno Carbonero 3, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: $56 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Trebol 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Trebol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing