We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low prices, clean, nice rooms, great location. Owners sooo nice and sooo helpful :))”
Review of Hostal La Palma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Palma
Ranked #15 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Low prices, clean, nice rooms, great location. Owners sooo nice and sooo helpful :))”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I absolutely recommend this place. Prices are low and rooms are very clean and nice. Clima at night. :D
Great location! (Watch out for adresses when looking for accomodation in Malaga, cause it's a BIG City!)
It was always FULL while our staying, so book it much earlier :)
Thank You Caroline for being so helpful! You're the best!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    34
    13
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
37
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Stayed here for one night 1st June. Lovely old appartment block with character in the centre. Rooms are basic but clean. The lady who owns the place is very hospitable - she even showed me to the bus stop!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Stayed there for 4 nights and can recommend it if you are looking for a central and clean budget hostal in Malaga. Close to public transport to all destinations, quiet but in the city center, relatively close to the beach. Very clean. Very friendly and helpful owner who give great advice where to go and where not. Cafes and Bars are just in front of the door for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mucki1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

This place was fine, no frills but nothing wrong. There is not too much atmosphere, they had a school staying the day before and it is just such a place that caters to school classes (super basic, but rooms spacey enough, beds a little prickly and not too comfy but fine). The owner is very friendly and communication was fine (she says most in Spanish, but that was no big problem). It has one shared balcony with views over the city, and was good for our overnight stay in Malaga.
Location wise it is perfect, you are right in the old centre, shops, market, cafes and ruins all around the corner. Would recommend the stay if you just need a place to crash after walking around all day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We chose this hostel because it is right in the center of the old city, in easy walking distance of the all the things we wanted to see (Cathedral, Picasso Museum, Alcazaba). It is in a side street off Calle Larios which is the main artery of the area, pedestrianized with all the cafes, restaurants and designer shops. It is quite near Malagueta, the town beach, which is about a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute bus ride away.
It is in a traditional tall building but does have a small lift, which is a reason we chose it over a slightly cheaper hostel nearby as we had heavy bags. The room was very clean and light with a balcony overlooking the street, also an ensuite bathroom which was not the case in the slightly cheaper rooms in this area, so we felt it was good value.
The owner speaks English - again unusual in the cheaper hostels- and is very helpful as we found after checking out. We had been stupid (or tired) enough to leave one suitcase in the car, parked in the nearby Plaza Marina. Even though it was not visible, thieves had broken in and stolen it. My spare credit card AND my list of cancellation numbers was in the case!! We went back to the hostel and the owner let me use her internet to look up the cancellation number and her phone to ring the card company, which saved me a lot of stress.
It was 40 euros for the double room when we stayed. There is no dining room at the hostel, but a bakery round the corner serves coffee, rolls, sandwiches and cakes so it is easy to get breakfast.
I would definitely recommend this hostel for good value, service, and convenient location in Malaga.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyFBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 88 in Malaga
1,859 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
439 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
2,900 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Centro
Don Curro Hotel
Don Curro Hotel
#28 of 88 in Malaga
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Palma

Property: Hostal La Palma
Address: Calle Martinez 7, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal La Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing