We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and accommodation. Couldn’t fault”
Review of Restaurante Amador

Restaurante Amador
Reserve with
Restaurante Amador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 2,621 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$40
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

We’ve had a 2 week stay here (at Villa Guadalupe: same building and business) and really couldn’t feel happier with our choice. It’s clearly a well regarded restaurant and deservedly so in our opinion.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank planet_thorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVGRA, Gerente at Restaurante Amador, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Planet_thorny,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to our hotel and restaurant. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to make every guests’ visit a memorable one.

We will certainly pass on your wonderful comments to our Head Chef and restaurant staff! As well, please do not hesitate to contact me, it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back in the future:
hvgrestamador@gmail.com

Kind regards
Candace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 722 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We visited Malaga and decided to have dinner at Amador. We ordered the ink Paella and baby lamb shoulder. The ink Paella was one of the most delicious Paellas we have had in Spain and the lamb shoulder was cooked perfectly. The restaurant is located over a hill with an amazing view of the city of Malaga.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank aalbadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVGRA, Gerente at Restaurante Amador, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear Aalbadri,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to our restaurant. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to make every guests’ visit a memorable one. Yes, our baby lamb shoulder which is slow cooked for 48 hours has been a house speciality for 15 years; we have repeat clients who come just for the lamb :) Also, our paellas have their finishing touches done in our amazing charcoal oven! You can have amazing food while overlooking the whole city!

We will certainly pass on your wonderful comments to our Head Chef and restaurant staff! As well, please do not hesitate to contact me, it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back in the future:
hvgrestamador@gmail.com

Kind regards
Candace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Restaurant is situated in Hotel Villa Guadalupe on the top of a hill with expansive views over Malaga and receiving lovely breeze in evening. The portions were so large, we would have ordered less had we known. We ordered a salad with tomatoes and seeds, potato salad with shrimp the salmon and the cod. I could not get through my cod although it was delicious. The two salads and a surprise tapas of a slider with pulled lamb was so filling. With drink each the bill was under $60 euro which I thought was not bad value. Pretty good parking too. Take insect repellant...our meal was disturbed by a few wasps. We have learnt in Spain it is wise to take the Rid as it gets rid of the wasps!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargaretPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVGRA, Gerente at Restaurante Amador, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

Dear MargaretPowell,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to our restaurant. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to make every guests’ visit a memorable one. Our goal is always to ensure that our guests leave on a happy (and full) stomach :)

We will certainly pass on your wonderful comments to our Head Chef and restaurant staff! As well, please do not hesitate to contact me, it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back in the future:
hvgrestamador@gmail.com

Kind regards
Candace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We had dinner in this lovely and cosy restaurant with the family and totally enjoyed it! The food was great, the lamb shoulder was amazing - the staff explained that it is due to a very slow cooking process - could definitely taste it! The vegetables were crunchy and fresh, and the turbot fillet was delicious - to be honest everything was really good and the staff super friendly. We can definitely recommend - absolutely worth a visit!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elisa19Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVGRA, Gerente at Restaurante Amador, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Dear Elisa19Finland,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to our restaurant. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to make every guests’ visit a memorable one. And yes, it is true; 24 hour slow cooked lamb shoulder! You won't find it anywhere like this, but in Restaurante Amador!

We will certainly pass on your wonderful comments to our Head Chef and restaurant staff! As well, please do not hesitate to contact me, it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back in the future:
hvgrestamador@gmail.com

Kind regards
Candace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2018

Best views over the city of malaga but above all the nice lunch experience we had. We tried different dishes to share and taste and we reccomend the complete tasting menu they offer. We were quiet satisfied and a good ratio quality/price. Thumbs up!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ediczka2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVGRA, Gerente at Restaurante Amador, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Dear Ediczka2018,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to our restaurant. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to make every guests’ visit a memorable one. Concerning tasting many dishes on our menu, the next time that you come, please inform yourself about our daily tasting menú, which does allow you to sample many dishes in small plates!

We will certainly pass on your wonderful comments to our Head Chef and restaurant staff! As well, please do not hesitate to contact me, it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back in the future:
hvgrestamador@gmail.com

Kind regards
Candace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Amador also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Amador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing