We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Tarpa,Hungary
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sandor”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Fantastic view, good value for money! The was very good!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    140
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
82
299
22
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We booked this hotel for our recent trip to Andalusia, which was starting in Malaga. We were positively impressed by all the good reviews on TripAdvisor and wanted a smaller hotel outside the center, so we chose this one.
Upon arrival at the hotel, our room was ready but there was a small flood in the bathroom. We had to call the reception, who came very quickly to clean up the water that was on the floor since probably several hours because the wood furniture legs were soaked. They had no idea where it came from (not very reassuring - but we did not see anymore water on the bathroom floor for the rest of our stay - 3 nights in total). There was no internet cable available for us upon check-in, but one hour after we had arrived, the receptionist brought us one. The internet connection wasn't very good throughout our stay.
The morning after (we had arrived when it was dark already), we saw that the room we booked with terrace/balcony only had a small terrace on the side with no view at all on Malaga. There was a view on overgrown plants and some rocks. Also, the room we had was quite small and you could hear people in rooms above / next to us. Fortunately, I think the hotel was not too full so we did not have noise disturbance at night.
The magnetic card to open our door alo got demagnetized one day and when we returned to the hotel, ask the receptionist to reprogram it (happens to me once in a while when I travel for business and hotel staff are familiar with this kind of problems, they just reprogram it for you right away). He did not understand when I explained the issue and had to come with us to our room door, left and made us wait without saying anything, then returned with the card which worked again.
The bed was not very comfortable and the lack of proper pillow did not help. We asked for pillows the day after in the evening and it took the person on duty that evening at least 15 minutes to bring us back two long flat cushions, not really square fluffy pillows.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special, no fresh orange juice (in Spain!) and not much choice at the small buffet (fruits were always too ripe - bananas all black - or not ripe at all - kiwis). We had dinner at the restaurant of the hotel one evening. Food was good but nothing exceptional again. There was only one other table of 2 persons dining that evening and the service was very poor. My husband never got his drink with his meal! The waiter was never around if we needed to ask something.
So all in all, we were quite disappointed with our stay and the quality of the hotel, staff, service, etc. I would consider this a 3 star standard hotel but nothing more. Obviously there is potential given the location, the nice villa house, etc but we were really not feeling particularly welcome, which is what you usually look for in a small boutique type of hotel. Wouldn't recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here on two different nights at the start and end of our holiday as it is very close to Malaga airport. We warmly welcomed on both occasions and given excellent service by Candace and the team. The rooms were spacious and well appointed (especially the ones with a balcony!). The food was really very good and the menu changes according to what's available in the market - always a good sign. If scallops are available, eat them!

My only complaint is that the rooms would be better with two pillows per person, but apart from that everything was spot on and I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked this hotel because we felt Malaga was a good base for touring the Costa Del Sol and it had good reviews here but our stay far exceeded our expectations.

Getting there can be a little difficult, the hotel is nestled at the top of a hillside neighbourhood, we had a rental car and GPS so it was easy for us but we cringed when we thought about anybody have to walk up the winding, steep hill.

The hotel only has a handfull of rooms so it is very quiet and only needs a small staff. The room was spacious and clean, they are randomly assigned but you can pay a 15Euro per night surcharge to be guaranteed a room with a balcony overlooking the city and mediterranean.

The staff we extremly friendly, the manager has enough english to communicate but one of the assistants, who also works in the dining rooms most nights is fluent in english among several other languages.

The restaurant was amazing. Reading up on the hotel before we visited, we noticed that the brag alot about their award winning head chef........after eating there, it is more than merited.

Room Tip: Ask about getting a guaranteed balcony room, it cost us 15 Euro per night but gave us spectacular vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockonollie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The room was good and very clean, the view as breathtaking
The restaurant was excellent at very reasonable prices
The service was superb

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_holland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leamington spa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

What a gem of a hotel!!!!!!¬
A fabulous building in a stunning location.Yes it is out of the way but Malaga is minutes away and nothing beats the views and waking up to the sound of birdsong.
Run with passion and flair by Alexander and Amador and their team.
The rooms are spacious and having asked for a view and a balcony got the best of both.
The restaurent is not cheap but the food is superb and cannot get over what good value this hotel is.
Half of what you would pay in town with so much more on offer that money simply cannot buy
The final bonus is the fabulous art on show,a legacy from their mother,I think she would be very proud.

Room Tip: can recommend room five
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Wonderful hotel, warm atmosphere, friendly staff and a spectacular view! If you are going to visit Malaga, please visit this hotel! Or at least the restaurant. Friendly service and great food! You can taste the love in the cooking.
You must rent a car to go check out the area.

We will definitely be coming back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatasjaHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Malaga Hotel Picasso
#22 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Hotel Zenit Malaga
#20 of 90 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Guadalupe

Property: Hotel Villa Guadalupe
Address: Calle Bandaneira 6 | Urb. El Atabal, 29190 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#5 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guadalupe Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing