We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malaga Hotel Picasso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malaga Hotel Picasso
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

A wonderfully relaxing little hotel in a quiet residential area just 3 kms from Malaga Airport (but beware, taxis from the airport have a minimum charge of 19 Euros). The rooms are arranged in a L-shape around the terrace with a swimming pool, sunshine all day. Pay the extra for breakfast, it is well worth it, as good and better than many 4 star hotels. Staff are friendly and helpful and spoke better English than we did Spanish. Golf Course nearby (the sister of one of the staff is the Professional there). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pebblespip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    106
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
139
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Stayed in hotel Picasso only 1 night (1.5 day), wish it was longer though. Already planning to go back for a longer relaxing stay in the garden by the pool.
Chose this hotel based on reviews knowing that we will need some relaxing after 3 days of sightseeing and wanting to be close to the airport.
It's approx 30 minutes from Malaga centre on local bus no. 10. YOu can get of on either of the 2 stops in Guadalmar - on road Manuel Curros Enriguez or Rogelio Oliva.
It's 10 minutes to the airport by taxi (19 Euros), or you take bus no. 10 and then change for no. 19, just make sure you are taking the 19 in the correct direction and not back into Malaga city centre.
Hotel Picasso has only 11 rooms, its extremely clean and full of lovely antique furniture. Each room is quite individual and there is a "common room" - sitting room for the guests with a flat screen TV and hi-fi system (all rooms have TV as well). The whole place has a very homey feel to it.
Don't know if you can get room service there, but think food generally is served only at dinner time between 8-10pm, when a special person comes from outside to be the chef/waitress. Had a nice paella and chocolate mouse desert there. Didn't eat breakfast as it's 17 euros for 2, while went down the road towards the sea front where in a cafe/bar next to a shop - Tiena Ana, had breakfast for 8 euros for 2.
The hotel is in a rich looking, villa neighbourhood. Not much to do there, apart from going for walks and to the beach 5 minutes away. Abviously easy access for sightseeing Malaga as well.
Ideal place for pure relaxation and easy and quick access to the airport.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agmagrybdut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

First I was very distracted of where the taxi is taking me on. Later, while entering the hotel, i saw everything like on photos on the website - the pool, garden, nice reading room. It has most of the "National geography" magazines in there! The room is clean and very nice. No 9 has a shower, not the bath, but it's ok for me. Each room has entrance to the garden or pool, and design is very nice.

Though, the dinner i had during one night stay was... strange. Picadillios (soup with bread and onions) was made entirely in the microwave, as well as Lasagne bolognese! As i was the only person dining that evening, and that microwave sound was really awful to me.

Otherwise i do really recommend you this place for a night or two staying in Malaga.

I paid 53.5Eur/night for one night at the end of October, 2008

  • Liked — style, design, approach
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brunislovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketton, England
Level Contributor
283 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

Conveniently close to Malaga airport, the Picasso offers quiet, clean accommodation for one night. However, my room was small, as was the double bed; perfectly adequate, though, for me as a single traveller. Nevertheless, it was reasonably comfortable and there was a room safe, although no bath. The pool and garden area are excellent for a hotel of this size. The bar is not staffed and you have to persuade the receptionist to leave his/her post to bring you a drink; the prices were reasonable. There did not appear to be any restaurants nearby, other than some chiringuitos that were closed. Therefore, eating in was the only option, if planning to have a glass of wine and not drive. The food was OK, not memorable, and served by friendly staff. Breakfast was similarly average. Parking is on a quiet residential street. I might stay there again if I had to but am more likely to look slightly further afield for something that offers more. However, that could be hard at the £62 they charged me for B&B. On balance, I'd probably opt for the Picasso if the double beds were bigger.

  • Liked — Quiet, convenient for Malaga airport
  • Disliked — Small room, small bed, limited menu, no nearby restaurants.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PierrelePilote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

We wanted a hotel near the airport as we were supposed to land at about midnight but our flight was delayed by 2 hours. After waiting for our luggage and getting our rented car we arrived just before 3am but the lady who waited for us could not have been more gracious about it. At that time of night we were relieved our hotel was so near; the choice was perfect: only 3 minutes' drive away. Because it is so near the airport we didn't expect Hotel Picasso to be so nice and quiet. We had a large, comfortable and spotless room (and a bowl of fresh fruit on the table). It is a beautiful location with a lovely garden and swimming pool. The staff were charming. We brought our TomTom and would not have found the hotel without it.

  • Liked — Comfort and Proximity to the airport
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cordoba, spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

Stayed in the Hotel Picasso in Guadalmar for two nights in May 07. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone with a short stopover wanting to just chill out as pool area and garden are beautiful and wonderfully maintained. This is a small short stopover hotel only as its location is not close to Malaga town but the barrio of Guadalmar is nice for wandering around, the beach small and unspoilt with two wonderful local seafood restaurants but thats about it. Perfect for the end of the holiday if you want to fly home well and truly relaxed.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank ChloeCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2007

DATE : 23.11.2007
Barrie & Caroline

The Hotel Picasso is very quietly situated in Guadalmar, and with very friendly and helpful staff, who are multilingual, make this an ideal relaxing location. It was refreshing to still be able to have a breakfast as late as 10.00am if you had previously had late night, but the service starts at 8.30am. The evening meal if taken was very good and well priced with a varying menu. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The only thing I would add is if you do not have a car and do not wish to use the local bus service which we found to be very good then you should consider a hiring a car.

  • Liked — It was very clean and hospitable.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BarrieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Hotel La Chancla
#18 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
#26 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaga Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaga Hotel Picasso

Property: Malaga Hotel Picasso
Address: C/ Acacias de Guadalmar, 153 | Guadalmar Beach, 29004 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#17 Family Hotel in Malaga
#20 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malaga Hotel Picasso 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Malaga Hotel Picasso is a charming hotel located in the Guadalmar beach of Malaga city.Surrounded by a quiet residential area, Malaga Hotel will give you peace of mind that you want for holidays and for business travel.Malaga Hotel Picasso is a perfect place for visiting the historic centre and museums (at 5 km), but also the main cities of Andalusia like Granada, Cordoba, Ronda, Torremolinos, Marbella, and the white villages such as Mijas.The bus line N# 10 takes you to the city centre. Beach hotel in Malaga town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Malaga Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaga Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing