We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, primarily due to the location as we used it as a base for day trips to Granada and Seville. Incredibly convenient, with a direct connection to the train station and 2 minutes from the bus station. Hotel is very quirky, with some great design features. Staff were friendly enough and the place was spotlessly clean. Excellent selection for breakfast. Walk into the Old Town takes 10-15 minutes. Plenty to do in Malaga, and a good choice of restaurants both in the centre and in the new Port development.

Only downside is the internal soundproofing. No noise from outside but we could hear lots of internal noise, even though the hotel wasn't that busy while we were there. Could be a problem when it's busy. But, all in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank woburnjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 3,271 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at the Barcelo in March. The hotel is ultra modern but this means it lacks much atmosphere. The hotel is aimed at the business sector & not really suitable for tourists. It is about a 15 min walk into the centre of Malaga & although right next door to a shopping centre there is very little to do at night. The hotel bar is so modern it lacks any comfort so few people used it. There is no outside space to have a relaxing drink. Having said all that the hotel is very clean, the staff are very polite & the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeggieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Plus.1 The position. You have a direct access to train station, so if you are on a business journey is fantastic.2 design. It's really a nice hotel, with modern interior design. 3 breakfast is really good. Contra. 1 the position. If you are not on business and you don't need the train there is no reason for sleeping in barceló. There are better solutions in front of the sea or in the city center. 2 beds and rooms are a little a very little bit aged for a 4 star hotel. 3. Parking. It's really expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marcoferra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here one night as we had an earlyish flighht out from Malaga the next morning. The hotel is located above the main station in Malaga so very handy for the train that goes out to the Airport. We arrived late morning from Cordoba but the room was ready within 15 minutes so we did not have to come back later to check in. The hotel is very modern - minimalist maybe is a better word and very well finished. The room we had was spacious, with large bed. Electronic window shutters can be used to close off daylight. Excellent bathroom with power shower jets.
We had breakfast in the somewhat soulless breakfast area - however there was a huge choice of items that would suit all tastes. The quality was good.
The only drawback to the hotel is it's location. As is common with areas around stations, it would not be somewhere that I would be comfortable in walking late at night - I have no reason to say this except that it just felt that way! It's a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Malaga. I could not find any decent restaurants outside of the station - though the station complex has several that might be OK. Failing that, it's a walk or a taxi ride into town to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pillhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed one night atthe Barcelo. It is easy to find and well signposted in the station.It is quiet and the bed is very comfortable. It has a really great shower.I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a short stay in Malaga.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Hotel is very conveniently located by the central train station. Very modern hotel with excellent interior design. Stayed here during the day while waiting for a flight, but managed to enjoy it! Staff is very nice, all runs smoothly. Historical centre is located some 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive away. Some nice restaurants are located nearby, but train station building features an abundance of shopping facilities. You will definitely enjoy it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexx_Naxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel is ideal if travelling from the airport by train. You need to get off at Maria Zambrano and keep going right out of station/shopping centre. The hotel has lovely clean modern lines. Reception staff were friendly helpful and efficient. We were on the 6th floor. the room was plenty big enough for a city break. It had the biggest bed I've ever slept in which was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was good with a fantastic shower with powerful jets. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so can't comment on that.
We caught the bus into the centre of Malaga the first time to know the way, but walked there after, which took an enjoyable 10 to 15 mins. A good way to use up the calories from San Miguel and tapas! I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again on future trips to Malaga.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m0untain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
620 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $134 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing