We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at the Petit Palace, at the beginning of April 2012. The room was small, but comfortable and very clean. I had a great view of the cathedral and of the Gibralfaro! There is free wi-fi and there is also a computer in the room.
The hotel is very close to Marquès de Larios street and to most of the sights (Cathedral, Plaza de la Constitucion, the museums, Atarazanas market, etc...). It's an excellent location.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but it's not a problem since it's surrounded by restaurants and tapas bars. Breakfast is served every day; I did not eat there, so cannot comment on the breakfast.
I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiana S, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary review of Petit Palace Plaza Málaga and thank you for keeping us in mind for your future travel endeavours and I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    513
    139
    62
    22
See reviews for
341
614
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

"Charged twice for a terrible experience"
Anmeldt av Sjur A fra Stavanger, Norway
We are a family of 4 who stayed at Petit Plaza for 3 nights in February 2012. By an error the hotel had received double booking and, obviously, we thought this would be sorted out easily. The hotel however insisted in charging the full fare twice for all three nights, despite that it had a one day cancelation rule. Even after we we got hotels.com (who were very helpful) to call the hotel and argue for at least a cancellation for the 2 last nights for the second room, Petit Plaza insisted on charging everything twice. Of course, this ruined our stay in Malaga. Petit Plaza calls themselves a "high-tech hotel". To earn this they have installed a laptop with the slowest internet connection ever in each room. There is also a Wi-Fi with a 16 digit code that you need to enter every time you log in, equally slow. Petit Plaza has a very funny solution for their 4-bed family rooms. There is a huge glass door between the bathroom and the bedroom. So if anyone has to visit the bathroom during night, the whole bedroom will also be enlightened. I am sure there are a lot of nice hotels in Malaga. Stay away from this one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sjur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed here for one night only (having had a great deal from one of the comparison websites). I had read negative things about the location - what absolute nonsense! It's situated directly off Calle Larios - the main modern shopping street in Malaga. It's true that it's pedestrianised but that merely means that you have to walk approximately 3 mins from the taxi drop off point. Walking from the sea end of Calle Larios you turn right at the corner of Mango and Desigual and the hotel is directly in front of you! As it stands it's also directly off the main plaza and we were able to make the most of this given that we were there for the Malaga Festival. The hotel is modern, well designed, with beautiful bathrooms and a free laptop service. The only niggle I would have is that the rooms were too warm and wifi facilities had to be ordered in batches of 120 mins or so (although it was free). I would gladly book it again given the excellent location and value. Great staff too.

Room Tip: Great vegetarian restaurant in plaza de la merced - also generally a lovely location to have a drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aggcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

You could hardly get a better situation, in the centre of Malaga very near the beautiful cathedral. The hotel is in what used to be a large mansion but it has been completely modernised so you wouldn't really know it was old, except for the grand carved front door..

We had a room on the 5th floor and reading what others say, I think this might have been one of the best rooms because it had no problems with noise or light or anything else. It overlooked the courtyard in the centre of the hotel and we could see the sky.

The room was large, with hard but comfortable beds.

The room was pleasant and a good size. It has a computer with free wifi fitted as standard, and the bath was a jacuzzi with changing colours. The first time I've used a bath like this! Lots of fun. I wished we had had children in our party as they would love it too.

But, it had no instructions! It was trial and error to work it out. In fact, there was no information about the hotel or anything in the room. When we called the woman on reception to ask about the bath, she didn't speak enough English to understand what our problem was.

Staff seemed fine, friendly enough, willing to help if they could. We did not have much interaction with them but there was a lift and we didn't need anyone to carry bags.

The decor is orange white and black so quite striking. No bar in the hotel but a trendy tapas bar right next door and many, many other eateries in the area.

The breakfast was hmmm... okay, quite a good variety as you see from the photo but very ordinary quality. Not much nice bread and little plastic pots of cheap jam. Unbelievably just ONE hot drink machine which was very slow and only gave you enoug to fill a tiny espresso cup for coffee, so there was a long queue of people trying to use it three times each to get a full cup of coffee. I hope they can manage another hot drink machine soon?

The breakfast costs 6 euros but we booked through Hotels4U and although we got a cheap price for the room, we were charged considerably over the hotel price for the breakfast. I won't ever book extras on Hotels4U again!

There is no parking and actually no car access outside the hotel but I would really not recommend having a car in central Malaga it is a lovely old town but very narrow streets.

Plus points: brilliant location, fun bathroom, modern.hotel, very clean and trendy.
Minus points: coffee machine at breakfast, no information about the hotel or its surroundings in the rooms.
And (for some people though not us) no parking.

Malaga is nice and I would stay again at this hotel, but I would get my breakfast nearby in one of the many cafes

Room Tip: The top floor rooms seem good. Ours was very quiet, overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is what it says it is . ....... good location, pleasing rooms and a reasonable price. It doesn't have the wow factor however. The location is excellent although parking is not easy - you need to park at one of the very expensive public car parks which cost Euro 30 for an overnight stay (over 24 hrs). That cost added to the hotel cost means its not as good value as it first appears. The hotel rooms are good, clean and functional - as our the bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent at Euro 6 each (although it was initially advertised at Euro 12.84 each....)
We also stayed in the Hotel Pintor a few weeks ago and to be honest there isn't much to choose between the two - except the Pintor is significantly cheaper.
I'm still looking for my favourite Malaga hotel...something with that missing wow factor!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

A very good hotel, in an excellent location (although a little hard to find) close to restaurants & shops. We stayed for 3 nights in a first floor room & were woken at 7:45am every morning by a noise which can only be described as a generator / loud water heating coming on & then going off. Reported this to reception but they didn't have any idea what I meant! Apart from this, Petit Palace Plaza is a great hotel, very clean, excellent shower in the room & the free laptop with wi-fi is a real bonus. Just be wary if you get a 1st floor room, as you will most likely receive the same unwanted alarm call!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 103 want unless you want an early alarm call!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MattH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed a couple of times in Petit Palace Plaza in Malaga and last time with our small dog. And what a surprise... A dog bed was ready and a food&drink bowl. First time we had come across a service like this, excellent. The breakfast offered for 6 Euro only was a second surprise, normally hotel breakfast's are a rip off, but this was just good. It is just that eye for detail that we love. We try to do the same for our passengers who are sailing with us (www.scicsailing.eu)!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loeske k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,027 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 89 in Malaga
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,903 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Malaga

Property: Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Address: Calle Nicasio Calle 5 | Esquina con Calle Larios, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#6 Business Hotel in Malaga
#7 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#9 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Plaza Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Plaza Malaga is situated on the corner of Larios street, one of the busiest shopping streets, behind the Cathedral, 4 star hotel in the middle of the historic centre of Málaga. The Petit Palace Plaza Malaga occupies a magnificent early twentieth-century building. Our modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), hydro-massage shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar.It is also close to the harbour, two kilometres from the railway station and 10 kilometres from the airport.Room types •66 stylish rooms.•High-Tech rooms: laptop, exercise bike, trouser press, hydro massage shower and king-size bed.•Family rooms up to 5 people: King-size bed or two beds plus bunk beds. (Baby cots free of charge).•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.•Smoking & non smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Hotel Malaga
Petit Palace Plaza málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Hotel málaga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing