We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine and friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife, daughter and I, shared a golf holiday. Three nine hole courses and as beginners they were very nervous. Some marshals and other players can be frosty and uppity, here everything was fine. Facilities generally and staff were great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPDBridgendUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to receive your visit, and we are very happy for achieving your expectations during your stay. We try to do our best every day and we work on this way.

I have forwarded your comments to the Management of the golf course, in order to avoid this kind of feelings about the marshals.

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed at Melia La Quinta for work in May 2011. The hotel is very attractive, with good sized rooms, a lovely pool and golf course.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a break in Marbella, particularly if you want to play golf, but you are a short drive away from Marbella, the beach and Peurto Banus. Depending on what you want to do when you get therem that could be seen as a good thing!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbados_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.

I would like to inform future guests that we are at 5 Km from Puerto Banús and 12 Km from Marbella city centre. There is not bus station near to our hotel, but this is not an issue for our guests. Normally they arrive by car or by taxi.

I do hope to see you in the future. I would like to greet you personally.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent 11 nights at Melia La Quinta.
Hotel rooms are lovely & definitely recommend Pool View Room with breakfast--the view is spectacular!
The golf is expensive at 63 EUR for 9 holes & a buggy but my husband loved the courses.
The breakfasts were also good but be on time as when the breakfast ends at 10.30am--the staff quickly clear the food away!
The pool area is fabulous & there was no issue with ever getting a sun lounger by the pool at any time of day.
The weather at this time of year (late Sep/early Oct) is wonderful.
It is essential to hire a car if staying longer than a few days as taxis would be expensive--to/from Puerto Banus & airport. We booked our hire car with RECORD GO--got a good deal but there was a 3 hour queue for RECORD car hire at airport--(their prices are reasonable so everyone seems to book with them). You must pay for full tank of petrol if stay is longer than 3 days.
Overnight use of car park at La Quinta is 10 EUR/night.
The only thing that did annoy us during our stay was Melia Rep who greeted us every morning and plagued us to attend a presentation on the Melia Hotel in exchange for a 'free gift'.
We eventually agreed to attend the presentation and gradually it became clear to us that they were trying to sell us a timeshare. After 3 hours of intense selling they told us it was 20,900EUR with an annual fee of 675 EUR for 44years!!!!
I advise to go along if you have the time & get the free gift but under no circumstances sign for this crazy deal! There are warnings on internet to not sign up to this deal.
Do, however, get the free MAS REWARDS cards to earn points on all spending at the hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a pool view room with breakfast. Views are spectacular and well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 102AJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your experience in our Hotel.

Regarding the green fee, I am so sorry if you felt that it was expensive. The golf courses in la Costa del Sol are right now in high season, and golf courses such as ours are more or less to the same pricing. In any case, we could understand if you had this feeling and more over if you compare these prices to UK prices.

On the other hand, I would like to ask you our sincere apologies if Club Meliá Rep was annoying you during your stay. In your case, they explained me that maybe they did not understand that you are not interested on this product, for this reason, they contact you on several occasions concerning this matter.

I would also like to inform you that our Club Meliá is supported by our hotel chain. Members have the security of the Meliá Hotels International name and experience behind their every vacation. In numbers…Club Meliá has more than 24.000 members right now.

Finally, thank you for be part of our Mas loyalty program. Apart from the benefit that you mentioned, I would like to inform you that you could enjoy more benefits such as:

- Free newspaper (except Sol hotels. Available in reception in Tryp hotels)
- 50% discount on breakfast (both when redeeming points and when earning points on room only rate)
- Free night for birthday
- Late check out (subject to room availability)
- 10% discount in hotel a la carte restaurants (in those hotels where the service is available. Except Sol Hotels).
- And much more…

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I've stayed at this hotel repeatedly for the last 6 years and it gets better and better each year. The friendly service, access to golf and access to nightlife makes it a superb option. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a break.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busterkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Frequent Guest,

we would like to send you a Big Thank You for your comments.

We are very proud of this kind of comments. Thank you for your trust and loyalty.

For further reservations, please, contact us directly. Our email is reservas.melia.laquinta@melia.com

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Fantastic 5 * staff but the hotel sadly lets itself down on a few points. The hotels location would merit hiring a car but I understand you will be charged a daily rate for parking your hire car in the hotel car park. It cost 106 euros in a taxi from the airport to the hotel and you need to get a taxi if you want to go into any of the nearby towns. We had a pool view room on the 3rd floor, it was large and clean but basic. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. On our first morning we were asked to go and collect our free "welcome gift" which consisted of a toothbrush, earplugs , a sleep mask and a member of staff trying to sell you membership to the Melia Club, not what you expect in a 5* hotel. The pool...you have to present a card to collect towels, the sun beds have seen better days & are uncomfortable & the smell from the drains can be unpleasant if the wind blows the wrong way. We ate at the Japanese restuarant where the chef cooks your meal in front of you and the food was good. Overall the hotel lacks that 5* quality and just felt a bit shabby

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest,

I am very sorry for not achieving your expectations. We work very hard because we aim to delight you a fully enjoyable stay. However, in your case, we did not do all that we have to do, for this reason, please, receive our sincere apologies.

I would also like to thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to send us your comments.

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Having just come back from a 4 night stay at the hotel - we were quite disappointed (considering the recent reviews were quite positive). It's in a very odd location, not that near to Puerto Banus so taxi/hire car needed, but that was not the major issue.

What was really annoying was the hard sell you are given at breakfast about a "welcome gift", which we "had" to collect straight after breakfast. Nothing is free right? so we avoided the situation. However, the next day, same thing - said we were not interested. Still didn't stop them, putting info under the door of our room. They even came to the pool area to seek us out and give the hard sell about Melia's new promotion, which would involve an hour plus of our time at some presentation at a different hotel- politely saying no once again (to the obvious annoyance to the Melia employee). On a 4 day holiday, the last thing you want is this kind of hassle, it leaves a bad taste to the entire stay!

Pool - ok, not 5*, mainly because the sun loungers are uncomfortable, they are the same cheap ones you see on the beach.They are also quite strict with the towels (each person is given a towel card upon check-in for ONE towel). Also they need to sort out the drains, when the wind blows in a certain direction their is a terrible smell.

So would not go back - definitley not up to the standard one would expect from a 5* hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor as the rooms are all tiled so you can hear the high heels clicki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller28Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments; they are the greatest assistance to us.

Regarding the person who was annoying you during all your stay, I would like to apologize for it, because this is not the normal attitude of these people. They are part of our Club Meliã team, and they normally understand when a guest says Not. In any case, I have spoken with the Manager, because we would not like that this situation will be repeated. In fact, if you could tell us your personal details, we could see the agent who spoke with you so many times.

On the other hand, I would like to inform you that Club Meliã is an international shared vacation membership club and it is part of Spain-based Meliá Hotels International, a 55-year-old international hospitality company with more than 350 hotels in over 30 countries on five continents.

Finally, I would like to ask you more information about where were you seated when the terrible smell came, because we have not received any comment like this before yours.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you require further information.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

we booked through Voyage Prive and got a great deal on the price anyway but once we arrived we were given an upgrade to a top floor room (great view) and our teenagers were given a family room. The staff were really, really helpful, we had breakfast included which again was great with lots of variety including a chef to make your choice of omlette.
Taxis are readily available but we had a hire car which makes life easier (do not use gold car rental, complete rip off!) parking at the hotel is 10 euros a night.
Anyway really good hotel, great services would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arif X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Guest,

we are so happy for your comments. Thank you very much for them.

Whenever you want to come, we will welcome you.

I am at your entire disposal for anything related to Meliá Hotels & Resorts.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
18.9 km away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
6.1 km away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,398 reviews
8.2 km away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
4.8 km away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,746 reviews
4.2 km away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacion La Quinta | Benahavis, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#6 Family Hotel in Marbella
#7 Business Hotel in Marbella
#11 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $189 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, Benahavis, Marbella is ideally located in the beautiful "Valley of Golf", Marbella, which makes it a unique destination for lovers of golf, featuring its exclusive club and a 27 hole private golf course. Situated between the Mediterranean sea and the mountains of Sierra Blanca, and only 10 minutes by car from the Costa del Sol, the hotel is surrounded by an exceptionally beautiful natural landscape. This unique destination, which is blessed with a warm sunny climate all year round, is ideal for couples and families to enjoy with all the amenities and services needed for relaxation and wellbeing. The 1,500 sqm SPA, the 2 exterior swimming pools surrounded by gardens and the Westin(R) Kids Club will facilitate fun for the young ones and tranquillity for adults. The Westin La Quinta rooms and suites are comfortable and spacious, featuring an authentic Andalusian-style décor flooded with natural light, private terraces, uplifting views to the mountains and all the amenities that distinguish Westin, including the Westin(R) Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia La Quinta Golf Hotel Marbella
Melia La Quinta Golf And Spa Resort
Westin Marbella
La Quinta Marbella
Marbella La Quinta
Marbella Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing