We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to praise, difficult to fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Easy to praise, difficult to fault”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Hi, Happy Traveller here

We stayed in Melia La Quinta in October 2011 for nights on a great golf package from Supertravel Golf. Initially it was five rounds on their course but the European Tour confirmed this for the Seniors Open then so it had to be changed for Los Narrangos a mile down the hill.

Yes Melia is a bit expensive - our pool view room B&B was 355 euros pn full price but we got this as a package for around half that. the rooms are spacious and have great views and have balconies to sit out on. The hotel was only recently taken over by Melia but the staff were friendly and helpful and the style of the hotel is very Iberian in character which is lovely. We did have a hire car but it was 10 euros a night but secure. Breakfast is a bit unadventurous but to a high standard and the main restaurant evening meal good. There is also a little Japanese restaurant by the pool and its authentic and good food there - a meal was 95 euros - a bit more than the main restaurant.
If playing golf at La Qunta then you don't need a car but it is a way out of Puerto Banus.

The Senior Open enabled us to be next to some good golfers and to chat to them and a friendly Sky crew in the hotel and it was a memorable experience. Experiences of Los Narrangos and other restaurants appear elsewhere.

A few makeovers are possibly needed and the breakfasts need some attention to variety but for the prices of flights, car and golf we got from Guy at Supertravel golf this was wonderful!

Room Tip: View over the bay/pool for some great sunrises and sunsets. Take insect spray for golf here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very glad because you enjoyed your golf holidays in our Hotel, and I would like to thank you for sharing us your experience in Meliá La Quinta Golf & Spa Hotel.

I would like to invite you to visit us on many more occasions and enjoy our facilities. If you need assistance for further reservations, please, do not hesitate to contact us directly (reservas.melia.laquinta@melia.com)

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    191
    65
    17
    18
See reviews for
148
248
12
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is not a cheap hotel and everything costs extra. It is certainly not a 5* hotel anymore. However, that said, the rooms are large, clean and in relatively good nick. The pool area is good, especially for families, and the grounds are well kept. We had a great golf lesson followed by 9 holes. The spa was a little disappointing. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel are very good. The only gripe we had was the seating arrangements for breakfast. On more than one occasion we were shown to a table only to return to it after getting some food and finding someone else sat there. The waiters then left us stood in the dining room holding our food and ignored us. The hotel does run a shuttle bus to Marbella and Porta Banus but you need to pre-book your seat as it's a small minibus. However, beware that the Marbella one drops you seemingly in the middle of nowhere. We had to go into La Quinta's sister hotel by the stop (very coincidental!) and ask them to call us a taxi so we could get into the town itself. The return bus does not run very late but the taxis are good and not too expensive. On the subject of taxis, even though we agreed a price for a taxi to the hotel from the airport, we still got stung. It was so much cheaper on the return journey.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hinde81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent on sending us your comments about your stay.

Regarding your comments about the incident during the breakfast, I would like to apologize if another guest sat on your table, and of course, I remain our apologies if we realized this situation and we did not help you. We have spoken with the Maître for paying more attention to this.

Finally, I would like to inform you that one of the two bus stops is near to our Hotel Gran Meliá Don Pepe, as you mentioned, and it stops there because from that point begins Marbella city centre and normally guests want to see all the seafront. However, I am so sorry if you preferred a nearest point.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife, daughter and I, shared a golf holiday. Three nine hole courses and as beginners they were very nervous. Some marshals and other players can be frosty and uppity, here everything was fine. Facilities generally and staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPDBridgendUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to receive your visit, and we are very happy for achieving your expectations during your stay. We try to do our best every day and we work on this way.

I have forwarded your comments to the Management of the golf course, in order to avoid this kind of feelings about the marshals.

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed at Melia La Quinta for work in May 2011. The hotel is very attractive, with good sized rooms, a lovely pool and golf course.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a break in Marbella, particularly if you want to play golf, but you are a short drive away from Marbella, the beach and Peurto Banus. Depending on what you want to do when you get therem that could be seen as a good thing!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbados_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.

I would like to inform future guests that we are at 5 Km from Puerto Banús and 12 Km from Marbella city centre. There is not bus station near to our hotel, but this is not an issue for our guests. Normally they arrive by car or by taxi.

I do hope to see you in the future. I would like to greet you personally.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We spent 11 nights at Melia La Quinta.
Hotel rooms are lovely & definitely recommend Pool View Room with breakfast--the view is spectacular!
The golf is expensive at 63 EUR for 9 holes & a buggy but my husband loved the courses.
The breakfasts were also good but be on time as when the breakfast ends at 10.30am--the staff quickly clear the food away!
The pool area is fabulous & there was no issue with ever getting a sun lounger by the pool at any time of day.
The weather at this time of year (late Sep/early Oct) is wonderful.
It is essential to hire a car if staying longer than a few days as taxis would be expensive--to/from Puerto Banus & airport. We booked our hire car with RECORD GO--got a good deal but there was a 3 hour queue for RECORD car hire at airport--(their prices are reasonable so everyone seems to book with them). You must pay for full tank of petrol if stay is longer than 3 days.
Overnight use of car park at La Quinta is 10 EUR/night.
The only thing that did annoy us during our stay was Melia Rep who greeted us every morning and plagued us to attend a presentation on the Melia Hotel in exchange for a 'free gift'.
We eventually agreed to attend the presentation and gradually it became clear to us that they were trying to sell us a timeshare. After 3 hours of intense selling they told us it was 20,900EUR with an annual fee of 675 EUR for 44years!!!!
I advise to go along if you have the time & get the free gift but under no circumstances sign for this crazy deal! There are warnings on internet to not sign up to this deal.
Do, however, get the free MAS REWARDS cards to earn points on all spending at the hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a pool view room with breakfast. Views are spectacular and well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 102AJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your experience in our Hotel.

Regarding the green fee, I am so sorry if you felt that it was expensive. The golf courses in la Costa del Sol are right now in high season, and golf courses such as ours are more or less to the same pricing. In any case, we could understand if you had this feeling and more over if you compare these prices to UK prices.

On the other hand, I would like to ask you our sincere apologies if Club Meliá Rep was annoying you during your stay. In your case, they explained me that maybe they did not understand that you are not interested on this product, for this reason, they contact you on several occasions concerning this matter.

I would also like to inform you that our Club Meliá is supported by our hotel chain. Members have the security of the Meliá Hotels International name and experience behind their every vacation. In numbers…Club Meliá has more than 24.000 members right now.

Finally, thank you for be part of our Mas loyalty program. Apart from the benefit that you mentioned, I would like to inform you that you could enjoy more benefits such as:

- Free newspaper (except Sol hotels. Available in reception in Tryp hotels)
- 50% discount on breakfast (both when redeeming points and when earning points on room only rate)
- Free night for birthday
- Late check out (subject to room availability)
- 10% discount in hotel a la carte restaurants (in those hotels where the service is available. Except Sol Hotels).
- And much more…

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I've stayed at this hotel repeatedly for the last 6 years and it gets better and better each year. The friendly service, access to golf and access to nightlife makes it a superb option. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a break.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Frequent Guest,

we would like to send you a Big Thank You for your comments.

We are very proud of this kind of comments. Thank you for your trust and loyalty.

For further reservations, please, contact us directly. Our email is reservas.melia.laquinta@melia.com

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Fantastic 5 * staff but the hotel sadly lets itself down on a few points. The hotels location would merit hiring a car but I understand you will be charged a daily rate for parking your hire car in the hotel car park. It cost 106 euros in a taxi from the airport to the hotel and you need to get a taxi if you want to go into any of the nearby towns. We had a pool view room on the 3rd floor, it was large and clean but basic. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. On our first morning we were asked to go and collect our free "welcome gift" which consisted of a toothbrush, earplugs , a sleep mask and a member of staff trying to sell you membership to the Melia Club, not what you expect in a 5* hotel. The pool...you have to present a card to collect towels, the sun beds have seen better days & are uncomfortable & the smell from the drains can be unpleasant if the wind blows the wrong way. We ate at the Japanese restuarant where the chef cooks your meal in front of you and the food was good. Overall the hotel lacks that 5* quality and just felt a bit shabby

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry for not achieving your expectations. We work very hard because we aim to delight you a fully enjoyable stay. However, in your case, we did not do all that we have to do, for this reason, please, receive our sincere apologies.

I would also like to thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to send us your comments.

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
6.1 km away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
8.2 km away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,721 reviews
4.8 km away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
10.2 km away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
18.9 km away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Urbanizacion La Quinta | Benahavis, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#6 Family Hotel in Marbella
#7 Business Hotel in Marbella
#9 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, Benahavis, Marbella is ideally located in the beautiful "Valley of Golf", Marbella, which makes it a unique destination for lovers of golf, featuring its exclusive club and a 27 hole private golf course. Situated between the Mediterranean sea and the mountains of Sierra Blanca, and only 10 minutes by car from the Costa del Sol, the hotel is surrounded by an exceptionally beautiful natural landscape. This unique destination, which is blessed with a warm sunny climate all year round, is ideal for couples and families to enjoy with all the amenities and services needed for relaxation and wellbeing. The 1,500 sqm SPA, the 2 exterior swimming pools surrounded by gardens and the Westin(R) Kids Club will facilitate fun for the young ones and tranquillity for adults. The Westin La Quinta rooms and suites are comfortable and spacious, featuring an authentic Andalusian-style décor flooded with natural light, private terraces, uplifting views to the mountains and all the amenities that distinguish Westin, including the Westin(R) Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia La Quinta Golf Hotel Marbella
Melia La Quinta Golf And Spa Resort
Westin Marbella
La Quinta Marbella
Marbella Westin
Marbella La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing