We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Family Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Luxury Family Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent a week in the one of the penthouse suites at the hotel following an upgrade from a normal suite. We were very happy with the hotel, our son was supplied with a play station and was made to feel very welcome and the room and terrace facilities were excellent. If I have a criticism it would be that the hotel is clearly longlived and this does show a bit, though I understand further refurbishment is en route. There were a few teething problems with the shower- when we arrived it had two settings of 'scalding hot' to 'earth's core' neither of which were bearable. However the hotel fixed it immediately. There was also an occasional 'drain' smell but it was intermittent soci forgot to mention it to reception.

Breakfast is good and plentiful with a wide selection and special children's bar. We ate in the Farrola grill a couple of times. In the evening. The food is ok, but the atmosphere is a bit stuffy and formal. It's a shame that their other restaurants are closed during winter.

The common areas are very pleasant with nice areas to sit. The design is diverse and attractive.

The gym is a bit underwhelming - they could really use some elliptical trainers - they have some cycling and running machines, a multigym and a step machine - could be better. The indoor pool is ok but quite small. If you're into being fit, a better option is to run along the seafront in the direction of puerto banus.

Overall a good enjoyable stay in a friendly unpretentious hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissNomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    382
    106
    33
    35
See reviews for
385
806
55
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

It was with some trepidation that we booked a hotel as we have two young children aged 4 and 6. We had stayed at the Don Pepe many times before we had children and were impressed by the refurbishments they had done whilst still retaining the charm and retro feel of the hotel. We often travel to Marbella to see family and, since having children, usually take a self catering villa as we considered it less stressful with young children. As this was a shorter four day break we decided to book a hotel on this occasion because we didn't want the bother with food shopping etc. We had a Red Level Suite which was spacious and perfect..like a mini apartment. The Clarins products were great in the bathrooms and everything about the room and the balconies and view were first class. The Manageress for the Red Level was so helpful and considerate and the staff were very welcoming of the children and made us feel very comfortable. She is a great asset to the company and chatted to us in the lounge and was generally very helpful and charming. The Red level is an excellent service. We appreciated the Wii and games in the room and the additional downstairs lounge with complimentary snacks and drinks throughout the day was a great bonus. The breakfast each morning was super and the little section for children with pencils/toys and their own food and fruit was lovely and helped them to be more independent. We had room service each evening as the suite had a very spacious dining table and it was easier for the children. The food portions are generous and the quality is excellent. On our previous recent visit without children we stayed at the Marbella Club Hotel and found it to be quite unfriendly and very overpriced for what it offers. The pool and spa at Don Pepe is much more appealing and the views from the rooms , decor and feeling of space the hotel offers makes it far superior to Marbella Club in my opinion. My only criticism of Don Pepe was that the rooms should have dvd players and dvds for children to borrow. We actually brought our own with us because we thought there probably wouldn't be one. As with all hotels in Marbella the choice of English speaking tv channels is limited so you do really need a dvd player and your own dvds or a laptop for iplayer if you have younger children who want to sit and relax in the suite for a while. The access to the beach from the hotel is great and the gardensand pools are lovely. Overall I would completely recommend this to couples, business people or families. There was a real mix of people there when we stayed and it was a very welcoming hotel with excellent facilities, attractive decor and great value for money. There are always guests who can find fault with things and if you look really hard you can find fault with any hotel but I have stayed at quite a few five star/ platinum hotels and found this to be the most appealing because it is refreshingly unpretentious, extremely comfortable and has an appealing retro feel to it, where you feel the staff have been working there a long time and understand the real meaning of customer service. Offers excellent value.

Room Tip: For families the Red Level Suites are perfect. Very spacious and with lots of extras. Take your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed in June 2011 and would love to go back! Very comfortable rooms with lovely beds and we had a wonderful view over the gardens and Mediterranean sea. Fabulous pool area with great sunbeds and pools. A little expensive to eat and drink in the hotel as you may expect in a five star property in this location but there are lots of bars and restaurants only a short walk away across the seafront. A much nicer option than Puerto Banus.

Room Tip: Definitely take a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrissiePaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Well worth upgrading to a junior suite, especially if you are staying for a few nights. All, for example, face the sea, have extra space and a good range of freebies. All staff we met were very welcoming and helpful. We ate 1 night in the restaurant - good quality and value; as were lunches around the pools. Breakfast was a joy with good choice and service. As for location, the hotel is on the beach, the Old Town of Marbella is about a 15 min walk and Puerto Bunas is around a 45 min walk - both very pleasant along the beach. Malaga airport is a 45 min drive to the hotel (or about 70 euros by taxi). We really enjoyed our stay here and would have no issues about returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

El hotel esta bien situado con un area de alberca importante. Los cuartos estan bien pero no son de gran lujo como dice ser Esta lejos de los Hoteles de Gran Lujo en el mundo.

Al llegar el lunes 19 por la noche tuve que bajar las maletas yo y no vi un valet hasta que me encontre dentro del lobby... un hotel de lujo siempre tiene alguien en la puerta sin excepcion, temporada baja o alta. Esta fue la primera impresion del gran lujo.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbarrutieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here for 1 week in march '11. I found the hotel was outdated, dirty and way overpriced. Our room was not cleaned properly, the staff were rude and unhelpful, it's advertised as child friendly - we didn't think it was, at all!

I would never go back or recommend it to anyone!

I was.charged 12 euro for a carton of milk for daughter, when I questioned the price I was told " this is a 5 star hotel not a supermarket!"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Johnemmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I had carried out my customary research on Trip Advisor into 4 and 5 star hotels in Marbella for our five day break. I saw little real difference in price between the two categories when taking into account travelling expenses, taxis etc, so we decided to stay in the centre of Marbella being convenient for Restaurants, Shops and the usual sightseeing.

As we had hired a car we arrived at the Hotel within 45 minutes from Malaga Airport without any difficulty. The Hotel is easy to find and of course well known if you have to ask directions involving some hand signals !!.

From the time you enter this magnificient Hotel and drive into their large free carpark you would have to be impressed. The entrance behoves a five star establishment and Reception is both large and modern. It contains a Beauty Salon, Cocktail Bar, Restaurant with adjoining Bar, free internet access if required and a beautifully designed Reception Desk. The check-in process is business like and we were upgraded to a standard room with sea view from the one we had booked, which was a mountain view. The difference it makes would be well worth the extra charge if one had to pay on pre-booking. The room was on the third floor, roughly in the middle of the Hotel and had the most marvellous view over the extensive Hotel gounds and gardens which lead down to the sea. Just sitting on the balcony lifts the spirits.

The room is nicely furnished, not exactly large, but more than adequate for relaxing when not seeing the sights and sun of Marbella. The ensuite bathroom has both a bath and shower, but the WC section is rather small and slightly awkward to move around in. Not exactly a minus but noticeable. There is an ice dispenser on each floor so that cool glass of wine on your balcony is easily arranged.

Breakfast consists of a very large choice of fruit, cereals, cheese, cold meats, numerous types of breads and hot food and the veritable baked beans for the more discerning diner. If you want to live the dream, there is also free Cava and fresh orange juice for your early morning Bucks Fizz.

It is a buffet style breakfast with attentive Waiter Service for your coffee or tea and clearing of tables etc. There is a hot food service section at one end of the Restaurant where you can obtain a freshly made omelette or pancake prepared by one of the Chefs. There are also a selection of stuffed mushrooms, sausages (Iberian) and various other types of prepared delicacies. However we found this food to be consistently cold on most mornings.

We were obvioulsy visiting at the end of the Season and I would say that the Hotel was only approx 1/4 full with Guests. There are numerous relaxers dotted around the two outdoor pools and there use is free with an Attendant who will supply the necessary items such as towels and drinks while you are relaxing. There is also an indoor pool, massage rooms and a Michelin Starred Restaurant, which was closed during our stay.

One tip I would give is to walk down to the back steps that lead down from the Hotel to the promenade and sea. The Hotel has a Cappuchino Coffee Bar and Restaurant, virtually on the promenade. It had wonderful coffee, hot and cold meal choices and the standard of food is great. The Staff are also extremely friendly and efficient.

There are numerous choices of Restaurants and Bars within a fifteen minute walk from the Hotel on the promenade side, which cater for every palate. One tip I would give is look for the ones with a largely Spanish Clientele. The food is far better quality.

I would recommend the Don Pepe to anyone except Hens and Stags. It is not that type of establishment. Other reviews often describe the Hotel as full of "auld wans". In other words elderly Guests. Lets just say it is not a lager lout destination.

-'s

It seems a shame to mention these as they are not major, but here goes.

The bathroom sink unit had a great deal of dirt built up on the top of the black marble facia board under the sink top.

The bedroom lighting system is a little complicated.

The ice machine which are located on every floor was out of order for at least 48 hours during our stay.

The Hotel Bar is featureless and devoid of any atmosphere.

The Hotel Grill Restaurant appeared to have a nice menu, but was empty every night as far as we could see.


+'s

The Hotel grounds are beautiful and very relaxing.

The pools are kept in excellent condition

The breakfast is one of the best we have experienced.

The Staff are both friendly and efficient, especially Marianna, sorry we had to cancel (you know what I mean)

The location is extremely convenient for everything.

For those who require taxis, there is a rank immediately outside the Hotel.

I will be hopefully be going back to the Don Pepe next year and would recommend the Hotel to anyone who wants high standards, good location,relaxing breaks, friendly staff, free parking and free Wi-Fi. In Marbella I would not stay anywhere else after experiencing this Hotel.

Look at the photographs of the Hotel on the booking sites and just count the days till you arrive. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if budget allows. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetartanleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
2.1 km away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
4.2 km away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
1.7 km away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.6 km away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.0 km away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Property: Gran Melia Don Pepe
Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing