We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Fuerte fantastic as usual!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent four nights here in March. We have stayed before, and continue to return because it's a great hotel in a smashing location.
As mentioned in other reviews, definitely worth the extra for a sea view room. Lying in bed listening to the waves is lovely.
Good points about the hotel - pleased to see that Wi-Fi is now free, the breakfast buffet as superb as always and the staff are very friendly and efficient. We thought drinks were good value.
Away from the hotel I recommend Bistro Paloma - reviewed elsewhere on Trip Advisor. We also ate at El Capitan which is just behind the hotel. Excellent value and good food.
Further afield we went to Puerto Banus as usual and it's looking very run down, away from all the glitz and glamour round the marina. However, El Corte Ingles' shoe collection much improved in my opinion!

Room Tip: worth the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

I went to this hotel with my husband and friends in February and went back again with my sisters in March it was so lovely. It is in a perfect setting, right by the beach and 2 minutes walk to the old town. The rooms are lovely especially if you have a sea view. It can be noisy if you have a room overlooking the street.
The breakfast buffet is really impressive and the evening buffet is large and good, though it is better really to eat out. Within a 5 - 10 minute walk of the hotel there are so many excellent tapas bars and restaurants you can eat in a different place every meal.
The staff at Fuerte Marbella are wonderful, so helpful and professional, attentive and charming. Justin, a relative new member is English with fluent Spanish and was invaluable.
I would recommend the place, fabulous!

Room Tip: West rooms with only tiny view of beach are noisy and very little sun. 4th floor east partial sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay here. We had originally been booked in the El Fuerte Miramar but as this was being renovated we were put here and all I can say is wow.

- Ideal Location.

Near to all bustops to la canáda or puerto banus, a two min stroll to the main promenade and a 5 min walk to Orange square.

- Cleanliness

Spotless. I only seen one cleaner my whole time there but they must have trained mice etc as it is spectacularly clean.

- Staff

Singly the most pleasant and helpfull folk I have met. Nancy on reception particularly couldnt do enough to help us.

- Rooms

We had adouble sea view and it was amazing. Ideal and my partner was able to have someone come up and do her wedding rehearsal hair and make up in adequate comfort.

Brilliant hotel, one of the best we have stayed in by far.

Room Tip: Double sea view rooms overlook the promenade yet you will not hear any noise from it as the waves dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank superjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Our seaview room was excellent: very spacious with his and hers wardrobes, large bathroom, nice balcony, and - a rarity outside the UK - a kettle with coffee-making facilities in the room. And it also had a safe, minibar and satellite TV. Elsewhere in the hotel there is a congenial bar which does good lunchtime food and the occasional burst of flamenco dancing in the evening. In the restaurant the breakfast buffet does not disappoint - they cook omelettes, crepes and eggs to order. In the evening they have a buffet which is absolutely delicious and it's hard to resist the temptation to overeat; you can restrict yourself to the cold buffet if you wish for a smaller fixed price. Everywhere in the hotel all the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.
The hotel is well situated in the centre of Marbella, with the sea on one side and the Old Town on the other. We ate in the Patio restaurant in the Old Town one night and it was excellent. I can also recommend the El Greco cafe at the entrance to the Old Town for late afternoon coffee and cake.
If you are feeling energetic you can walk along the promenade to Puerto Banus in about an hour and a half, otherwise frequent buses will take you there for about €1.20 per person each way.
On arrival at Marbella airport you have a choice: a taxi will take you to the hotel for about €65, or you can catch a bus to Marbella bus station for €4.77 per person then (as the bus station is on the edge of town) get a taxi to the hotel for €5.50.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil of England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We visited El Fuerte to celebrate a special occasion and really enjoyed it. We ate out so didn't use the restaurant but the bar was very comfortable with access to lovely gardens. Our room was both immaculate and comfortable with a good sized balcony and fabulous views - definitely worth a premium for a front sea view room. If your looking for late and lively night life it may not suit but if you prefer nice surroundings with nice class of clientel its perfect for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Having stayed at El Fuerte on many occasions I thought I'd write a review as I really like the place. I went last week for a quick visit and drink and noticed they have new sun loungers by the pool.

The location is perfect, right on the Paseo and seconds from the beach. The pool area is great, a good size and overlooking the sea. The pool is a good temperature and there is a bar adjacent, always good. No one uses the pool in low season but there is an indoor complex for winter bathing, however the indoor pool is in lanes and they don't like 'fun' swimming.

Lots of restaurants and supermarkets adjacent too, and just a short stroll to Orange Square. The beach restaurant is also fab and worth a visit.

Breakfast cannot be faulted, everything you could want, great choice of fruit, breads and cereals, as well as lovely hot food and a egg/pancake station. They also provide free Cava!

The rooms are nice too with a good choice of TV channels in many languages, but the entertainment is the best for me. I love it and it's full of locals in the evening, a good sign.

The drinks are reasonably priced and the staff fairly efficient.

You will often find Flamenco shows, piano acts, singers and even a Michael Jackson tribute act.

It is a great 4* hotel and although not the cheapest, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for the old part of the hotel. Sea views are a premium and side-sea views probably not worth hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maxxxsensation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We'll return to this lovely, clean hotel on the promenade, within a stroll of Orange Square.

What a pleasure to sit with a drink in the gardens by the sea without the inconvenience of sand.
Every staff member was efficient and friendly.
Our sea facing room (new building) was worth the upgrade with all day sun on the balcony.
Some sea facing bedrooms are being renovated to accommodate wheelchair users - well done!
Good breakfasts with chocolate fountain at the weekends.
We liked to eat out in the evenings and enjoyed meals at The Orange Tree, Beckitts and Fontanilla.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the side street as bin collections are very noisy through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 km away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
932 reviews
1.6 km away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,808 reviews
5.7 km away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 70 in Marbella
1,408 reviews
0.5 km away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,497 reviews
11.2 km away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $143 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing