We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,946)
Filter reviews
1,946 results
Traveller rating
1,141
599
126
46
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,141
599
126
46
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view old town exclusive lounge sea front orange squash breakfast buffet lovely hotel outdoor pool beach restaurant reception staff location is excellent four star public areas large bathroom plenty of sunbeds per day hotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 1,946 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

My first choice of hotel in Marbella would be Amare Beach, which sadly is closed off season. This hotel, however, would be my second choice and has everything for a quiet, relaxing beach holiday right on the edge of Old Town Marbella. The location, staff, food and service is truly outstanding...but personally I prefer more lively entertainment and surroundings without kids. Waiter service does not include the pool areas, which it should in my opinion. The poolside bar is also closed at this time of year, if the pool and loungers are being used it should be open for guests, especially when there is no waiter service.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank DawnAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear DawnAmanda,

Thank you for choosing us for your break, taking into account that our sister hotel Amare had not been open yet for the summer season.

It is nice to learn that you enjoyed the laid-back atmosphere of Fuerte Marbella, as well as its location and service provided by our excellent staff. It is true that the pool service is slighly limited during the winter time and we are sorry if this has not lived up to the rest of your holiday experience.

We hope that you visit Marbella again in the future, and we or Amare can host you.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018

Just back from a short but very sweet stay at this hotel. Been going back for years with the family as we all love it so much. It has certainly changed over the years and for the better and fits the bill for location and quality standards. The staff are always very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is amazing and if I had to pick a fault, the bed was a little firm! Already looking to go back again later this year

Room Tip: Sea view or side sea view are obviously best rooms
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Dear Karen G,

First of all we wish to thank you for your loyalty and for returning to Fuerte Marbella with your family.

We have done quite a lot of updates recently and our repeater guests are the best judges of this progress. We always have you on our mind when remodelling, since we do not wish to loose the charm and coziness that Fuerte Marbella has been offering for the last six decades.

Most of our mattrasses can be flipped and thus enable us to choose either the hard or soft side. We hope that this helps for your future visits.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

Booked at the last minute for some winter sunshine when we saw a good forecast in January. Tried to book on Club Amigos to get the benefits of our 2nd stay but the booking failed each time so in the end we rang up but I have realised now from our phone bill that it cost us over £20 to book on the phone! Please Fuerte Hotels sort out your poor Club Amigos online booking site. As my headline says, we're not so fussed on Marbella itself but we do love this hotel. It's got style, great comfort, wonderful staff, massive breakfast selection with bubbly and all in a prime location on the front with that lovely little glass balconied terrace overlooking the sea, and just minutes walk into Old Town for restaurants and tapas in the evenings.

This was our 2nd stay as we had enjoyed the first so much. Our room was perfect, spacious with a great view and we enjoyed late breakfasts in the morning with the added benefit of taking some bubbly outside to sit in the sun which was marvellous in January. As opposed to half board it suits us better to do tapas in the evening and as many of the restaurants/tapas bars seemed to be closed in Old Town this year in January we tried some new local ones which were great if you don't want to overload foodwise in the evening. We tried Casa Blanca and Taberna del Pinxto (couple of streets away) and Bodega del Mar just along the front 5 mins which were all good in different ways. We were disappointed to see Coco Rico closed in Jan. but enjoyed meals at Garum again (10 mins along front) and Madrilan Restaurant just along the front underneath the hotel. We didn't get chance to try Solero (the hotel's beach restaurant) as it was also closed until mid Feb.

We did the usual walk to Puerto Banus (7kms) but again I'm not fussed on Puerto Banus either. Designer shops, overpriced restaurants, flashy cars and obscenely big yachts somehow don't do it for me - I'll leave that to the easily impressed youngsters/minor celebs who call it 'Marbs'.

Getting to the Hotel is easy - take the bus to Marbella Bus Station (40mins) from the airport (you buy your tickets in the kiosk outside arrivals) about 7 euros one way and very efficient service that runs reasonably frequently. Then get a taxi straight outside Marbella bus station down to the Hotel about 7/8 euros (5 mins). Easy!

We had a great stay with lots of sitting in the sun and walks along the front. Nice bar lunch at the hotel one day with an excellent chicken caesar salad. We also enjoyed the swimming in the warm indoor pool. Great place! Most people seem to love it as we do. Apparently, the hotel is trying to become a 5 star. If they do succeed I just hope they don't hike their prices too much as this may well put us off booking as I feel it is expensive enough especially in January.

Room Tip: We always choose a front room as that view is lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your second stay in Marbella!

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences suffered during your booking process, this has been pointed out to our colleagues in charge of Reservations so that neither you or other member of Club de Amigos experience it again. Thank you for pointing this to us.

Your nice comments about the buffet selection are very valuable to us since we constantly improve our culinary offer and its service. The location is unbeatable and together with the heated pool in the winter time is the reason why many guests decide to return.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Stayed here as part of a large group and it was an excellent hotel throughout our stay. The Restaurant had the biggest selection of food and teas I have ever seen in all hotel experiences. The hotel and grounds were spotless and I must say that the jewel in the crown were the Reception and Breakfast staff who were most efficient and always most pleasant. We will return soon.

Stayed: February 2018
5  Thank jjgh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Fuerte Marbella.

We are happy that you liked our breakfast selection as well as the hotel gardens. Your kind comments about our team are highly appreciated, since it is thank to our colleagues that Fuerte Marbella has its charm.

We will be excited to see you returning.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights on a half board basis and loved every minute. I have to say the location, staff and food were all really excellent and the hotel itself is very smart as are the garden grounds in which it is set.
The show- cooking by the chef (Juan) in the restaurant was really impressive and entertaining and I enjoyed a swim in the heated indoor pool ( which was nice and warm) each day.
I stayed in a double with full sea view and it was well worth the money as the view from the balcony was really lovely.
Many of the other guests I spoke to had been to this hotel before and some return year after year. Its no surprise really as its a really friendly and classy hotel and I’m looking forward to my next stay at this hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank OldBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria A, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing you first-hand opinion on Fuerte Marbella Hotel.

We are happy that our location, the attention of our team and the culinary offer contributed to make your holiday special.

Juan is well known by our guests and apart from delicious meals, also provides entertainment in the show cooking. We are truly fortunate to have him on board.

It will be a pleasure to host you in the future. Please feel free to reach to us with whatever inquiry or wish you may have.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews