We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of La Villa Marbella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa Marbella
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March. I booked it because of the amazing reviews on this site, and I was not disappointed. Upon arrival we were met by Ben (Canadian) who upgraded us to the Phuket room (in Marbella 9). The room was gorgeous. On our 2nd day we met Marcos the owner (Brazilian) who seems to make a very special effort to meet and greet all his guests during their stay. He is just a natural at Customer Service. His warmt and conversation just flow naturally. Juan also looked after us with maps and recommendations for dining and Marcos sister served our breakfast each day.
Breakfast serves until noon which is really good if you fancy a lie on.
The room itself was spotless clean, with fresh towels left out daily.
Set in the Old Town, it is a more inviting place to stay rather than the high rise 5-star hotels along the promenade.
While we were there, Marcos just opened his latest rooms "The Design".
We will defintely return to LVM and highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just came back from 2nd visit to La Villa Marbella and it is still a great place. I don't usually like going back to a place more than once as I generally find it isn't as good 2nd time around and spoils the memories. However, this is not the case with La Villa Marbella. This time stayed in the newly opened Design Property and it is another fantasticly designed and decorated property - well done Marcos and Team. Again Marcos, Isabella, Ben and the team did everything they could to make it another memorable stay. Also Marbella Old Town has a lot to offer with restaurants and closeness to everything. I think we will be back again in September!

Room Tip: Stayed in 3 rooms now and they all been very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Looking for something a bit different, we chose to stay here at the end of March 2012 for 3 nights.

It's a lovely collection of pretty, modern rooms set in 3 different houses all within a few metres of each other. Painstakingly restored to a very high standard, in the quiet part of the old town. Breakfast is served in a one of the houses, which has a small pool and a roof terrace.

Great staff, who all spoke very good English and couldn't have been more helpful or knowledgeable, helping us with directions and recommending local bars, tapas and sights.

So enjoyable - thanks to Marco and all the staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Me and my wife stayed at la villa for three days march 17th 20th we stayed here because of the great reveiws. All I can say is fantastic. Marcos. Isabella . Were brilliant . Hotel very charming . Surrounding old town lovely. will definetly stay here again very soon I hope . Wish we were still there :-) jw & cw Aberdeen Scotland

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from a quick break in Marbella, visiting the area for the first time. We booked Villa Marbella through Hotels.com and used the hotel website as a guide to pick a room that suited my wife and I. We decided to book the Datai room which is located in the Cottage building a few yards up the road from reception. This building comprises 3 rooms, an inside lounge, and roof terrace. It also has its own kitchen, presumably to be utilised if you rent the entire building. The Datai room was excellent, including Sat TV, HIFI, mini bar, tea/coffee making facility, iron, safe,and a great bathroom. The place was impecably spotless, and cleaned thoroughly each day. I must also point out that it was extremely quiet and peaceful, and we heard no traffic noise etc at all during our entire stay.

The level of service displayed from the hotels staff/owners was first class, and on a par with some 5 star hotels I have been lucky enough to stay in. The personal touch is unbelievable, and nothing is too much trouble. We were checked in quickly and efficently by Boli, who also helped us with restaurant recommendations - all of which were perfect - including Tapas bars (we really enjoyed Bodegas La Venencia), Pinxto bars, and he even booked a table in a great restaurant called Red Pepper in Peurto Banus. He provided me with a detailed map, drawing on how to navigate the Old Town, and pointing out bars/restaurants etc.

Breakfast is pre ordered when checking in, an consists of the usual continental affair - all of which was delicious, and served promptly. In fact breakfast is served right through to noon, which suited us perfectly.

The Hotel is situated only a few streets away from Orange Square, and a couple of minutes walk to the beach (downhill) or to a taxi rank if you fancy getting out of town, or up to the bus stop. It even has some lovely buildings surrounding it, and plenty of small bars, cafes, shops, chemists etc all in walking distance.

As it was slightly out of season we found the area quiet most evenings, but with so many options to eat/drink, it wouldnt really be a problem if busier.

On checking out we had decided not to have breakfast so we could catch our bus to the airport - but Marco insisted we had time stating that he would have a taxi ready and waiting for us when we had finished eating - and if we missed the bus he would personally drive us to the airport! Of course he knew that the Spanish bus service is in no rush, and we caught our bus without a problem (4.77 euro to Airport one way - 45mins).

Our first trip to Marbella exceeded all expectations, helped by our wonderful stay at Villa Marbella - are we will be sure to stay there again (and recommend to all our friends and family). A big thank you to Boli for all his recommendations, Ben for giving us some much needed info about the general strike that was on (affecting bus services), and Marco for providing us with such a unique and memorably stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhuvarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel was toward the end of our stay, and easily became the apex of our experiences with Spanish hoteliers. From Marcos' superb front-desk skills (he secured us a guide in Morrocco, recommended memorable places to eat or dine within walkingbdistance depending on budget, and helped us navigate Gibraltar) to the young exchange student serving us a sumptuous breakfast and tea each morning, this hotel is dripping in the definition of superior customer service. That alone would be enough for me to praise and recommend it, but the inn itself is stellar. Big, clean, themed rooms, updated baths, comfy beds, turndown service, hospitable staff and all within easy cobblestone steps to the old city because it's in the old town. Can't drive up to door (though we tried until a local shouted "prohibito!" at us - so much for Garmin's Spanish GPS upgrade), but easy walk from relatively inexpensive parking. The rooms are spread out among white-stuccoed apartments, so you feel emersed in the local atmosphere, and you can stand on the little balconies and observe the feel of the place. Highly recommend this inn with one caution: if you're driving, email or call hotel itself for directions to the car park (parking lot) in advance. It's off site, and not difficult. But we booked through Hotels.com, and it only provided an address, which we plugged into GPS. Trust us, you can't get there from anywhere that way. Once checked in, hotel made parking process simple. Wish we were still there!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamCurrie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were just passing through Marbella for one night, so I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews, and I'm happy to say that they were absolutely right! The owner Marcos, and all the staff were so welcoming, and seemed genuinely pleased to help, the staff at many a 5-star hotel should be sent here for a training course!

We stayed in the Lhasa suite, which is basically a small apartment with two indoor sitting rooms and a large comfortable roof terrace with a jacuzzi, all very tastefully decorated, and very reasonably priced. The various rooms and suites are scattered round the old town. We loved the short walk through the narrow streets and leafy plaza to get to breakfast, which is in another courtyard building with a pool.

Marbella was very charming and relaxed in March before the hordes of summer, but hot enough to spend a couple of days eating seafood on cafe terraces. The paella at El Gallo just up the road was particularly good.

The Villa Marbella obviously work hard to make sure all their guests are happy and judging from our experience and those of other reviewers, they are clearly very successful!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Lhasa suite, as it is separate and completely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonPika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.6 km away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
0.1 km away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
355 reviews
1.0 km away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,543 reviews
1.7 km away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,838 reviews
5.9 km away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29601, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $140 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your La Villa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing