We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value and comfortable hotel.”
Review of Sol Don Pablo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Don Pablo
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Extremely good value and comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The fact this was our third visit here says it all, as we generally don't stay in the same hotel twice.

The hotel is extremely good value for money especially if you book in advance. Last year we had the B and B option, but were so impressed with the food we took the half board option this year. The dinners were as good as the breakfasts, and what I like especially about this hotel is that the dining room is open until 10.00 at night, thereby allowing you to have nice drink in the bar, go down for dinner at 9 and then have a leisurely meal without being rushed out as they wanted to close as we have found with other hotels.

The rooms have a fridge (but no kettle) hairdryer, safe (additional cost) free wifi, easy chairs and coffee table which is a real bonus as its not easy to sit and read propped up on a bed. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and the rooms are serviced well/

The hotel has all the conveniences and facilities of a big hotel but due to its decor and furnishings has lots of character too.

Last year it rained non stop but there was still lots to do with a swimming pool, sauna, loads of sofas comfortable chairs, etc in the reception area. Thankfully this year the weather was better and we even got to sunbathe.

The hotel is right on the beach and there are lots of cafes, shops etc next to the hotel. There is a taxi rank outside that will take you up into the centre of Torremolinos for about 7 euros, and there you can find a bus and train station as well as the centre itself. If you wanted to walk, it is up a steep incline but there are shops you can look at to ease the walk. We tended to take a taxi up and walk back down.

If we can find a good deal we want to return to this hotel in July as a base to explore the interior of Spain.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cg26Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    928
    316
    84
    41
See reviews for
710
1,109
48
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We normally go to Marbella but booked this hotel just 3 weeks before . From the minute we arrived it was so relaxing. Reception staff were very friendly ,quick check in . We asked for a "sunny side " room which we paid an extra 6 euro's a day . Well worth it ,we were on the 2nd floor (odd numbers are the suuny rooms ) with a side sea view overlooking the bowling green . Great for people watching .Lovely large bedroom ,spotless ,nice balcony with a table and two chairs. In the room we had two comfortable chairs to sit and read rather than a lot of hotels where the only place is sitting on the bed . Furnishings may be a little dark for some but we found it very relaxing.plenty of wardrobe space .Breakfast buffet was great very varied and again no rush as it went on till 10.30 am. Good varied buffet at night , Friday was the best as the prawns and salmon came out along with meats ,hot and cold.Lots of different starters and sweets . The waiters are lovely ,tables cleared very quickly . The entertainment was first class ,plenty of dancing as well. Loved the idea that we could use both hotels so in fact we had everything we wanted in the evening so never left the complex .The drama came two days in. I woke up with a swollen eye and a rash on my face . I do get this from time to time but I had forgotten to take my tablets with me . We remembered that the hotel had a visiting doctor so we went to see Andrew (a lovely Russian doc) thinking he would just give me a few pills but no,even though he had been on call in the night he spent 3/4 hour doing tests ,asking about as much of my history before giving me a prescription and some very good advice to see my own dr on my return. I have done just that and he gave me a wake up call and I'm having treatment from his good advice . He saved our holiday as normally I have this swelling for a week or more but the tablets took the swelling down in 24 hrs ! We then were free to enjoy the holiday . We walked miles along the spotless promenade, climbed up the steps to the centre, we took the lift (50c) the next time !The town has some lovely shops,cafes . We caught the train to Malaga from the top of the town . There is so much to see within walking distance of the hotel which is in a fabulous spot.Right on the beach but also next to the steps up to the town. Dont worry about getting around as the whole place is on the flat . The beaches are fabulous and as a resort we give it 10/10 and the hotel and it's staff 10/10. Are we going back ...you bet. We went to Fuengerola just to see our old haunt ....tatty ,dirty town centre ,graffity... we will not go back . I was 16 went I first went to Torremolinos with just one hotel so we feared the worse ( 61 yrs old now ! ) but it has been developed beautifully with out the cheap and cheerful waterng holes. We loved the fact that all nations were there but mainly it was the warm spainish ,just as it should be !It is Spain at its best so thankyou Don Pablo for a relaxing, safe ,fun holiday .

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the afternoon then choose a room with an uneven number ,the morning sun rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EastMidlandsMarash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We had an excellent easter break in Torremolinos, and the Don Pablo was an important part of that. I was fearing a lager-loutish charter hotel, but was positively surprised.
The location is excellent. Right on the beach but within easy (and fun - lots of little stores and restaurants on the way) walking distance (ca 1 km) of the Torremolinos city centre and Metro station. The walk is steep in part but the cuty has done a great job with walking paths.
We took the metro from the Malaga train station and that was cheap and no problem at all.
The beach is clean with a looong (at least 3 km in each direction) tiled beach promenade in each direction. We jogged in the mornings and rented rollerblades one day. The marina is 3,5 km away which is a nice walk/bike ride and 1 km up north from the hotel is a popular spot for wind and kite surfing. Along the beach there are plenty of decent restaurants. (We used the restaurant section of Tripadvisor and had excellent and very reasonably priced dinners). We had a flight back home from the Malaga airport which is 12 minutes (non rush hour) and 20 euros away by taxi.

The hotel facilities are excellent. Our family room was large and had a nice seaview. The floors are marbled (great for rollerblading but do not tell the management:-), the hotel has a tennis court, a gym (that we did not use) and lots of pools. Even an indoor one which is very good when it's too cold to swin outside. A winner with the kids. Since the hotel is big on charter tours they organize lots of trips (Tanger, Marbella, Granada and so on) and facilitate bike and rollerblade rentals. You may be able to get a better deal up the street by the tourist office for rentals but it was closed so we rented via the hotel. Good service and good equipment.

The staff is friendly and the breakfast is decent (but the coffee is poor and they don't have proper orange juice. Bummer).

On the negative side? Well - it's big so don't expect a personal, intimate place. And the nightly entertainment is not exactly world class. The dinner may be good (we did not try) but is taken in a big, brightly lit breakfast room. There are plenty of other and probably better options in Torremolinos.

We paid €123 per night for a family room during easter. Fair enough, I think.

Room Tip: The rooms are not sound proofed so bring ear plugs just in case. We had a room close to the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is our 3rd break in the Pablo. Each time it gets better. The rooms have all been upgraded and we noted that facilities for the disabled are particularly good. We are not disabled but the improvements were very obvious. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Balcony space with sea view also very spacious. Staff very friendly and accomodating. We very much enloyed the 2 bowling greens. Breakfast was excellent with a great range including full English. Dinner menu was fine and self service so you could choose and eat what you wantted. There was usually somethng to suit. Cleaners for the rooms were terrific and very accomodating. We will be returning later this year. Thoroughly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: If travelling in high summer ask for a room away from sun otherwise ask for the sunny side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

we have been going to sol don pablo for the last six years and we find the standards within the hotel have improved over these years,in particular the standard of food.Also the cleanliness of the rooms has been maintained to a high standard.We noted this year that the entertainment and activities were varied and enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malcolm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was my fifth year at the 'Sol Don' complex - twice in the Pablo and three times in the Marco. This trip - to the Pablo - was the best so far as the room (501) was just perfect. At the sea-front end of the Pablo, and on the 'sunny side' of the building, the l-shaped balcony meant that you had the sun all day, which was just ideal for the relaxing break I had planned.

The hotel offers much in the way of entertainment and activities, though that's not why I keep on going back. The whole place is spotless, the staff are lovely and even the fussiest of eaters (i.e., me!) can enjoy the buffet breakfast and dinner. Also, the location works really well - directly opposite from the beach, a good selection of shops/restaurants nearby and an easy 10-15 minute walk to the centre of town. Having the small fridge in the room is a great bonus also as it allows you to keep drinks and small snacks handy so you don't have to venture too far away from the balcony if you don't want to!

I really 'need' my winter break and, since first going to the Sol Don complex in 2006 I spend a good few weeks each year searching for bargains in various locations. However, I've yet to find better value for money in a better hotel, so can't imagine I'll be going anywhere else in the immediate future!

Room Tip: If you're staying in the Pablo and will be spending a lot of time on the balcony, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LindaRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been going to the Sol Don Pablo for seventeen years most years twice. I love the hotel, the staff are all lovely, the food is great. Fun to sit down with the family at the end of the evening watching the different shows, great swimming pool. They always make you feel welcome and it always smells fresh. I couldn't possibly find a bad point as i have NEVER had a bad service. Nice relaxing holiday - right on top of the beach - Shops right out side and the high-street is only 10 minutes away. I would like to thank all staff and entertainers for making all these years great and memorable for me and my family.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keeleigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.8 km away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,302 reviews
0.5 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,745 reviews
0.1 km away
Sol Don Pedro
Sol Don Pedro
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
0.1 km away
Sol Don Marco
Sol Don Marco
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
914 reviews
0.3 km away
Bajondillo Apartments
Bajondillo Apartments
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Don Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Don Pablo

Property: Sol Don Pablo
Address: Paseo Maritimo S/N, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Family Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torremolinos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Don Pablo 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Don Pablo has a privileged location, right on the Bajondillo beach promenade, in Torremolinos (Malaga), part of the Sol Don Hotels complex together with Sol Don Pedro and Sol Don Marco. Is the perfect choice for family or friends, has 443 rooms decorated in Andalusian style and equipped with double bed or twin beds (subject to availability), desk, satellite TV, telephone, terrace / balcony, mini bar (*), safe (*) and full equipped bathroom, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, bath with shower or walk-in shower (subject to availability). All rooms are non-smoking, except those found in the third and fourth floor. Wide and varied day and night entertainment program, for adults and children (5-12 years). Sol Don Hotels Complex has 6 outdoor swimming pools for adults, 2 children's outdoor pools, 1 indoor heated pool in winter (in Sol Don Pablo) and 2 hot tubs, surrounded by gardens and overlooking the sea. Different dining areas (Restaurant Casares, Cordoba Restaurant, Bar Bangkok, Bar Andalucia, Bar Patio, Bar Romano and pool bar); free internet connection (WIFI) throughout the hotel; Internet corner (E - point) (*); Private and public parking (*); Spa and Hairdresser (*); Convention Center with 10 meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 500 people (*). A few minutes from the Torremolinos center and close to the airport, Malaga and Puerto Marina. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Don Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Don Pablo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Sol Melia Torremolinos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing