We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,021)
Filter reviews
5,021 results
Traveller rating
1,562
1,798
1,017
348
296
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,562
1,798
1,017
348
296
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room kids club half board across the road sea view pool area large hotel something for everyone bar staff sun loungers food was lovely snack bar high season every evening lots of choice short break salad
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 5,021 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2020

Customer care is top notch at Sol Principe - its never going to be easy in the COVID status we all find ourselves in. These guys went above and beyond to help my family out in this difficult period and sent an email ahead of time to help set expectations - we will be going back.

Date of stay: August 2020
1  Thank 441declank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel Burgos, Other at Sol Principe, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2020

Hi 441declnk!! thank you very much for your comments and your score!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2020

Wonderful hotel, excellently equipped for the present covid 19 pandemic situation, social distancing is well accommodated by the large Caribbean style pool, with the sun loungers marked out in bays, and hand sanitiser is strategically placed around the whole complex. The food is to a good standard although with a one-way system it is difficult at times to carefully select your options, chefs and waiters very attentive, tables and chairs again marked out for social distance. At the bar you will be attentively looked after by the staff and entertained by ‘Pedro’, whose brother Miguel works alongside him, the shows on the stage every evening were very professional and entertaining. I did have an issue one night at the bar but after speaking to the hotel manager Juan Antonio was delighted when he acted swiftly to remedy the situation. The reception was busy but staff were always courteous special mention to Angela who was most hang helpful when we arrived, in general staff went out of their way to be pleasant. There were many things that impressed the location, for example across the road the splendid Playamar Beach with some remarkable and inexpensive seafood beach restaurants. The food in the hotel often included a different pie paella dish, the cuttlefish in its ink was fabulous, I was also impressed with the establishment of foot pedestals for the fruit juice machines. If you fancy a day out to Malaga you can get taxi to the nearby La Colina rail station and every 20 mins there is a train directly into the City Centre.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrotherPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel Burgos, Other at Sol Principe, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2020

Good Morning!!, Thank you very much for your comments and your score. WE hope to see you son with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2020

The hotel has a magical location with a view on the sea side. The rooms are ok. There is however not much space for your clothes in the closet. The pool is fantastic when you have children. Also the facilities are very random.
About the food, this is the weakest point of the hotel. The food is to far cooked, has no taste. Where are people that enjoying eating, but here we are still hungry when we leave the table. During breakfast they are several coffee machines, in the evening you must pay for coffee. After a week using the towels for the swimming pool, we want to exhange tem by the reception. Where we must pay for new towels. It's the first time that these service is not included.

Conclusion: the food is not good. And you pay for services that normaly are included. Whe thought that it was a good hotel, 4 stars, good recommomdation. But it is a big factory for tourism. Good for 1 time, and never again. I'am sorry.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 812martijnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2020 via mobile

We just came back from a wonderful week at this amazing hotel and we couldn't be happier. This place is just awesome!! Very clean, beautiful pool area and great staff. There is nothing they wouldn't do to make your visit the best you could ever ask for. The hotel is situated right on a beautiful beach with many shops and restaurants right in front of it. The rooms are spotless clean and we had an amazing view from our terrace on the 10tb floor. Very comfortable beds and air conditioning. Different activities everyday such as aqua work out, yoga, spinning and more. Every night different shows on the stage next to the pool bar that we really enjoyed. The food was really good. We arrived a week after the reopening and it was not many guests at the hotel so it was not much to chose from the first day but it all changed the next day. Due to the situation in the world I think that they really made the best of it and all the staff was working really hard to give us the best experience ever. I would really recommend it to everybody, families, friend and couples. You won't get dissapointed!! Thank you so much Sol principe for a unforgettable time. We will definitely visit you again as soon as possible.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank AgnesG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel Burgos, Other at Sol Principe, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2020

Hello Agnes!!,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. As you said, our team is working very hard to make your Experience amazing and the most important…. safe. Thanks a lot!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2020 via mobile

Myself and Husband had short break Monday to Friday . Hotel is big . Pool out back near beach across road . There is a gate here to get out to beach you use your key card to get back in . Do not keep the key card near your phone as it will stop working like ours did . The hotel just reset it . Big lagoon pool at front . 2 Restaurants . Only one was open while there . The staff are good and friendly . The Restaurant staff are older and I’d say very good at clearing tables and service . They do a very good job . Rooms are clean and good . Beds are so comfy great nights sleep . Would love a kettle and cups in room at no extra cost . As a 4 star would of thought these to be standard really . Food average . Think meat could be better . We had lunch from bar which was nice . The bars across road are nice to to people watch of a evening . We played bingo and done quiz another night . But most nights we used to go for walk . Bellamadina is a hour walk or cab 10 euros . Was busy there . We liked where this hotel is placed the quieter part with residential next door . Was going to come in may , but the world has other ideas at the moment . But will be back when can to get some much need rest and relaxation here . Thank you . Hope you are all staying safe and look forward to return here

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 4BY4SALLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews