We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of SENTIDO Amaragua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Amaragua
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Everyone's expectations are different. A bedroom is a bedroom, but the difference
between a 2 star and 4 star should be obvious. The Amaragua definately has 2 star bedrooms.
Firstly if you think, as I did, you are going to get any of the rooms shown on websites, forget it. There excuse is that the modern part of the hotel was closed so we were put into the 'old' hotel.The rooms are tiny, the beds are hard, there is no body cream, shower cap, etc that you would expect from a 4 star. There is not even a clock in the room. An old television, with a whizzing noise that made watching it annoying.
On check-in, I requested a high floor, sunny room. We were given rooms on the 2nd floor, and we got sun for about 20 minutes at 8am! The other room got no sun whatsoever. Neither bedroom bore any resemblance to what is shown on their website. Marina, the receptionist, seemed intent on giving us the opposite to what we requested. So much so, that when she recommended taking the bus into Malaga for a shopping trip, we took the train!!
The lobby of the hotel is nice as are the grounds. I would reckon 3 star quality. The only 4star thing about the hotel is it's location. Sitting on top of the promenade, overlooking the beach.
I had phoned the hotel prior to booking to check on whether the pool was heated. I was told it was. When we tried to go for a swim, the pool was freezing. When I asked about the pool being heated, Marina advised me it was. When I was more specific, it turns out the indoor pool is heated but not the outdoor one. The indoor pool closes between 2 and 4, when we would have wanted to use it.
We requested late check-out - it cost 40 euro for one room, which is good value if you don't have to go to the airport until the evening. However, I felt they knew we were so disappointed in our rooms, that they could have offered the late check-out room for free, by way of an apology.
This was the most expensive hotel option on all the hotel websites - certainly the Marbella area offers better value and true 4 star hotels. Pick up your socks Amaragua. Higher standards, a receptionist who cares (although everything was always said with a smile), and a concierge to answer questions would all enhance the experience of staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently the new building is better and may even resemble the rooms shown on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coco_backler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

I organised accommodation on a half-board basis for 56 set dancers from Ireland and Belgium at the end of February 2012. The location, close to Malaga airport and on the seafront, was breathtaking. The accommodation, meals, level of service and attention to our specific requirements were superb. Well done to Pablo and his team - we are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padraigoruanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

just spent 12nights at the amaragua 2nd visit great room 6th floor partial sea view sun all afternoon till it went down very nice staff very helpfull rooms kept spotless great cleaners very friendly food not bad could have been hotter and a bit more choice excellant choice of fish which my husband loved but not every body likes fish will be visiting the hotel again in september

Room Tip: igher rooms are best stayed in 612 great sun from midday till it went down plus part sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Having had our hotel changed from the one next door because it was to be closed because of renovations. We got a great deal. Lovely room, good food excellent staff. Fantastic location. Would go back again. One problem we were on the seventh floor and you could hear the air conditioning at night. But after a couple of nights got used to it as if it was not there

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glyn_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

we spent New Year at this hotel after we had had such a good time there 2 years ago and we were not disappointed. Hotel spotlessly clean, staff very helpful, lovely relaxed atmoshpere, indoor pool and jacuzi a pleasant added bonus. Ideal spot right on beach with lovely walks to either Torremolinos or Benelmadena. Able to use outside pool area this time due to exceptionaly warm weather for time of the year. New Years Eve was great! lovely food lots to drink great staff.
We were half board and the food was excellent I do not eat meat but there was still plenty of choice and lots of different fish. We had a young baby with us and the staff were marvelous with him. Thank you Hotel Amaragua we will be back.

Room Tip: we were in the newer part of hotel and were very happy with room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Amaragua in Torremolinos. The booking in was handled efficiently and the staff were very helpful. We were allotted a room on the 4th floor which had the sun coming in from 9am to 5pm. The room was a fine size and the bathroom was well laid out. The room was spotless and well cleaned each day. The towels were replaced each day and the linen changed every second day. You had to pay for the safe in your room which was 2,75 euro per day as it was run by an outside company. The reception area and the bar area were very comfortable but the entertainment was limited to the sporadic piano playing. The restaurant overlooks a beautiful view of the beach and a fabulous view of the sunrise. It was beautifully set out and there variety of food for breakfast was very good. The food for dinner was a bit bland but the main complaint we had that the food was lukewarm instead of been hot. They did have a microwave but it was not plugged in as the plug was been used for the soup. I would recommend this hotel for class and comfort.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side and above the 4th floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry280344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was the second time we had visited Torremolinos and the first at this hotel. It was a bit farther from the main town area if you take the sea walk but the back roads got you there in good time. The hotel lobby is quite pretty with art work and a wall fountain. The people at the desk were helpful. The bar was off the lobby and service there was excellent and sometimes there was entertainment. There are two parts to this hotel and we were in the older main part off the lobby. When we arrived our room was not cleaned but it was taken care of right away. The room was comfortable, clean but basic.The hair dryer is the old vacuum hose type. The floors are marble that is very nice but can be noisy when people around you move chairs at night. My one complaint is that they use a single long body pillow as the head pillow for the bed...this was rather uncomfortable if you move a lot at night. We had a small balcony and if you leaned out you could see some of the sunrise over the ocean. A better view is found at pool side. We were also able to see the New Years fireworks from up in the town behind us. The restaurant is large and buffet style.. It doesn't open for real coffee and specially cooked eggs until 7:30 which, if you are doing some day trips as we were, leaving at 8...pretty much limited us to machine nescafe and other buffet items...toast, pastries,yogurt etc. The buffet included salads, cold cuts, no fresh fruit except for one day but canned frit, yogurt, breads, champagne etc so you didn't go hungry. The room itself opened at 7am...if they started the real coffee and omelets etc at 7:15 that would have given one more time to make the bus connections for the tours. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. It was a buffet at 26Euros per person and there are many many excellent restaurants right outside the hotel and prices are reasonable.There is a large outdoor infinity pool, a spa with an indoor pool and an area for a massage and a workout area. the hotel also has several large conference rooms. From the hotel, we walked to the harbor area and beyond and we also walked up from the hotel to the Battery Park which was wonderful! You can easily take a ride into Malaga to see the fort and cathedral and Picaso's birth home or take a tour into Granda to the Alhambra or into Sevilla to the cathedral, Santa Cruz area, Plaza de Espana, the Alcaczar, the wonderful parks etc. or to Gibraltar. Traveling in Dec/Jan it was cooler in the mornings especially in Granada and Gibraltar and Sevilla. But it warmed into the 60's during the day. Along the coast in Torremolinos, it even reached the 70's. Nights required a jacket.We enjoyed escaping our cold weather to enjoy the glorious cloudless, warmed days in the Costa Del sol.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
1.7 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,117 reviews
0.3 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,282 reviews
0.9 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#52 of 71 in Torremolinos
321 reviews
0.8 km away
Sol Timor Apartamentos by Melia
2.3 km away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Amaragua

Address: Calle Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $108 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
SENTIDO Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing