We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Beachfront Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SENTIDO Amaragua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Amaragua
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Torremolinos
Kilbarchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Beachfront Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed at the Amaragua for a week in November with my husband. As a regular visitor to this area we were happy to stay in this beachfront property right next toLa Carihuela. We were allocated aroom in the main buiding it was a bit dated with a very small balcony with table and 2 chairs but view dissappointing not great sea view and little sun on balcony ,could not fault the cleanliness and comfortable bed. The entrance and reception area with its marble floors, columns and intricate furniture and works of art was spectacular. Only spoke with reception a couple of times during our stay and found them to be efficient and helpful. The staff in the main bar were friendly and attentive.Good pool area and loved the access directly onto promenade. We could not fault the breakfasts and dinner in the evening was ok , could have had a better choice but again found staff pleasant and attentive. I am sure we will be back in the future .

Room Tip: If possible get a room in the new building and request high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habbie10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    252
    117
    39
    36
See reviews for
159
277
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Everyone's expectations are different. A bedroom is a bedroom, but the difference
between a 2 star and 4 star should be obvious. The Amaragua definately has 2 star bedrooms.
Firstly if you think, as I did, you are going to get any of the rooms shown on websites, forget it. There excuse is that the modern part of the hotel was closed so we were put into the 'old' hotel.The rooms are tiny, the beds are hard, there is no body cream, shower cap, etc that you would expect from a 4 star. There is not even a clock in the room. An old television, with a whizzing noise that made watching it annoying.
On check-in, I requested a high floor, sunny room. We were given rooms on the 2nd floor, and we got sun for about 20 minutes at 8am! The other room got no sun whatsoever. Neither bedroom bore any resemblance to what is shown on their website. Marina, the receptionist, seemed intent on giving us the opposite to what we requested. So much so, that when she recommended taking the bus into Malaga for a shopping trip, we took the train!!
The lobby of the hotel is nice as are the grounds. I would reckon 3 star quality. The only 4star thing about the hotel is it's location. Sitting on top of the promenade, overlooking the beach.
I had phoned the hotel prior to booking to check on whether the pool was heated. I was told it was. When we tried to go for a swim, the pool was freezing. When I asked about the pool being heated, Marina advised me it was. When I was more specific, it turns out the indoor pool is heated but not the outdoor one. The indoor pool closes between 2 and 4, when we would have wanted to use it.
We requested late check-out - it cost 40 euro for one room, which is good value if you don't have to go to the airport until the evening. However, I felt they knew we were so disappointed in our rooms, that they could have offered the late check-out room for free, by way of an apology.
This was the most expensive hotel option on all the hotel websites - certainly the Marbella area offers better value and true 4 star hotels. Pick up your socks Amaragua. Higher standards, a receptionist who cares (although everything was always said with a smile), and a concierge to answer questions would all enhance the experience of staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently the new building is better and may even resemble the rooms shown on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coco_backler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orgiva, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I organised accommodation on a half-board basis for 56 set dancers from Ireland and Belgium at the end of February 2012. The location, close to Malaga airport and on the seafront, was breathtaking. The accommodation, meals, level of service and attention to our specific requirements were superb. Well done to Pablo and his team - we are already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padraigoruanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

just spent 12nights at the amaragua 2nd visit great room 6th floor partial sea view sun all afternoon till it went down very nice staff very helpfull rooms kept spotless great cleaners very friendly food not bad could have been hotter and a bit more choice excellant choice of fish which my husband loved but not every body likes fish will be visiting the hotel again in september

Room Tip: igher rooms are best stayed in 612 great sun from midday till it went down plus part sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Having had our hotel changed from the one next door because it was to be closed because of renovations. We got a great deal. Lovely room, good food excellent staff. Fantastic location. Would go back again. One problem we were on the seventh floor and you could hear the air conditioning at night. But after a couple of nights got used to it as if it was not there

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyn_spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

we spent New Year at this hotel after we had had such a good time there 2 years ago and we were not disappointed. Hotel spotlessly clean, staff very helpful, lovely relaxed atmoshpere, indoor pool and jacuzi a pleasant added bonus. Ideal spot right on beach with lovely walks to either Torremolinos or Benelmadena. Able to use outside pool area this time due to exceptionaly warm weather for time of the year. New Years Eve was great! lovely food lots to drink great staff.
We were half board and the food was excellent I do not eat meat but there was still plenty of choice and lots of different fish. We had a young baby with us and the staff were marvelous with him. Thank you Hotel Amaragua we will be back.

Room Tip: we were in the newer part of hotel and were very happy with room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Amaragua in Torremolinos. The booking in was handled efficiently and the staff were very helpful. We were allotted a room on the 4th floor which had the sun coming in from 9am to 5pm. The room was a fine size and the bathroom was well laid out. The room was spotless and well cleaned each day. The towels were replaced each day and the linen changed every second day. You had to pay for the safe in your room which was 2,75 euro per day as it was run by an outside company. The reception area and the bar area were very comfortable but the entertainment was limited to the sporadic piano playing. The restaurant overlooks a beautiful view of the beach and a fabulous view of the sunrise. It was beautifully set out and there variety of food for breakfast was very good. The food for dinner was a bit bland but the main complaint we had that the food was lukewarm instead of been hot. They did have a microwave but it was not plugged in as the plug was been used for the soup. I would recommend this hotel for class and comfort.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side and above the 4th floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry280344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.2 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#7 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Tropicana
Hotel Tropicana
#47 of 72 in Torremolinos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.7 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#4 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
#18 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.9 km away
Sol House Costa del Sol
Sol House Costa del Sol
#5 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#6 of 72 in Torremolinos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Amaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Amaragua

Property: SENTIDO Amaragua
Address: Calle Nidos 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Amaragua)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torremolinos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Amaragua 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4 star Hotel where the functional distribution of its spaces, with the sea as its protagonist, the decoration, with its strong personality, have all come together to give you an elegant, classical and functional Mediterranean Hotel. Located on the seafront, MS Amaragua looks out directly on to the Mediterranean and the pedestrian promenade of the traditional, infamous neighbourhood of the Carihuela, where the cultural cuisine of Pescaito frito (little fried fish) reaches its maximum expression. Only a couple of minutes walk away is the famous Benalmádena Marina, Puerto Marina. We have 275 rooms; of these 2 are luxury suites, 8 suites, 6 junior suites and 12 superior doubles. Restaurant, snack bar, swimming pool, lobby bar, conference and conventions halls, parking with 217 spaces, big outside swimming pool for adults and children, ample sun terrace, beach with direct access from the Hotel and the spa & fitness centre. 24 hour reception, press, left luggage, bellboy, room service, laundry service and rental service of bicycles, cars and motorbikes. CATERING To start the day, the Hotels restaurant, offers a complete and varied breakfast buffet with panoramic views of the Mediterranean . Enjoy the luminosity and relaxation at the swimming pool Bar La Ola, where Mediterranean cooking fuses with local cuisine and the after dinner drinks at sunset.Mens sana in corpore sano in the Health and Beauty Centre (SPA & Beauty Farm) the Hotel has at your service. The Hotel has on offer for its clients, an indoor climate controlled swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, massages and an ample array of aesthetic treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Amaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaragua Hotel Torremolinos
SENTIDO Amaragua Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing