We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ivor & Dorothy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Fifth time here and Hotel is still great, staff are always pleasant and very helpful.The hotel is always clean and spotless, and the rooms are cleaned everyday. food is great and a good selection to suit everyone,location is excellent go out through the back gate and you are 50 meters from the beach, we have booked again for 5 people in October and looking forward to being back in Roc Lago.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ivor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I (both 31 and English) stayed here for 3 nights in the Easter holidays 2012. The staff were generally helpful and attentive, although there was a new guy on reception learning the ropes (hey, we've all been there) who struggled a bit to get his information right. Positives - good location near beach, large rooms, good food including enough for vegetarians, quick commute from Malaga airport (15 mins or so). Negatives - small pool which was unheated and shaded by surrounding buildings so was freezing and unusable despite good temperatures generally, room was a bit sparce and the matresses were nice and firm but the springs stuck into my side. Also we were overlooking the street rather than the pool/sea which was very noisy and the bin men woke us up at 3am on the dot each night! Think it would be fine in the other side of the building and I believe these are the more modern rooms, but you do have to pay more. Parking was secure underground but cost us 11 euros per day. Not a lot of other parking available in area which surprised us out of season, but we did manage to park a couple of roads away for the second and third day. Most of the guests were pensioners from a variety of countries, but facilities for children would be limited. A reasonable stay for a short break for us in a friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Traveldragon81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My parents are just home from a fabulous 2 week stay in this hotel. They found the staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially Liam and Isobel. The rooms were spotless and the cleaning staff could not do enough to help. They will definetly be back and highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

B&M Bennett

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Fourth time at this hotel and still very pleased with the standard. The rooms are super because as well as the bedroom you have a nice lounge attached with settee and coffee table, nice place to sit and read instead of lounging on the bed. The food was good, the service great, many staff having been at hotel for over 20 years. Cleaning level excellent and most nights hotel provided entertainment. Out of the back gate practically on the beach and a lovely walk to Benalmadena Harbour, definitely worth a visit. For the very reasonable price paid, we would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth floor and above overlooking pool have a seaview. Otherside of hotel overlooks road which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonofwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The room was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. The garden was inviting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Börje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and myself returned today,19th February after having spent 28 nights at this hotel.
Not up to four star standards but a realistic three. There are certainly lots of plus points with this place. The location is brilliant. 50 metre back from the beach via the gate in the grounds.
Straight into the restaurant/bar/beach area makes it a brilliant place to start your day.

The rooms (junior suites) are a fantastic size. Lots and lots of room with a good size bathroom.Sadly,all furniture very tired.....clean but tired.

The rooms are kept clean by a lovely team of cleaners. You have your own heater/air con unit which gives you individual comfort in the room.

We were on a half board basis and you will certainly never go hungry. Enough choice aimed
mostly at the European guests who are by far in the majority.We were always happy enough
with the meals.

Helpful tip: Take extra plastic hangers for the wardrobe and hanging up washed clothes left in the bathroom. Also take clothes pegs for use on the wall hung drying frame on the rather small balcony.

Now for the negatives which are only a couple.
The bar, apart from the daily happy hour discount is very,very expensive. Luckily you are very close to several bars which have a more balanced approach when it comes to pricing.

In the dining room it is NOT possible to order a FREE jug of water to accompany your evening meal.Neither is coffee or any other liquid.
The only way is to buy a small bottle of water which is expensive for what it is.However,most
people go for this option apart from those on a "wine included" deal.

So, apart from these couple of niggles it is pretty good.

Will we spend a month there again next winter ? Most probably !!

to much more

Room Tip: Overlooking the main road will get more sun but could be noisy. We took a 4th floor room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geoffroberts994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a 2 week stay in Hotel ROC Lago Rojo, Carihuela, Costa del Sol from 26 Oct to 9 Nov 2011. We were pleasantly surprised as we had read some bad reviews on Tripadvisor and were rather wary. Our experience was very different - we were extremely satisfied with the Hotel. It was well located and easily accessible. The staff and management were attentive, friendly and helpful. We were on full board stay and the food, which was a buffet, was wide and varied, fresh, very delicious and the service was exquisite although the Hotel was busy. The dishes were replenished promptly and there was no attempt to skimp, even towards the end of the mealtimes. Our room which, we understand, was similar to the others, was a split-level room, with a spacious bedroom area and roomy bathroom on the upper level, and a large "sitting room" down a few steps. The room was cleaned daily and the beds made; bed linen was changed every few days. We had never stayed on a full-board basis before, nor had we had such a long stay in any one hotel so had been just a little dubious that we might have been bored with the food. However, we need not have worried as it was a great experience, and hassle free, so we are planning to go back again - this time for three weeks!!! The Hotel had been recommended to us both by friends who had stayed there earlier in 2011 and by Killiney Travel; their assessments proved to be reliable and did not accord with some of the negative experiences of other "Trippers". This is basically a good hotel with good management who are succeeding in providing a good product that pleases a large proportion of their guests - but no hotel can ever satisfy 100% of their guests 100% of the time - and that may not be the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank JandB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
334 reviews
0.7 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,311 reviews
1.8 km away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Natursun
Hotel Natursun
#31 of 71 in Torremolinos
492 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
161 reviews
1.3 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Address: Calle Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $85 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing