We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold pool, hot tub not in use, very basic,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Torremolinos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2017

This is a very basic and in my view only 3 Spanish stars. Location is good 2 minutes from shops , rooms are pleasant size very dated but clean. Cleaners, bar, waiters and some off the reception staff are lovely, friendly and helpful. Some reception staff not so. We booked through easy jet. It was and still is advertised as with a spa. The out door pool is colder than portrush in the winter, the Jacuzzi is roped off and will not be in use until next month. So no spa facilities very disappointing. There is no kettle in the room, no lock on bathroom, sofa and rest off room very tired. Food is ok, simple but not 4 star. Its saving grace is most off the staff. Juan at the bar, and all waiters, kitchen and cleaning staff work very hard and location.

Room Tip: if your lookingto swim or spa dont book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Jenny W,

Thank you very much for the time taken to write your review on Tripadvisor.

I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel. I think that the misunderstanding is due to the easyjet web. According to your comments there are too much mistakes in the description of our hotel in the easy jet's web.
We are really sorry about these mistakes and misunderstandings , we are going to check this information in order to correct it immediately.

I recommend you check our website where you can verify and read all the facilities, services, kind of rooms and so on about our hotel.

We don not have spa facilities. The jacuzzi on the solarium it's a cold water jacuzzi and it is open from May til October. The pool is one outdoor pool.

We do not have kettle in the room only in the junior suite premiums we have nespresso.

Thank you for the wonderful review concerning our staff. Our team works really hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and warm and memorable experience. I wlll share your comments with the entire staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights. It is a nice hotel and has potential to improve.
The best thing for me was the roof terrace which was lovely up there.

The rooms was ok not disappointing like some people are saying.

The drink prices are ridiculous which I doubt the hotel would even consider changing them?

The food for me and my family was the worst part of the hotel. They don't really cater for the English and not a lot of choice. I just hope that when a review is put on here and the management state that there will be improvements I hope they mean it as the food does need improving.

But overall a good hotel. And I will be revisiting in November and let's hope changes are made. Especially in the restaurant.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Avfc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Avfc9

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo and for having chosen us for spending your holidays.

I am really glad to learn you have appreciated our roof terrace with wonderful views overlooking the sea, mountains and Puerto Marina, as well as our rooms.

Furthermore we regret that you did not like the food offered at our restaurant. Our chef try to cater to every guests taste offering a range of food options according to the dimensions of our buffets. We try to adapt our buffet to the different nationalities of the customers we have. In order to improve our buffet we would like if you could send us your suggestions by email.

The price of drinks, is similar to the price of the hotels in the Carihuela. However, we offer 2 types of drink vouchers that include 10 drinks.
Silver voucher costs €20 and includes water, soft drinks, beer, hot drinks, house glass of wine, sangria etc.
Golden voucher costs €59 and incudes all drinks listed in the bar menu except bottle of wine, ballantines 12, chivas 12, JB 15, Cardhu and similare, Brandies Remy Martin, Henessy and similar.

Buying the drink vouchers clients obtain the drinks for nice prices.

Every night from 21 to midnight we offer a special and daily different offer.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in november.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Travelled with 5 friends for 7 days in april.the hotel is small but ok. The jacuzzi on the sun roof was closed all week.the rooms were large and basic. Entertainment not great.Our main problem was the food it resembled poor canteen meals. This is not an over 18s hotel as there were children there. On the plus side the staff are great very friendly and eager to help. If they could improve the quality of the food it could merit its 4 star label.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank curtainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear curtainman,

First of all we want to say thank you for the time spent to write this comment. All the feed backs we receive represent a very important tool to better understand the aspects we should improve in order to offer a great service.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

According to your comment we will try to explain your comments:

The Hotel Roc Lago Rojo will be adults only ( +18 ) from May 1, 2017. Children were allowed til 30th april 2017.

The jacuzzi on the solarium it's a cold water jacuzzi and it is open from May til October.

We do not have daily entertainment program, only night shows.

In order to fulfil every guests expectations regarding the food we try to offer a great range of food options. I would be grateful if you could tell us the suggestions you have in order to improve or include it in the menu.

It is a pleasure to learn that you appreciated our staff. Your kind words addressed to the staff, mean a reason of great pride and motivation for us.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is tucked within the city centre, 2 minutes walk from shops and bars, the food is very good and would recommend this hotel.
Within walking distance to the beach, the tapas bars are amazing

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Carol M,

Thank you very much for writing this comment and for sharing your experience with us. We are yo glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays and you would recommend us. Receiving such kind words regarding our facilities and gastronomic offer make us be motivated to keep doing our best in order to fulfill your expectations through excellence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon here or in another Roc Hotel .

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Currently staying at the hotel, I always use trip advisor when traveling and read the comments on this Hotel but choose to ignore as it was based purely on location at the time of booking! But have to say I can not fault the hotel as it's actually better The my expectations and don't understand some of the comments about the hotel if anything it's a little dated but on whole the rooms are good clean and have been serviced every day bed is very comfy, we are half board and the standard of food is perfectly expectable unless your really fussy, wifi is fine wherever I've needed to use it, the bar could be improved and is not the cheapest but it is a hotel and it seems to me it's all premium brands on sale hence the high price maybe they do have a happy hr and drinks voucher system which is pointless only my opinion, credit to the guy behind the bar nice bloke and works very hard, we are here with 2 young children and I believe it's soon to be an adult only hotel which is a shame as I would of come back here again! Great location to explore the area by foot.
My opinion is try it for yourself before being put off by comments on here! It's as close as you want to be to the beach and plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JGWiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear JGWiper,

Than kyou for the great review to our Roc Lago Rojo hotel.

Receiving such amazing feedbacks and knowing that all of our efforts have been highly appreciated is a reason of great pride for the entire staff, that daily works aiming to turn every guest's stay into a unique and unforgettable experience. I am delighted to read you enjoiyed all our services within the hotel.

On behalf of our staff and myself, our warmest gratitude to you and your family.

From May 1th we are an adults only hotel (major of 18 years), our hotel has not playpark, or mini club and the company has decided that the Hotel should be only adults.
On the other hand we inform you that in Torremolinos we have 2 hotels for families with an entertainment program and facilities adapted for children. They are the Hotel Roc Flamingo **** in Torremolinos' center or the Hotel Roc Costa Park ****. I invite you to visit these hotels in our web. Also we have another hotel in Marbella the Hotel Roc Marbella Park.

Warmest regards from la costa del sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This hotel does not compare with the standards of other 4 stars nearby. Our room was in need of a revamp.
There was hardly room to sit on the toilet. At times water pressure was very low if you wanted hot water, so was pathetic for washing long hair.
The dining room is far too small when the hotel is busy. We had to look for ourselves to determine there were no tables and then had to go away and come back in 20 minutes. Clearing of used plates from tables is slow at both breakfast and evening meals.
At breakfast the fried eggs look terrible and the bacon was frequently burnt. We saw the manager drift by with his hands in his pockets clearly oblivious to this. The waiter instead of using a trolley carries in a pile of clean plates held against his shirt. One day they ran out of spoons and when I asked for more the waiter came out of the kitchen with just two, which of course were snapped up immediately so we still had no spoons.
The hotel claims to be adults only and yet plenty of children of all ages from babies up to teenager were present.
The hotel takes pets up to 10kg, but no where on their website does it mention a charge of 8.50 euros extra per day. This is the price we had to pay on arrival for a 42g budgie in a small cage. Unfortunately you don't have much choice but to pay when you are already there. Not sure what the charge is for. I understand that the maid might have had to hoover up half a dozen feathers more than normal. However on speaking to the maids they don't get paid anymore when an animal is in the room. Ummm?
Evening entertainment is not every night and is generally poor. The best was a flamenco show that lasted less than 45 minutes. One night jazz was advertised with a picture of a man playing saxophone, it turned out just to be a woman screeching at the top of her voice.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Pam933,

Let us express our profond apologies if we did not meet your expectations. I appreciate you taking time to write your comments and We thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations.

It is our main goals to achieve the highest level of satisfaction among our guests.

The Reception Manager Petra made your check-in and she explained to you that pets in our hotel pay one extra of €8.5 per day.

We have checked our website and thank you very much for your suggestion. It is true that not is very clear " Discover our Pet Friendly Service. ... " . We are working in order to explain and clarify the extra charge per day. On the other hand the text does not say that the service is free.

In the same way that in a plane or a train pets pay their ticket in a hotel that accepts pets we must pay for their stay. And there are not differences among the type of pet they are.



The Hotel Roc Lago Rojo will be adults only ( +18 ) from May 1, 2017. ( the first May 2017 ). American format date instead of the English format date was used in our web. We are really sorry about it.

I lament not being informed about all your comments that you wrote in trip advisor whilst you were here. We do not have records about any of them during your stay. Neither the room, the water pression, restaurant nor the rest of your comments.

I want to thank you your comprehension about the Saxophonist who should act on Tuesday and finally he could not act because he became ill and instead came one of the best singers that the entertainment company offered us for this day. We knew it at the last moment and for this reason we could even not change the posters announcing the performance for that night. The singer explained it in 4 languages before starting her performance.

I am really surprised about the miscomprehension and intolerance that people have with the hotel's staff. Normally everyday in our society we must queue everywhere: in the bank, in the supermarket and even at the airport. But waiting in these places is something normal, usual and acceptable. Nobody complaint. Nevertheless in the check in, at the entrance of the restaurant, in the bar of a hotel it is inadmissible and inaceptable. Why?

Again, let us express our profound apologies if we did not meet your expectations, but please be sure that we do care about our guests satisfaction and try to do our best to keep our standards up to the highest levels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Do not know how this hotel got 4* rating, advertised photos are misleading, got to the hotel at 00.30 and immediately went to find a bar to drown my sorrows, obviously after complaining first, Roc hard beds, a crappy 12" tv, a mini fridge on the floor, a big crack in the wall, cracked tiles on balcony which had no decent view, nothing good to say about the bedroom/suite, bathroom acceptable, if a bit of money was spent on the rooms it could be classed as a 3*, as Arnie says ' I'll be back' , but not to this hotel

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank pauline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Roc Lago Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear Pauline c.

We are terribly sorry to hear your disappointed with our hotel.

I recommend you check our website where you can verify that all the photos are correct and correspond to reality. Could you please tell us where you saw the misleading photos?
We would like to check the mistakes and correct them straight away.

We inform you that all mattresses and pillows have been bought this year specifically in the month of March. if you thought that your mattress was hard informing about this in reception we would have changed this for a softer one.

Thank you for your comments and we send you a kind regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torremolinos hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
Hotel Boutique El Tiburon
#29 of 71 in Torremolinos
334 reviews
0.7 km away
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
MedPlaya Hotel Pez Espada
#8 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,317 reviews
1.8 km away
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
Sol Don Pablo by Melia
#9 of 71 in Torremolinos
2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Melia Costa del Sol
Melia Costa del Sol
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
4,203 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Carmen Teresa
Hotel Carmen Teresa
#7 of 71 in Torremolinos
362 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
Hotel Ritual Torremolinos
#17 of 71 in Torremolinos
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Lago Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Lago Rojo

Address: Calle Miami 5 | La Carihuela, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torremolinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torremolinos
Price Range: $80 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Lago Rojo 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roc Lago Rojo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roc Lago Rojo Hotel
Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos
Hotel Roc Lago Rojo Torremolinos, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing