We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, well presented hotel with a view”
Review of Hotel Arabeluj

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arabeluj
Ranked #52 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Upon arrival at the hotel we received a warm welcome from the gentleman at reception. Once we'd settled in we were offered a map and given a thorough and very useful introduction on how to enjoy the best of Granada - including some 'secret' places to eat and drink that were indeed very good!

After a long day of travelling we decided to head into the hotel bar (which doubles as its breakfast room) for a few Alhambra 1925s (which soon became my favourite beer of the holiday - avoid the Especiale as it is very Carling-like). The glass room with large folding windows provided us with excellent views over the city followed by a stunning sunset. One of the tourist guide things to do is watch the sun go down from Mirador San Nicolas to see the Alhambra illuminated, but personally, I enjoyed this view of the actual sunset better.

The rooms in the hotel offer equally attractive views of the city with comfy beds and powerful showers. Everything was clean and well presented and the decor of the whole hotel was of a high quality with lots of nods to the Moorish heritage of the city.

Breakfast the next day was basic, but tasty with attentive and friendly service received. We then started exploring the city. Alhambra (and the much lesser known, but gardens of Carmen de los Mártires with some of the best views of Alhambra and the city) were less than a 15 minute walk from the hotel, while the centre was about 20 minutes away downhill. We often couldn't be bothered with the walk back up the hill to the hotel and as taxis from Plaza Nueva were clean, regulated, and only 5EUR always on a meter, we indulged in the 'lazy' option many times.

For food & drinks nearest the hotel, I couldn't recommend Plaza Campo Del Principe highly enough. A row of 7 or 8 bars/restaurants on a pleasant pedestrianised square all offering delicious food and drinks and, as part of the tapas routes, free tapas with any drinks ordered.

Overall, our stay at the Mirador Arabeluj was a very pleasant and comfortable one and it provided a lovely base for our explorations of Granada.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a south-west facing room is recommended for lovely views out over Granada
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 350 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

My friend and I checked in to hotel Arabeluj this afternoon and were turned off by the smell of sewage that permeated the room. Upon close inspection of the bed sheets as well, we spotted hair on both sheets of both beds and were concerned there would be bed mites. There were stains on the mattress and pillows as well. We complained to the reception and they changed our room. While the new room smelled better and the sheets appeared to be cleaner, we were still very concerned about cleanliness and decided after dinner to check out that same night and check in to the Alhambra Palace Hotel up the hill instead. The concierge at the desk at checkout claimed he spoke no English and refused to give us a refund even though he admitted he was aware of the problem we faced with the first room. Terrible service. This is a place to be avoided by the discerning traveler who cares about health and hygiene.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirador-Arabeluj, Director de Recepción at Hotel Arabeluj, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

I write from hotel arabeluj, to indicate that at all times the hotel staff was attentive and friendly with you, and the first room you say you did not like but they used it, despite that, they were moved to a second room from A first moment yes they liked it but at 00.00 night they decide to leave and we give back the money.
It is not a correct attitude on the part of you, since for the hotel it supposed a block of two rooms, therefore it is just that you pay, to use the rooms.
Thank you.
HOTEL MIRADOR ARABELUJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Booked a night . Wished we had booked more . Close to Alhambra but off beaten track.Fabulous Hill top bar and restaurant..food great and quiet.may just have to return ! Clean cosy room and friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NeliieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We booked this hotel for its view and indeed it was fantastic however that was the only thing we liked. The room didn't seem very clean, the bedding in particular; other peoples hair on the bathroom floor is always off putting. The biggest problem however was the total lack of sound proofing. You could hear every flush of toilet, shower and conversation in other rooms which went on until 1am in the morning and started again around 6am.

We were also extremely disappointed with dinner. I ordered beef cheek with parmentier potatoes and got luke warm sloppy watery mash and dry meat. Hubby ordered duck medallions which was some kind of insipid mashed / pureed meat again served with sloppy mash instead of the parmentier potatoes advertised. Frankly I would have been embarrassed to serve it let alone charge for it. We gave breakfast a miss after our dinner experience.

We paid more for our very basic room without breakfast - 2star at best (with a stunning balcony to be fair ) than we paid for four and five star hotels with breakfast during our trip. This is a very basic hotel with a stunning view - the view will not disappoint but the rest will.

Room Tip: Room 103 has a fantastic balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank merryweather29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirador-Arabeluj, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Arabeluj, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Good afternoon:
I write to you from Hotel Arabeluj, many thanks for your valuation and stay at Hotel Arabeluj.
But you should know that you chose a room with private terrace, spectacular views of the city, cleaning the rooms we tried to make them as clean as possible, together with dinner on our spectacular terrace.
Tell him that you had a reduced rate, he did not pay in advance and however he did not cancel the reservation, also at dinner he took a glass of cava and then told us that he did not like it and neither was he charged.
In short, we consider that in general the dinner we give together with the views are spectacular.
Thank you very much and we want to see you again.
HOTEL MIRADOR ARABELUJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

I'm not usually a person to write reviews,but felt compelled too after my visit to the Mirador Arabeluj. All the staff was helpfull and pleasant. The hotel as clean and ideal located. We would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royeun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

I cannot praise the Hotel Arabeluj enough! My wife and I had a truly wonderful and memorable stay at the hotel this December.

It is located on the hills overlooking Granada with spectacular views, so sitting at the table for breakfast was fantastic ! Granada is at the foot of the Sierra Nevada mountains, with great views of snow-capped hills.

It was just a short walk to Alhambra, a fantastic citadel and palace, the centerpiece of Granada, so allowed us the convenience to get in and around the city.

The hotel room was elegant with a balcony, with beautiful artwork as well as in the corridor, including lovely ceramics and other artworks

All the staff were so welcoming and friendly to us. It goes without saying that we highly recommend this boutique hotel and would love to visit again. Thank you again for your hospitality!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Myodo-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Not usually one for reviews, but the Hotel Arabeluj in Granada is such a wonderful little gem of a hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, visiting friends. Firstly this family run hotel could not have been more friendly, making you feel right at home. The place is full of beautiful art. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. It is great value for money with the most amazing, breathtaking views and a wonderful, quiet location for seeing Granada. I cannot recommend this beautiful hotel and really friendly staff enough. 5 Stars plus.

Room Tip: Room with balcony if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DamianHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
San Pedro
Shine Albayzin
Shine Albayzin
#36 of 124 in Granada
402 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 124 in Granada
1,014 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Zaguan del Darro
Hotel Zaguan del Darro
#82 of 124 in Granada
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Carlos V
#26 of 124 in Granada
596 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#24 of 124 in Granada
1,031 reviews
Allegro Granada
#25 of 124 in Granada
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arabeluj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arabeluj

Address: Camino Nuevo Del Cementerio 46, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: C$55 - C$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Arabeluj 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirador Arabeluj, is a charming mirador hotel with magnificent panoramic views of the city of Granada, from every single one of its twelve rooms.It is a totally new building and situated in a privileged place, next to the Alhambra. Every detail is thought to transform the stay of the traveller into an unforgettable and fantastic experience.Remote from the noisy hustle and bustle of the city centre and at the same time very close to the adjoining Realejo quarter and the Alhambra, you may enjoy the peace that offers the surrounding area.Visitors may experience the pleasure of the spectacular sunsets from their rooms or from the shared lounge with terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arabeluj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing