We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic setting for any large group holiday!”
other traveller has booked this property
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Splash-space for big groups of friends and families in the 17 metre private pool Dine in the atmospheric cobbled courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
120 reviews
Beautiful huge house in its own private gardens
Splash-space for big groups of friends and families in the 17 metre private pool
Dine in the atmospheric cobbled courtyard
Farmhouse, garden, pool and majestic valley view to mountains
Gardens, bikes, pool and trees great for kids on holiday
Lots of space - large family groups are our speciality
All-day shade for kids on the play-tent and children´s picnic table (plus hammocks for parents !)
Join in the fun and festivities at the local fiestas
Our closest town is the ancient Moorish white village of Iznajar with shops, banks and cafes
Find tapas & dinner at Antonio's Bar, a 20 minute walk through Almond Groves or past the Go
Total privacy set in olive trees and ancient oaks
Aesthetic pergola gives shade on 17m (55ft) pool
Relax on the Italian leather furniture in the Casita
Enjoy the space and atmosphere of 11 metre Gran Sala
Chill out in The Cortijo Kitchen by cooking or sitting on the sofa chatting to the cooks!
Wake up in the Writer's Room and stroll onto its balcony to take in the views of the Sierra Nev
The Blue Room has an ensuite with large shower and a private door leading to the central courtyard
The Yellow Room has an arched doorway to the ensuite with exposed stone wall and bespoke shower
Lots of different options for eating all together
Massive porton gated entrance to central courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Granada, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NCDavies7...
2 reviews
“Idyllic setting for any large group holiday!”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We wondered whether the photos and reviews were too good to be true but the reality surpassed expectations. We were having a family get together for mum's 70th and totalled 23 people including young children. There was plenty of space for us not to get in each other's way but communal areas so that we could spend long nights dining and making merriment under the night sky with meteor shower laid on! Loved the barbeque, kitchens and giant paella pan! So many nooks and crannies to explore and plenty of shady areas to relax during the heatwave Spain was experiencing. Some family members read whilst someone else practised yoga whilst another painted. Kids climbed rocks and others swam and a cold barrel of beer beckoned to others! The pool was huge and spotlessly clean and an ideal way to cool off or set swimming challenges. The most wonderful thing about this property is its remote hillside location with the 'ridiculous view without any blot on the landscape ' (quote mum). Sunsets were breathtaking and we loved the tiny black specks aka goats taking an evening stroll far below us with bells tinkling.
Mike was not in Spain during our stay but he left the property in very capable hands and he maintained email or text contact to ensure all was well. There were people who tended the garden or cleaned the pool and carried out any maintenance without fuss or invasion of privacy in any way. Andres, who incidently speaks fluent English, was lovely and immediately saw to any requests such as ordering more drinks from the recommended supplier or arranging a party size celebration tirimisu cake with only a few days notice.
We were all sad to leave. Some people saw no need to leave during our week stay having already done some city sightseeing prior to arriving. It was a perfect place to completely relax and spend rare family time together. Thank you..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobtF1198...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A peaceful and luxurious stay and stunning views”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I was part of a group of 18 adults and children who enjoyed a lovely stay at Almendrillo in July 2015. This really is a very spacious house with two separate accommodation areas and grounds on all sides in which to wander and admire the stunning views. For peace and solitude there are restful spots in the shade of olive trees or hidden away on the second storey balcony, alternatively you can swim and splash in the luxury pool or enjoy al fresco eating in the Finca’s courtyard around the communal dining table.
The house is decorated in a traditional style with Moorish overtones and great attention to detail from the wooden floorboards to the lighting fixtures. If you want the comforts of modern living there is also easy access to wifi, a TV and plenty of games such as table tennis and table football. It means there are distractions for all ages.
We lazed around the house and grounds mainly, but close by there is rolling countryside and small sleepy towns where tourists are few and far between and you can get a real feel for the local way of life. One of the nearest is Iznajar, perched above a large lake with a castle and a pretty church. Granada and its magnificent Alhambra is also in easy day-trip range.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and value
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobtF1198...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A lovely stay, peaceful and luxurious with stunning views”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I was part of a group of 18 adults and children who enjoyed a lovely stay at Almendrillo in July 2015. This really is a very spacious house with two separate accommodation areas and grounds on all sides in which to wander and admire the stunning views. For peace and solitude there are restful spots in the shade of olive trees or hidden away on the second storey balcony, alternatively you can swim and splash in the luxury pool or enjoy al fresco eating in the Finca’s courtyard around the communal dining table.
The house is decorated in a traditional style with Moorish overtones and great attention to detail from the wooden floorboards to the lighting fixtures. If you want the comforts of modern living there is also easy access to wifi, a TV and plenty of games such as table tennis and table football. It means there are distractions for all ages.
We lazed around the house and grounds mainly, but close by there is rolling countryside and small sleepy towns where tourists are few and far between and you can get a real feel for the local way of life. One of the nearest is Iznajar, perched above a large lake with a castle and a pretty church. Granada and its magnificent Alhambra is also in easy day-trip range.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and value
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Take in the glorious views and feel the stresses of daily life drift away ...”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Finca el Almendrillo in July (4-11) 2015 with our family, including daughter (2) and son (1), joined also by other friends from the UK. Our day began with a relaxed breakfast in the cool, early-morning air, at one of the many patios overlooking the rolling hills dotted with olive trees, with the foothills of the Sierra Nevada in the distance.

The views are like something from a classic film. You half expect to see a group of serene travellers passing through in the distance on horseback...

As for the marvellous house itself, you pass through an ancient wooden gate set in whitewashed walls, revealing a cobblestone courtyard and various doors to this extraordinary and painstakingly-restored, massive dwelling. The numerous bedrooms and sitting rooms are beautifully appointed with a combination of modern amenities and antiques. The bathrooms are luxurious and well designed. A small hill punctuated with a massive tree provides shade and a stunning view of the valley. This also overlooks a large lap pool. There are activities for children of all ages. Ours were too young to make use of the ping-pong, table-football and billiards table, but they made plenty of use of the many children's books, toys and pool. Wifi was provided. The three kitchens are well-equipped, including an outside kitchen with a large BBQ. There is also a handy, separate beer fridge just off the courtyard.

The area is rich with history and has activities for all tastes. There are ample possibilities for hiking in the area around the Finca, including in the valley below, or in the mountains close by. A day at the beach in Malaga is also realistic. There is the rich culture of Cordoba and Granada (both of which are easy day trips), and smaller villages even closer by, including the village of Iznajar with a castle and old church, which is a mere 15 minute drive from the Finca. We personally enjoyed sipping a glass of Rioja and tapas at small cafés in the many, surrounding villages.

Mike and Emma were truly gracious hosts, supported by local managers who were readily available to answer questions. We would certainly come and stay here again with a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the pool
Liked least: That it was only a week!!
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Take in the glorious views and feel the stresses of daily life drift away ...”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Finca el Almendrillo in July (4-11) 2015 with our family, including daughter (2) and son (1), joined also by other friends from the UK. Our day began with a relaxed breakfast in the cool, early-morning air, at one of the many patios overlooking the rolling hills dotted with olive trees, with the foothills of the Sierra Nevada in the distance.

The views are like something from a classic film. You half expect to see a group of serene travelers passing through in the distance on horseback...

As for the marvelous house itself, you pass through an ancient wooden gate set in whitewashed walls, revealing a cobblestone courtyard and various doors to this extraordinary and painstakingly-restored, massive dwelling. The numerous bedrooms and sitting rooms are beautifully appointed with a combination of modern amenities and antiques. The bathrooms are luxurious and well designed. A small hill punctuated with a massive tree provides shade and a stunning view of the valley. This also overlooks a large lap pool. There are activities for children of all ages. Ours were too young to make use of the ping-pong, table-football and billiards table, but they made plenty of use of the many children's books, toys and pool. Wifi was provided. The three kitchens are well-equipped, including an outside kitchen with a large BBQ. There is also a handy, separate beer fridge just off the courtyard.

The area is rich with history and has activities for all tastes. There are ample possibilities for hiking in the area around the Finca, including in the valley below, or in the mountains close by. A day at the beach in Malaga is also realistic. There is the rich culture of Cordoba and Granada (both of which are easy day trips), and smaller villages even closer by, including the village of Iznajar with a castle and old church, which is a mere 15 minute drive from the Finca. We personally enjoyed sipping a glass of Rioja and tapas at small cafés in the many, surrounding villages.

Mike and Emma were truly gracious hosts, supported by local managers who were readily available to answer questions. We would certainly come and stay here again with a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the pool
Liked least: That it was only a week!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in a stunning setting”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for a week at Almendrillo in July and it was a truly idyllic, wonderful holiday. It is set in breathtaking countryside, with stunning views of the hills all around. The finca has been meticulously renovated and is authentically Andalucian in feel - complete with touches like hand-painted tiling, wooden beams and shutters and beautiful hand-carved, dark-wood furniture. It's also very comfortable, with all the modern amenities we needed, including powerful showers, fans, excellently-equipped kitchens and a utility room.
In our group there were 18 of us - spanning three generations, and ranging in age from toddlers to elderly. Almendrillo suited all of our needs perfectly and provided plenty of space for all of us.
The grounds are huge, and there is something for everyone - there are several tranquil, comfortable spots to sit in the sun or shade overlooking the stunning valley, there's table tennis - which for us was a big hit with both adults and children - table football, lush green lawns complete with a swing and trees to climb, and, most impressively, a superb swimming pool with a panoramic view across the beautiful hills that surround it. We spent hours in this idyllic spot each day. The pool is enormous and immaculately maintained - the water is crystal clear - and also has a good-sized shallow end with built-in steps which was perfect for the younger children in our group. The pool area is equipped with loads of comfy sun loungers and a shady area, and even has its own WC/changing room.
Inside the house there are two kitchens, and a huge amount of space, plentiful bathrooms and communal living rooms, complete with a billiards table and TVs. In the lovely, cobblestoned central courtyard - where we spent our evenings enjoying long, leisurely dinners at the long table - there is a further barbecuing/cooking area. The lovely, friendly owner Mike, who was extremely helpful and thoughtful throughout - organised for a local chef to make us a delicious paella one evening.
We spent most of our time at Almendrillo as there was plenty there to keep us all entertained. We popped into the local village just down the hill, where there is a friendly bar, a shop and a children's playground. We also visited the lovely nearby town of Loja, and also spent a day at Iznajar, where we visited the amazing 9th century Moorish castle and the beautiful beach on a freshwater lake.
I would thoroughly recommend Almendrillo for a large group holiday in a beautiful rural setting. As soon as we got home, our children were already asking us when we could go back there! It was a fabulous, unforgettable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan K
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful accomodation with spectacular views”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A group of 16 of us had a great time at Almendrillo. After a relatively short drive from Malaga airport we arrived to find our pre-ordered drinks already stored away for us in the cool chest - need to get priorities right!
Almendrillo is a wonderful old Finca with lots of space and interesting rooms full of character. The weather was so good that most of our time was spent outside eating, playing and relaxing. The breeze in the hills was welcome in the heat, as were the numerous shaded ‘break out’ areas (ideal for smaller groups to pass the time) and a lovely large pool, again with shade.
The views from the Finca are spectacular and its situation within striking distance of Granada, Cordoba and Seville could not be bettered. We finished the week with a meal cooked and delivered to us from the local village bar.
We would thoroughly recommend Villa Almendrillo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing