We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,964)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
591
772
369
147
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
772
369
147
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bardepartment storeopposite el corte inglessmall poolcentral locationplunge poolreception staffthe sierra nevada mountainsbreakfast buffettwo nightsone night staycar parkingeasy walking distancetapascity breaklovely hotelair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Stayed here early June 2018.

A well maintained and immaculately presented hotel in a great city centre location.

Staff friendly, hardworking, polite. They do their very best to speak to you in English when they realise your Spanish is awful. Breakfast is excellent with a wide variety of continental and more English style foods. A well run restaurant with excellent staff.

Room - we stayed on the 7th floor and had a balcony overlooking the main street and a view of the Alhambra and the Sierra Nevada's. Room was very clean, and staff did an excellent job each day keeping it that way.
If you opt for one of these rooms, be aware that the Terrace with its bar and sound boxes is immediately above you. To the credit of the hotel, sound was extinguished at midnight, and the clear up completed by 01.00am.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank francis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2018

Lovely hotel with lovely rooftop terrace, amazing view. Room was spotless and very soft big comfy bed. Staff were very helpful and nice. Superbonita con vistas preciosas. La habitacion muy limpia con una cama supersuave.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank sophiehtaylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Dear Sophieh,
We thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay at Barceló Carmen Granada. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to make your stay special.
We are very happy to read that you liked the room you stayed in and found that it was clean and comfortable at all times.
It is an honor for us to know that our terrace was lovely for you. We have recently renovated the terrace introducing the most modern style in the decoration as well as in the pool and gym. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed a nice swim while watching the beautiful views of the Alhambra and Sierra Nevada.
On the other hand, thank you for pointing out the kindness of our staff which is very important for the experience of our guests to be magnificent. It is very important for me to know that you have received the best possible treatment from the time you arrived until you left.
We are pleasant that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us when you visit the area. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Kind regards,
Miguel Estévez,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

We went to celebrate our friends birthday to Barcelo Carmen roof terrace and we won’t go back. We were 10 people and at the same time there were maybe 10 more customers. We ordered our drinks from the waitor and waited around 20mins, then we went back to the bar to ask where is our drinks and they said that they needed to take the order again. So we gave the order again to a different waitress and waited 20min more. Still no drinks and we saw them giving drinks to people who arrived after us. We went back to the bar and said that we want to have our order now and some discount and at least some information why they just kept us waiting. We felt like wasting time in this ”trying to fancy” place where you pay more but service is horrible. Their answer was that 2 waitors is not enough to serve 20 people. That’s not true. They spoke really bad english and couldn’t handle even normal order. And we walked away. Not going back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ambassador690467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear guest,

Although I sincerely regret your disappointment with your visit to our terrace, I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and act immediately in order to improve the experience of our customers in the future.

Receive my sincere apologies about the service received at the terrace bar, no doubt we were not acting as we normally do. Since our facilities are intended to be enjoyed by people of all types of personalities, most of the staff in our team of waiters handle English as a communication tool, I am sorry to read that you did not feel understood on this occasion, we will take note of what has happened.
Please be assured that your comment will be discussed by the corresponding department head so that nothing happened in the future.

Thanks again for your visit and constructive review, our main goal is to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits. We look forward to the opportunity to regain your trust.

Greetings,
Miguel Estévez,
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018 via mobile

Where do I start smelly, tiny dark room, poor service , horrible restaurant.

Complained the room smells of sewer water, manager insisted in fixing the room. After strong perfume installed smell persistent.
Hotel restaurant had the worst food of the trip, all meats overcooked dry and hard as a shoe sole.
Maitre d insisted on serving a red wine which he admitted was opened 3 days prior and of course had turned to vinegar.
Overall a bad experience, stay away in spite of the decrnt location c

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Ralph,
We deeply regret that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel to the fullest, as we strive every day to make each stay unforgettable. We have reviewed your comments in detail, together with our teams and heads of each department, and we would like to assure you that all your problems will be solved.

First of all, I regret the discontent with your assigned room and with the situation occurred. Our rooms are double checked by the housekeeping department to make sure everything is clean and functional. It is evident that we were not acting as usual, please be assured that your comments will be taken into consideration and these issues will be fixed.

On the other hand, I would like to point out that we have a wide typology of rooms, among we stand out our Junior Suite or Deluxe Views of the Alhambra. All of them are outlined for their great amplitude, luminosity and beautiful views of the Alhambra.

I regret that the service provided in the restaurant did not meet your expectations. Our chefs carry out a great effort each day in order to satisfy all kind of palates, introducing new national and international dishes. I hope you give us the opportunity to surprise you in future occasions.

Thank you once again for choosing us and for your constructive opinion, we hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Kind regards,
Miguel Estévez,
General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

We checked into this hotel after having an epic Airbnb fail and were really glad we did. The staff were friendly, the location was close to the action without being too noisy and there were plenty of options to choose for food in the close vicinity. The roof terrace was really nice and on a blistering hot day the pool would be amazing.

The gym was a little lacking but there is enough there to get a sweat on.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews