We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Generalife
from US$96.70
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
from US$34.50
More Info
from US$77.10
More Info
Reviews (10,145)
Filter reviews
10,145 results
Traveller rating
7,550
2,122
369
61
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,550
2,122
369
61
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews summer palace water features alhambra complex alhambra visit gorgeous gardens alhambra ticket take your time guided tour in advance nasrid palace plants hedges bloom roses sultan beauty structure
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 10,145 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

We visited the Alhambra complex including the Generalife with a private guide on a beautiful and sunny day in April. We learned all about the gardens including the fact that the current configuration dates only to the 1930’s. This in no way diminishes their serenity or beauty. No visit to the Alhambra would be complete without spending time in the gardens and the small hunting lodge/palace.

There are some outstanding views of the Alhambra from the gardens for taking home memories.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JimRiesterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

The most beautiful gardens I have ever seen. No comparison. Take lots of selfies here. Can't imagine how the Moors engineered to run irrigation up the hilly terrain.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Marco_Battuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing morning wandering around the beautiful gardens , with the cooling sounds of tinkling water

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JuliaF1570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018

I love a splashing fountain. However, as the guide explained such splashiness would have been too disturbing for the Emir to muse and meditate. So in the 10th century, he would have seen too it that there was a more controlled, serene flow, just enough to keep the mosquitos from laying eggs, but not so much as to ruin the reflective or sounds effects. I loved the fact that for the Moors water meant power and was the center of everything. They had Roman-style baths near the mosque. When Queen Isabelle finally pushed the Moors out in 1492, she had the baths destroyed, because for her and her contemporaries baths sucked the spirit out, and was considered unhealthy. Moreover, the baths were where the Moors might have conspired against her. But don't hold your nose. She had gallons of perfume at her disposal.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018

You must book your tickets in advance, it is a very unique place to visit and although the suggested time is 4 hours we spent 5 hours there and could have spent longer.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews