We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable appartment in old part of City”
other travellers have booked this property
Richard & Esperanza in Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Richard & Esperanza in Patio
Entrance to Aptmt B Kitchen / Diner Aptmt B
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Richard & Esperanza in Patio
Entrance to Aptmt B
Kitchen / Diner Aptmt B
Shower room Aptmt B
View from Aptmt B
Patio breakfast area Aptmt B
Kitchen area Aptmt B
Carmen de los Martires, in Alhambra woods (5 mins away)
Carmen de los Martires, Alhambra woods
Charles V fountain, Alhambra woods (5 minutes away)
View from our neigbourhood
Walking up to the Alhambra through the Alhambra woods
Bedroom Aptmt.B
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Granada, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Marjorie...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable appartment in old part of City”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Multi level access,convenient layout,very helpful Hostess,. Quiet and airy rooms and close to the wonderful Ahambra.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Certus_13
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location with helpful information and wonderful people.”
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This property was located very near the entrance to the Alhambra which made it very convenient to enjoy the site. The apartment was comfortable but compact. You reached the apartment by climbing winding stairs to arrive at a walled garden covered with flowering plants. It was wonderful to live in this space with views of the Alhuambra grounds while just steps away from the Pl. Nueva and shops and restaurants. Richard had lists and directions to places of interest, restaurants and grocery shops near the apartment. It would be best to pack lightly with only a suitcase easily carried because of the hill and steps. However, it was an opportunity to live in an authentic neighborhood.
Richard was unable to meet us when we arrived but made arrangements to have Mal meet us and answer any questions. We were pleased to explore the suggestions on Richards lists and enjoyed our visit in Granada. After all, it is the people and your hosts who make the difference between a good experience and a wonderful experience. Thanks to the care and detail Richard invested we had a wonderful experience.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevJan201...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really loved our stay in Granada. Apartment just right and very helpful hosts.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very handy apartment to reach everywhere of interest in Granada, and with a lovely outlook.
The owners were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. Only sorry we couldn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and outlook
Liked least: You would need to be physically able to reach property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartsco...
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, charming hosts, tranquil respite in the heart of the city”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I think Richard and Esperanza really are the perfect hosts. All the correspondence was timely and helpful, on Richards advice we cancelled our carhire booking and caught the bus into Granada from Malaga airport. This was easy, cheap and allowed us greater sightseeing flexibility. The apartment was compact but wonderful, clean and bright and airy, with everything you need for a couple or small family - we stayed a week and wished we could have moved in forever. The bed was supremely comfortable. Everything worked, no problems at all. Richard was on hand whenever we had the smallest query or wanted local advice (like restaurants, bars and flamenco spots, swimming pools, markets- all his recommendations were spot on and we can't thank him enough for his unobtrusive helpfulness).To wake up to the (deafening) sound of many birds chirping is a delight, the place was only steps away from the heart of the city, plaza nueva etc but totally peaceful and tranquil. To be able to see the Alhambra palace out of your window what a treat! Local food is delicious cheap and interesting to be able to lose yourself in a different world of tastes and cultures. I would definitely return to this apartment in a heartbeat and our 12 year old son is already begging us to come back. The courtyard is delightful, with a koi pond and artistic ceramic mural made by Esperanza who is an outstanding ceramic artist and painter - you can purchase her artworks if you are inclined but you need to ask for a showing as there is no shop or such. There is a second apartment downstairs if you are a larger family or group of friends travelling together. The apartment itself is only about 30 steps up the main st Cuesta Gomerez to the entrance to the Alhambra - you cannot get closer or better than that! I have read other reviewers talking about walking difficulties with the steps in Granada - Yes, there are a lot of steps in general in the historic parts, and leading up to the apartment but this is the nature of the town, my husband who has mobility issues still managed the steps although it took awhile, they are shallow steps, not steep, with lots of points for resting and many have handrails too, so do not be put off if you are mild-moderately disabled. permanent wheelchair users however will need to look for a front street typical hotel property though.
The bus service in the town itself is excellent and very cheap. We had a bono turistico card which allowed 5 days of travel and tourist attractions for a fixed price including 24 hours on the hop-on-hop-off tourist bus - this was pretty cool as it gave us views around the town we may not have visited otherwise with a historical script running in multiple languages. The Bono was excellent value but we didn't manage to see everything included as it was all so wonderful and we spent much longer at each attraction than the guide book indicated.
The Alhambra is beyond mesmerising, especially the woods and the Generalife gardens. The Science Park is better than any family museum I have ever visited, 7 hours was not enough to take it all in. The Museo de Andalucia was also totally fascinating with it's interactive and 3D multilingual timeline display. The markets near the catedral were really cool - excellent freshly made churros with the locals here, fresh fish, meat cheeses, veg etc for your daily shopping. We regrettably do not speak any Spanish, however the locals were incredibly friendly and polite, helping us with words and pronounciation, patient at our ignorance.
TOTALLY delightful and charming historic city. It has the perfect blend of culture, art, history, science, nature, calm, busy-ness, as well as the general regions location being great for nature-lovers, hikers, artists and of course the skiing at Sierra Nevada. Can't wait to go back. would like to give it more than 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Hosts, Courtyard and Views
Liked least: That I had to leave and come home!!!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly-6
England
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Perfect location, comfortable apartment, great hosts”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very comfortable 10 days in the smaller of Richard & Esperanza's two apartments in Granada, a self-contained property on the first floor of their house.

What we liked:

*Great location, part way up the Alhambra hill and right by the entrance to the woods. It is close to both the Alhambra and the Plaza Nueva in the centre of town (and just off the main tourist drag between the two), but very quiet and tucked away.
* Comfortable little apartment for 2 - simply and thoughtfully furnished with a comfy bed (and sofa bed). Very clean, and as well as the basics, it has free wifi, satelite TV and a CD player with a selection of music. The apartment has shutters for keeping cool, and also an aircon/heater. It is well designed with all you need for a short stay - and the real added extra is lots of Esperanza's art around the place to make it really special.
* Lots of great tips and contact details for restaurants, shopping and entertainment (I've put my reviews on TA), and the best ways to visit the Alhambra. There is a lot to do in Granada, we were kept busy for 10 days - and a bewildering number of cafes and restaurants, so the tips are very helpful
* Richard and Esperanza are just lovely, very welcoming and really good hosts. And they've done lots and lots of interesting, arty things - not least around the 70s London music scene - which we enjoyed hearing about. The entrance to the smaller apartment is next to their own front door, so they are right there if needed. But they've been doing this for a while and it shows, they will leave you to your own devices if you prefer and never so much as knocked at our door.
* Good value, we had a great rate for a slightly longer stay.

What I didn't like:

* Nothing, except for having to come home

Overall, I would recommend this apartment to anyone who is OK with steps (as I said, it is part way up the Alhambra hill, so there are a lot of hills and steps). We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the apartment
Liked least: Well, maybe an escalator up the hill would have been nice
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre D
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diandav
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Blij dat je een goede tijd gehad hebt!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing