We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The biggest surprise ever !”
Review of Hostal Lima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Lima
Ranked #8 of 94 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

This hostal is absolutely beautiful! The owner really kind and he welcomed us with fresh watermelon ... we had been assigned a suite at a really cheap price, room was beautiful the hostal absolutely amazing !!! Service perfect and high leve!!!
Thank you and we would certainly suggest it to anyone who wishes to have a pleasant stay in granada !! It is close to the city centre , 2 miles minutes walking distance from cathedral.... amazing ...
Granada .... ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hostal in January and we found the owners very helpful and they upgraded our room which was beautiful and very clean we could not have asked for more . The photos of this hostel do not do it justice when you see them for real . We were 12 minutes from the station and the owner told us were to go to enjoy our time . The hostel is close enough to everything but not suffer any notice. Look forward to revisiting

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Avril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Our group of 5 adults spent three nights in three rooms at Hostal Lima. Ultimately, we all felt the choice was a poor one for us and were disappointed with our experience after reading so many positive reviews. None of us feel as though we would chose Hostal Lima again.

The rooms were adequate – small, but fairly clean and with reasonably comfortable beds. In comparison to the other hostals we used in Spain I’d describe these as the smallest rooms with fewest amenities. I’d also say our disappointment was more related to how we felt treated by the staff, recognizing that this may have had something to do with communication challenges. Nonetheless, it was how we interpreted the experience.

From the beginning we had communication challenges with the only one employee we ever were in contact with there. Of our group one person spoke enough Spanish to communicate on most topics on a basic level. The rest of us do not speak Spanish. The individual we needed to address spoke no English.

Check-in was efficient. We were placed in the building, which housed the reception area. We had one room one flight up and another two rooms two flights up. We should have inquired if we could be in the hostal’s other building, which we later noticed has a much nicer lobby and an elevator. We really could have used the elevator. The building we were in had only a very narrow staircase. It was quite the challenge to get our luggage up and down the stairs. Also, for one member in our party – who is elderly – the stairs were less than ideal. Given our communication difficulties with the staff, exhaustion from moving our luggage all the way up, and a later that day negative experience (more to follow) we chose to just stay put.

Soon after check-in we had an experience where in closing the front door to the hostal after re-entering we apparently closed it with too much force and it was noisy. This was not done on our part in any malicious or irresponsible way – it was just frankly an error. Upon this happening, the woman in reception came out and while most of us did not understand what she said it was clear she seemed angry with us – just given her tone or voice and her body language. Our feeling after this incident was that she could have explained to us what she wanted and how to use the door in a much gentler tone. One person in our party indicated that she had a similar experience with this staff member when she was having difficulty using her key to re-enter the building at another point. Needless to say, that after this experience every time we had to ask the staff person for some type of assistance she did help us, but most of us had the sense she felt somewhat annoyed with us as a group and that the interaction was better if we sent only our Spanish speaking family member alone to communicate. Whether or not we were correct about this (and certainly we may have misinterpreted things), we did not get a sense of hospitality. To us, it was a very different experience as compared to the multiple other hostals we stayed in elsewhere in Spain where despite imperfect communication at times staff went out of their way to try to help us with any of our needs.

Positives of the hostal were location and price.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We booked two superior rooms both of which were large and spacious with large windowed balconies overlooking the lane from which we heard little or no noise. Beds were large (as was the tv though we did n't use it) and comfortable, everything was very clean. The towels could have been larger and as so often in Spain an extractor fan in the bathroom would be helpful.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel so cannot pass comment though both the dining room and the entrance hallway with their large wooden sculptures, suits of armour and pictures were worth spending some time in. On top of which there's a quiet cafe directly opposite the hotel which does excellent coffee, etc.
As we were only in Granada to explore the main sites including the Alcazar, Cathedral and the Alhambra* it was well situated as they are all in easy walking distance. The hostal is more than adequate and welcoming.
*Uphill but only 20 minutes to the main entrance.

Room Tip: Get a superior room, the price difference is negligible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Hostal Lima was extremely well situated and clean. If you just want to camp for a night or two it's adequate for the job. Having said that, be prepared for a decorative dogs breakfast....our breakfast not on offer. The room itself was microscopic and if you turned around quickly you'd be liable to miss it! It was up a couple of flights of stairs and opened onto the street....carry ear plugs.
The host was very friendly and most obliging which made up for some of the short comings. Also on the plus side was the fact that the public bus stopped near the Cathedral and the Hostal was within easy walking distance...an important consideration with luggage. All in all if you don't mind SMALL and ignore the over the top bedspreads and disastrous decor it could be for you.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a good room in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I am going to give this 3 stars. It is true that the owner is very helpful, it is also v clean and the decoration is fun. It is also a good location. The price is ok too. However it is NOT like staying a castle. our room was tiny and also a twin when I had asked for a double. The walls are very thin and the street outside can be very noisy

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank crw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Handy location off of plaza Trinidad, a few blocks away from the bus stops for the Alhambra C3, the Albaycin C1 and Sacramonte C2. Immaculate rooms, very clean and very accommodating host. Hostal spread over 2 buildings. We were initially in a superior room on the top floor of the building without an elevator, my wife had both a bad knee and was somewhat claustrophobic as the only window opened into an interior courtyard with a roof on it. The host accommodated us by moving us into an even nicer room in the next building with the elevator when one became available. The new room had 2 windows opening onto the lane in front of the building. There is a bar at the other end of the lane that gets quite noisy on weekends well into the morning hours, so bring ear plugs if you're there on the weekend. all in all I would not hesitate to stay there again, in fact I recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikebsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#26 of 122 in Granada
805 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,296 reviews
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albero
#3 of 122 in Granada
575 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,229 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 94 in Granada
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Lima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Lima

Address: Calle Laurel de Las Tablas 17, 18002 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: $56 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Lima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Lima Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing